Wonderboy and Primadonna

Wonderboy had his second set of ‘outjections’ this week….he calls them ‘outjections’ since nothing is injected into his body and yet blood is removed.

That’s the way Wonderboy thinks.

He has an interesting take on things.

Always has.

Tonight he told the most wonderful joke which i can’t share as it is about flatulence and some of you may find it distasteful but seriously, there was even some geographical (not bodily geographical!!!) aspects thrown in and I thought it was really impressive for his mind to work so quickly.

I worry about his blood results.

Will they show once more that he has a raised red blood cell count?

Will it begin a treadmill of hospital visits and tests, will the tests hurt him, will he be even more anxious than he is now (there are other things happening to him physically that I can’t write about here) ?

Only a week or so to go until we return to the doctors.

Perhaps they got the first set of results mixed up with someone elses?

Perhaps there will be a relatively painless and simple treatment plan, as was mentioned in the combox of the previous post about Wonderboy (by Carol I think- thank you).

At this point there is still no knowing and that is what is so difficult.

Wonderboy asked me if he has cancer, I was shocked he would think such a thing.

I said no.

Wonderboy asked me if the bloods came back positive for a raised red blood cell count again, would it be serious?

I couldn’t lie.

I said that I thought it was unlikely (okay, slight lie) that it was very serious, but that whatever happened we would face this together and he wouldn’t go through it alone.

What else can one say to their child?

Since time has dragged on about this I feel I’ve been lulled into some false sense of security..that because there is no ‘medical immediacy’ surrounding his care from the doctor, that everything is ‘okay’.

Today I asked if I could check Wonderboy’s head-lump…he’s been very objectionable to such requests for weeks…but today he let me…I couldn’t feel anything much anymore…but then guided my hand almost to the other side at the back of his head and I could feel another small lump…I don’t know if it’s the same one that’s moved or if he just has a bumpy head or if this is all tied in with what the tests have indicated thus far….which is….well, i know not what they indicate actually.

And he is having more regular nose bleeds…

And his headaches are increasing.

Today the school sent him home as he was feeling unwell. But generally he is playful and cheeky, annoying and laugh a minute….he’s not sticken with illness and laying on the sofa groaning or anything…that’s probably why this all seems so weird acually.

Wonderboy is very highly strung, he’s never been able to sit still for more than 20 seconds straight and has for many months shirked off all my attempts at showing him affection…but I sense he is anxious….I know he is…he pretends to still brush me away but all the while tries to have me hold him near, cuddling up to me on the sofa…albeit with his back to me, joking that I am just propping him up….until he takes my right arm and puts it across his chest, securing him, reassuring him…

Meanwhile his sister, Primadonna, officially finishes school tomorrow.

She is then on study leave and will return to take her exams as and when they occur…she will go to college in September to study for a further 2 years and then, in all likelihood she will be off to university.

Flying the coop.

I don’t think she’ll want to stick around here, though I hope she does.

She’s google-searched Cambridge and favourited their Medical Curriculum thingy….entry qualifications and all that…. I don’t want to hold her back or to be a needy mum, but being a single parent to her for so long, for all her life actually apart from the first 8 months when her Dad was alive…well, it kind of does something to a relationship.

The only way I can explain it will sound super melodramatic….but it’s like in Jane Eyre..when Mr Rochester first tells of his love for Jane….and he explains it like this….

“it is as if I had a string somewhere under my left ribs, tightly and inextricably knotted to a similar string, situated in the coresponding quarter of your little frame…..I am afraid that cord of communion will be snapt; and then I’ve a nervous notion I should take to bleeding inwardly for you”.

Told you it was dramatic. And I know we would both be fine, course we would.

She is loving and she is loved, but i see a glimmer in her eye when she talks of wanting to explore and experience life independantly.

It’s only natural.

We are so close I fear it would tear my heart out to have her leave, but having said that, she is a right royal pain in the neck sometimes….she is scummy, slovenly, moody….that’s teenagers though eh?

She’s thinking of law or medicine, her preference at the moment being medicine.

I can’t believe this time tomorrow my daughter will have left school!

Gosh.

And my Fortieth birthday is fast approaching (next Sunday!) and I’m wondering where all the time has gone…but who am I fooling? I know where it’s gone ….and I can’t believe I’ve lived this long if truth be told.

How merciful my God is.

