About a Girl

I don’t know if it’s commmonplace in your part of the world for children leaving School to graffiti one anothers school uniforms, but it seems to be the norm in all the schools my children have attended and subsequently left, so when Primadonna came home from her last day of High School wearing this yesterday….I wasn’t too surprised….

Also, Lorna prompted me to post a pic of Primadonna’s Prom Shoes from last week (how could i have forgotten!)….so here they are…

…ladies, can you remember the last time you wore heels like that? Or am I just boring and frumpy and you all wear shoes like this to take the kids to school or when you nip out for a pint of milk?

Give me flatties every time.

This entry was posted in Home & Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to About a Girl

  1. Carol says:

    I recall the autographing of white shirts on the last day of school, yes, from at least one of my girl-children. I also recall the little “I love ___”s written in ink pen on my very best twin sheets on the bed of a young girl. Aarrrggghh. Fortunately, one can simply put that on the foot part of the bed when making up a bed for company on these sheets that last forever. ( And now, she has a daughter on the cusp of “I love ____,” heh heh heh…)

    Ah, I wore similar height heels (in ankle-strap cork, tho’) to nip out for a pint of whatever right up until my calf burst into a wondrous blossom of a spider-vein. Suffice it to say I’ve found Ryka slides to be a girl’s best friend, lol.

  2. Alexa says:

    Those are inhumane. I’ve been looking for dress shoes lately – and it’s so difficult to find anything comfortable. Especially for me…and my feet. I’m seeing here that ballet shoes in various colors and decorated various ways are very popular at this time – a bit too trendy for my taste – or wardrobe, but the high spike heels are also in. I hated that really long pointed toe look – it’s going out now though, I think.
    I just found out that my shoe size in the UK is apparently an 8.5. At least that’s what it said on the back of a shoe I tried on. I’d probably be more comfy in a 9 though.

    Oh. We didn’t sign shirts —- we signed yearbooks.

    But that was 1975.

  3. Adrienne says:

    Yep – we signed year books, too. But I think the shirt thingy is fun.

    I still wear heels like that at a chubby 62 just not every day.

  4. Melanie says:

    Oh, I can remember wearing shoes like that . . . in the days before I shattered my ankle and now walk forever with a limp. (I didn’t shatter my ankle wearing heels, though — I did it while hiking in sneakers.)

    I did love wearing heels, though . . . but I’m just grateful I can walk these days! LOL!

  5. HA! I’d kill myself in shoes like that.

  6. Ah, I was fourteen yrs old, and desperate for a pair of high heeled platforms. (Patent leather). My mother relented at last and I got them for Christmas. I remember being petrified as I walked along the polished parquet floor of the aisle when I went up for Communion; I thought I was going to fall and make a complete fool of myself. I wore them probably once more. Never did I nag for anything so daft again! Funnily enough, my son noticed a girl tottering along in a ridiculously high pair of wedges today (her backside sticking out) It turned into an almost maths lesson about the angle of her body, we concluded it was about 45 degrees to the surface of the earth ha ha! (Then it got onto a biology lesson on bunions and the cause of them). Oh the richness of life.

  7. Sally says:

    🙂 yes all of my children apart from one have shirts like that, Paul graduated High School in Texas so he had a cap and gown!!!

  8. Karen says:

    We sign yearbooks in the US – in freshman and sophmore years it’s mostly “have a bitchen summer” type entries. Junior year it’s more “I’ll never forget when X did X” and senior year it’s “I’ll remember you always and have fun at X(whatever college you were going to.)”

  9. Mimi says:

    I’ve never seen that tradition before, but it is really cute~!
    And, congrats to the graduate!

  10. Rosemary says:

    Teehee. We don’t have that custom here. Sounds like harmless fun, though.
    I NEVER wear heels like that, although I do think they’re pretty. My oldest daughter wears them all the time. I would break an ankle for sure. Plus I’m not willing to bear the pain of trying to wear them. I was going to post about looking for my daughter’s Confirmation shoes too. Luckily we found her flats. (she’s only thirteen). Have a good weekend.

  11. Sarah says:

    I graduated H.S. in the U.S. in 1988 and we signed year books. Many of those who signed mine mentioned my smile (now I realize it was the genuine love in it, not my crooked teeth). There were some rather immoral statements made in it, but those were times of complete arse-i-ness anyhow.

    I pretty much stopped wearing those kind of heels after being stuck in a snow storm in Seattle and having to walk 22 blocks to the ferry boat. The free buses and every taxi were taken. I was 19. I just hope my daughter will take my advise about sensible shoes, but that’s hard to do when you want to be tall (and I doubt she’ll get past 64″).

    Blessings,
    Journey of Truth/Sarah

  12. Renee says:

    Silly old me, but what are “flatties”?

  13. LOVE the shoes … never worn anything like that myself -well I am a fuddy duddy according to my DD

    since we dont have uniforms here there is no signing .. shame really

  14. Easter A. says:

    In my part of the world, anything can happen. We have extremes here, being a melting pot. Though not all children from every school will autograph each other’s shirt, I bet there are many who would.

    I would never wear shoes like that. I just know I will fall so why even bother? 🙂 They look pretty cool on some women though, and I think Primadonna would look really classy on those.

    I wear flat ones once in a while, but I prefer wearing shoes about 2 inches high on the heels, so I could look as tall as my oldest daughter. 🙂

    xoxoxo to you, Deb!

  15. ukok says:

    Yup, she’s having a year book that she’s making up herself too…all the kids are making their own year books up…some kids are writing essays in them about how much they like/will miss her etc!

    Also the school leavers will have a CD rom they can play on their computer, it will have loads of images and stuff on 🙂

  16. debbie says:

    am leaving school as well
    on friday am very happy then ever

  17. arizaphale says:

    Yes I still wear heels like that whenever I can! I am only 5’2″ after all :-)…but nowadays I suffer for it with painful arches for days afterwards 😦
    My daughter just finished at her school yesterday and took her winter uniform in to be signed by everyone. I was against the idea. “It’s so common!” quoth I. “Yes, mum, that is because EVERYBODY DOES IT!!!!” she reasonably replied.
    I hope your Prima Donna is enjoying life in the big, wide world nowadays.

Leave a Reply

