With a thankful heart…


It is with much gratitude that I thank the lovely and kindhearted Renee for sending me the most beautiful card, pictured above. In fact, not only is my blog-friend kind, but she is also incredibly talented, for the image on the front of the card is a copy of an icon that she wrote last year.

In addition to her regular blog, Renee has a second blog which I believe will be of interest to many as this chronicles the fruits of her vocation as an iconographer and the tutelage which she gives to those who take classes under her capable instruction.

Please do take a moment to stop by the St. Paraskeva Icon Studio and look at the awesome ‘work’ that Renee does, you won’t be sorry you did. (And I will say for the umpteenth time that I so wish I could be one of her students someday!).

Thanks again, my friend!

And in other artsy news….another of my great blog buds sent me something awesome in the post too, though it was a little while ago it seems like now is the right time to mention it (I won’t include a picture of it for copyright reasons), you can see the original here.

Owen is one of the most ‘outside the box’ artists I’ve ever had the pleasure of being friends with and I was absolutely delighted to recieve a copy of his work too!

Actually, while mentioning Owen I must say that he left a thrilling comment in the combox of one of my posts yesterday, which read;

“I’m back to blogging, I give you my word”

Joy of Joys!

Believe me darlings, this is very very very good news!

You can visit Owen’s blog here and his art site here. You can also support his cycling endeavours to raise funds for needy children and communities, by clicking here!

Thanks be to God for the internet which has fasciliated both of these beautful friendships!

And last, but by no means least, I must mention that this morning when I got home from taking the (very grumpy) children to school and running errands, to my absolute delight, I found another ‘something wonderful’ had been delivered.

Now, I don’t know if you recall the first podcast I did a few weeks ago, but Rosemary’s sweet little daughter (Miss Bogdan) was extremely complimentary about it and since I offered to send a gift to anyone who listened to it all the way though….and no one took me up on the offer…I decided that Rosemary’s daughter should be sent a small token of my appreciation of her having endured it and still having something nice to say about it at the end of it!

Well, I had a few crafting bits and pieces that I thought she might like so I parcelled them up with a prayer and in the hope that she would like them.

And what did I recieve today?

The most exquisite card that had been made with some of the crafty bits I’d sent her, and the card was enveloped in the most resourceful and beautiful paper. Gorgeous! (I have yet to make an envelope from scratch!)

I love Miss Bogdan’s crafting style and y’know…I would never have thought of using tags so imaginatively inside a card.

Way to go you clever little girl!

I got such a thrill opening it, I really did. What a smile her handywork bought to my face, but particularly the lovely things she wrote to me, what a darling!

Rosemary, you have such a little sweetheart for a daughter! Thank you both so much!!!!!

Here is a picture of the card on my mantlepiece (Hope it’s okay to share my wonderful gift from you with my blog ,Miss Bogdan)

And inside the card there’s some clever tag-creativity going on!

Well done and many thanks!

(((hugs from your mad British friend)))

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to With a thankful heart…

  1. Rosemary says:

    Aww, Deb, she will be so pleased. She’s asleep how having stayed up way past bedtime at her sister’s Confirmation (thank you for your prayers!!! It was lovely.) And thank you for the sweet, sweet gift to Liz.
    I’ve been meaning to write to tell you it was coming. You picked just the right person to send craft supplies to. She LOVES that kind of thing. In fact she has gotten in trouble at school in the past for secretly “cutting little pieces of paper” in her desk in stead of paying attention to what is going on in class. She was thrilled when your package arrived. I will show her this post first thing in the morning. I can just see the smile when she sees the card she made posted on your blog. God bless, my friend.

  2. ukok says:

    I’m delighted that the crafty girl got the crafty gift!

    Fancy anyone telling a crafter off for doing what comes naturally, whether in school or elsewhere. We girls can’t help ourselves…don’t they know that. LOL! 🙂

  3. Renee says:

    You are most certainly welcome. Thank you for all your encouragement, you have no idea how much it means to me!

  4. Mimi says:

    Oh my goodness, gorgeous craftiness! I agree, I am blessed to have one of Renee’s cards as well.

  5. Steve says:

    Deb,
    Just so you don’t think I’m a totally pagan protestant, here’s a link about my niece. She’s a Benedictine nun and she paints icons.

  6. Rosemary says:

    Hi deb its liz,

    I’m glad you got my letter. actually I was sick when I made that letter. I’m so happy you liked it. I hope your having a better day today.

    God bless,
    liz bogdan

  7. ukok says:

    HIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII Liz !!!!!!!

    How are you feeling now? I hope you are feeling very much better 🙂

    But you’re wrong y’know…………I didn’t like the card you made me…………..I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
    OOOOOOVVVVVVVVVVVEEEEEEEEEED it!

    Take care now!

  8. Rosemary says:

    Its liz again,

    I am feeling well now. I’m so glad you LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVVVVEEEEEEEEEED it.

    God bless,
    Liz Bogdan

Leave a Reply