May he continue to be merciful toward me and mine, and toward all of you…

This entry was posted in Home & Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Wonderboy and Primadonna

  1. Suzanne says:

    Enjoy those kids! Enjoy those hugs! Every single one of em! ๐Ÿ™‚ Love and prayers ongoing…Suzanne

  2. Owen says:

    Approaching 40, well you’re eight less than me so chin up (ha ha, chin up – right, mine seems to be moving in the other direction). Sorry for the worries per Wonderboy. Lord, grant healing and grace. Eldest daughter is taking a year off between 2nd and 3rd year to work and that’s keeping her home. Son goes to university in the autumn but it will be the local one because we can’t afford to send him off anywhere. Middle kid enters her senior high school years in the autumn. Mom’s 77 next year. It just goes by so very fast.

  3. Rosemary says:

    Amen. Prayers for Wonderboy. Surely he’ll be fine. Parenting is hard. I don’t like this letting go stuff either. but you’ll be able to do it when you need to.
    Hey, You’re a LOT younger than I am.!!!

  4. Jean says:

    Praying for Wonderboy! You are definitely a lot younger than me — the forties were wonderful years! Stay young and care-free — age is just a number. You’re as old as you feel. Your children will keep you young at heart, Deb. Enjoy them!

  5. Karen says:

    Wonderful picture – so dramatic – what a sky. Prayers for the wonderboy and congrats to the princess! And hang in their 40 wasn’t too bad. It has a few advantages. You feel like you don’t have to be “nice” to everyone 24/7. ๐Ÿ˜€ [I have to admit turning 50 was much easier than 40.]

  6. Karen says:

    ARGGH.. Hang in THERE.

  7. You can be assured of my prayers. May God comfort you in the worries you are facing, strengthen your son and help him grow in health, and guide your daughter as she takes her first steps toward independence.

  8. Easter A. says:

    Deb, I was here yesterday and wanted to leave a comment but my computer was slow… prayers and more prayers for Wonderboy coming your way. And you too, mom!

    Please come and visit and join us in prayer for the unemployed. I thank you, Deb! God bless you abundantly!

  9. mimima says:

    Gorgeous photo, wow! Your kids are so lovely.

    Andl, prayers continue for Wonderboy.

  10. Carol says:

    ‘Tis indeed a lovely photo. I’m adding my prayers for you and the kids.. As for turning 40, it’s no different than being in one’s 30s, except that one doesn’t feel quite so compelled to share every box of chocolates.
    ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Cathy Keller says:

    Wishing you all the best…in all ways!!

  12. Tim J. says:

    My prayers also, for your wonderful children, especially in regard to Wonderboy’s medical problems.

    Our kids are in their teens, now, and as much as we make a show of being ready to boot them out at 18, I am really – more than ever – enjoying having all of us together. The kids have settled into their own personalities with their own interesting quirks. We enjoy one another (mostly).

    I also anticipate some sleepless nights as they go off to their own dorms or apartments and I wonder about the odds of them having a serial killer or a rapist for a neighbor.

    I, too, am learning to treasure every day.

  13. ukok says:

    Suz,

    amen sister!

    Owen,

    which chin should i keep up!!!! I have so many of them these days!

    Rosemary,

    I hope you’re right, I don’t want to be some wierd mommy who doesn’t have a life without her children nearby!

    I’m beginning to think that that’s maybe when a new chapter of my life will actually begin, but I’m yet to be convinced entirely

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Jean,

    I genuinely believe that these are going to be ‘my’ best years…it’s been an uphill struggle for almost all of my teens, my twenties and my thirties… God willing I’m right about my forties being my best years so far!

    Karen,

    Thanks for your compliments on the picture..there is a story behind the picture that involves on sulky daughter and an hour long trail to find the thing on the top of the ‘mountain’…which out to be just a steep hill!

    I’ll blog about it sometime.

    …and oh I do so hope that I care much less for what people think of me in my forties!

    Karen,

    I’m hanging…..not literally or I wouldn’t be writing this, but yep, I’m tying the knot in the end of my rope and hanging on to it!

    Barb,

    Thanks so much for your thoughts a prayers… what beautiful words you wrote, thanks so much for them.

    Easter,

    thanks for passing by the other day even though your computer was slow, it was really nice to know that you were thinking of me and mine ๐Ÿ™‚

    Mimi,

    Thanks honey!

    Carol,

    Ah….I should get in some practice in those early days of my forties then…..i shall have a go at not sharing the choccies if I am fortunate enough to get any for my birthday ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Cathy,

    Thank you sweetie for having such a kind and generous heart!

    Tim,

    Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by and for leaving a comment, I can’t tell you how much it is appreciated.

    I know what you mean about enjoying teens unique personalities….sometimes i look at my kids and think ‘they really came from me?! WOW!’. They are just so interesting!

    All the very best for you and yours as they go off to find their own way on the world….at least they are safe in the knowledge that they are loved and that they can always find their home open to them, that they have parents who support them and will endeavour to help them navigate the often rocky road of life ๐Ÿ™‚

    God Bless you!

Leave a Reply

