Laptop death

there has been an unfortunate laptop death in the family.

Fortunately it wasn’t mine that died, but my daughter, Primadonna’s laptop. It was only 5 months old and it worked fine yesterday, but today it won’t switch on at all. We’ve tried the ‘holding the on/off button for ten seconds’ trick and the, ‘plug your laptop directly into the mains instead of a extension socket ‘ trick…it isn’t that the power cable is dead, it still works fine, even with my laptop, but Primadonna’s laptop shows no sign of life whatsoever. It hasn’t been dropped or bashed. It’s been safely stored when not in use etc.

Anyone got any ideas?

Or is it just dead dya think?

If it’s dead then it will still be under warranty….though it’s not covered for accidental damage so if they find that Primadonna spilt something on it and she just isn’t telling me, then she’s lost the £350 she paid for it with all her Birthday & Christmas savings 😦

I can’t afford to have it repaired if it isn’t covered with the warranty.

Hopefully it is a manufacturing fault!

Anyone else had any problems with Advent laptops?

This entry was posted in Home & Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Laptop death

  1. Carol says:

    My daughter’s Gateway wouldn’t come on once.. there was something to do with the slider switches on the underside of the laptop –does your daughter’s have any? Something about locking and/or battery? Being as techno savvy as I am not, I just played with those until it worked! Perhaps one got accidentally moved while dragging it or picking it up.

  2. Carol says:

    PS.. If that doesn’t work, I must tell you that guys are realllly techno savvy — they will certainly have some idea as to what the problem is; maybe you or daughter could ask some friend there to come over and have a look at it, tho’ long-distance internet help came through for me with a really horrendous computer virus once.

  3. Alexa says:

    I hate to say it – but it may be a virus that wiped out her hard drive – should be covered under warranty though. I would think….

    It happened once to our PC.

    good luck!

  4. John Bowden says:

    Who’d you purchase this laptop from? I’d call the tech support folks and get working on either having it fixed or replaced. 5 months old they should NOT give you any hassle. Not likely she did anything – more likely an electronic part failed on the motherboard or within the power supply.

  5. ukok says:

    Thanks Folks! I think it’s well and truly dead. I tried fiddling with the slider buttons and a few other things (good suggestion though Carol!) and it’s as though there is is no life in it whatsoever. I will have to take it back to the store on Wednesday afternoon as it’s a pay a fortune per minute on their technical line.

    Alex, you may be right, maybe a virus got it, but we did have norton anti virus installed on it 😦

  6. mum6kids says:

    I don’t know what’s up-sounds like the mother board though. But at 5mths old they should simply sort the problem without fussing about it.

  7. ukok says:

    I hope there won’t be any bother about it. Did you get your’s fixed? I forgot to check how you went on with it!

  8. Karen H. says:

    IT sounds more like the internal power supply itself to me. And that sort of thing should be covered under the warranty.

  9. ukok says:

    Gah! It was awful. PCWorld offers THE most apalling customer service. A rather condescending assistant took the laptop away for 15 minutes and then came to us saying it worked. I asked what she had to do to get it work…she said she’d turned it upside down, pressed buttons, messed about with it for a bit and eventually it came on.

    I asked her where it said in the instructions that THAT was the sequence necessary to get the laptop working when it has been dead for 48 hours. She couldn’t show me. I told her it’s faulty and that i wanted a refund. She said i couldn’t have a refund as its 4 months old. I asked for a replacement, she said I couldn’t have one.

    I was absolutely bloody fuming.

    She said PCWorld would look at it but it could be away from me for a month. I said ‘forget it’ because that would be another month of the guarantee eaten up. I told her to get my laptop and original reciept.

    I am absolutely disgusted with the service i recieved. I then asked her to show me some written evidence that a laptop can not be exchanged when it has been intermittantly dead for periods of time within the first 4 months of use.

    She said,

    “I don’t have to show you anything”.

    I nearly blew a fuse.

    I will never never never by laptops or computer equipment from them again.

    It is working at present, but i’m not holding my breath on how long it will be before it conks out.

    They’ve lost a very good customer with me. Their loss. I can choose where to shop.

  10. hope its still working 🙂

Leave a Reply

