Forty is a Fabulous Number!

I’ve heard all the jokes and jibes about becoming 40…and I’ve smiled and listened good naturedly, all the while not worrying that I was going to be of an age that many women dread….and d’you know why I’m not worried about turning forty today?

It’s because if I’m getting older it means I’m still alive!

It means my life has a purpose. It means I’m only part way through this adventure! And rather than be afraid of this millstone, erm, milestone…I’ve come to the conclusion that I really don’t care what anyone says to the contrary…I happen to think that 40 is a fabulous number!

Does it scare me that time seems to be on permanent fast forward….that my children seem to grow an inch in height each day and that they are becoming less dependant on me (which is as it should be, the independance, not the height..at least not an inch a day!) …that my own mortality is becoming less soft focussed and more unsharp masked?

Well, yes , a little….but would I want to be in my 20’s again?

No Way!!

They were, for the most part, agonising years to endure, full of anxiety and neuroses, pain and loss.

Would I want to be a 30 something again?

No Way!

It’s been a real struggle to raise the kids on my own these past 9 years.

YES it was a relief to leave an abusive marriage, and I don’t regret leaving for one second, but I would be lying if I said it had been easy on my own with the children. I’ve been overwhelmed, exhausted and touched base with the borderline of depression on at least every alternate day…but now the kids are getting older, yes, they still need me but it’s different. I’m watching them develop into who they are going to become as teenagers/young adults, and it’s kind of exciting in a way!

Yes they can be scary and unpredictable, erratic and moody, but they are also exciting, lively and vibrant, deeply compassionate and intelligent.

And I had something to do with that!

Wow!

So today I celebrate breathing for 40 years…

I’d been asked if I was ‘doing anything special’ to celebrate….asked if I was going to have a party, if i was going to a fancy restaurant to celebrate. (well i was asked if i wanted to celebrate in a posh restaurant but declined, in favour of home cooking!)… well all I really wanted to do on my birthday was to spend it with my family in a quiet way, with the people God has placed in my life to love and, somewhat unbelievably, whom love me. So yes, I was indeed doing something special on my big day!

Without further ado I’d like to share a little of my Birthday with you.

I’ve had such a great day. I decided not to open any cards or prezzies until after I got back from the 11am Sunday Mass as I didn’t want to hurry and there was a lot to do this morning.

I have had the most beautiful cards and gifts and I want to share some of them with you (via picture only I’m sorry 😉

First off I must say that I recieved the most wonderful bouquet of flowers that were delivered by the florist…

and then there was the sumptuous mega box of Thorntons Chocolates we all worked our way through….yum!

Of course, you’ll recall that I had a laptop from my folks for my birthday….a laptop..I LOVE it! I would hate to go back to using a desktop computer full time now. Everything is such a breeze now…and it’s all mine…no kids games installed…bliss!

I also got ‘birthday hair’…. not cut or coloured….just styled….my daughter spent ages twirling it… d’you like it?

My doggie doesn’t look too impressed…i know I’m pullling a rather Hyacinth Bouquet face..but really….no kissy for mummy?

Next….me doing silly stuff, as I am prone to do….it’s hard to believe I’m still single huh?

We had a gorgeous family luncheon cooked by the wonderful chef in the family, otherwise know as my lovely MUM!

I’ve had some excellent prezzies besides the laptop, the bouquet, the massive box of chocs …. I also had a beautiful collection of Gayle Hayman skincare and lipsticks, some fabulous Photo Shop software, a cheque for enough money to purchase more than 2/3rds of the new camera lens that I’ve pined for for the last 12 months…. a gift voucher for a high street store, the DVD Pretty Woman …which is either cos my friend thinks…..

a) I’m a pretty woman.

or

b) that I’m a lady of the night (well I’ve recently been complaining about how brassick I am LOL!)

or

c) she’s encouraging me to hold out for my Richard Gere (give me Alan Rickman instead though please, Lord!)

I’ve also had the most fabulous selection of cards…some of them sent by my blog friends, such as Mimi and BarbTHANK YOU so much for thinking of me, my friends ..i can’t tell you how thrilled i was to receive them!

…and thank you to all my friends , cyber and otherwise) who have left me comments, sent me email messages and also written facebook wall posts to me…i haven’t had chance to read any of them yet, but I will certainly do so tomorrow. It’s 11.30pm now and i’m writing this between handwashing (I left it late, yes!) and ironing school shirts for the kids who go back to school tomorrow/sit their exams tomorrow – they have to wear uniform to sit exams at school, do yours?

I’ve also had a very special something from my kids..they had both made me handcrafted cards and had hand written beautiful love messages to me inside them, also the computer software was from them (from me o their behalf actualy, since they don’t get pocket money)

and then there’s something else…this might sound a bit wierd…but Primadonna bought me this notebook last Christmas (below is a pic of me holding it today, but it was still brand new and unused from last Christmas)… I always thought it was too beautiful to use…so i have never gotten around to writing in it.

So….today, I reopened this beautiful notebook which had been all wrapped up…when i saw what it was..I just thought my daughter was reminding me to use it…but I opened it and found about 10 pages or so had been written in….

My darling Daughter, with a little input from my son, has begun to turn this book into a Book of Memories!

There are many blank pages in it that Primadonna and maybe even Wonderboy, will use to write little stories and anecdotes of our lives together, past and future, as time goes by……isn’t that just wonderful!

What a clever girl to think of such a thing.

Thank you God for my wonderful family!

And now, here’s something else I want to share with you ….tomorrow is my dear Dad’s birthday! I’m having a Mass said for his birthday intentions and then later in the day when the kids have finished school (Primadonna has exams arghhhh! Poor babe is so anxious!) we’re going over to my folks place for a party tea. Whhoo- Hoo!

Here’s a photo of Dad when he was in the navy in his younger years…wasn’t he handsome?

And do you know what?

He still is!

Happy Birthday Dad!

We Love you

from

Deb’s, Primadonna, Wonderboy and Bella Boo Boo!

XXXX

This entry was posted in Home & Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Forty is a Fabulous Number!

  1. Mimi says:

    Happy, Happy Birthday! What Wonderboy and Primadonna have done in your journal is SO awesome !Sniff, sniff1

    Enjoy and Many Years! You look and are fabulous!

  2. Tom says:

    Happy Birthday, Deb! What beautiful and thoughtful gifts you received from your family and friends!! Great pics, too:0)

    And last but not least, happy B-day to the that dear dad of yours. Many blessings upon him.

    Say, if you need help finishing off that box of chocolates, just let me know. I will share in that burdensome task with you. LOL!

  3. Carol says:

    Happy Birthday. 🙂 40 IS fabulous, especially on you. Enjoy!

  4. Owen says:

    Happy Birthday. May the Lord bring you much growth and peace in him and in his blessed family. Cheers.

  5. I’m glad you had such a wonderful day! May you and your dad be blessed with many years of happiness & good health ahead of you.

    Happy 40th, you youngster!

    My Polish in-laws and church community (a Polish parish) sing a song on birthdays and other special occasions. It’s called “Sto Lat” and it roughly translates, “May you live 100 years, 100 years to you.”

    Your children have made you a great gift in beginning your family journal.

  6. HEY! hAPPY bIRTHDAY TO YOU AND dAD!
    nOW, NEXT YEAR i TURN 60……THAT’S GONNA BE A TOUGH ONE FOR ME.40 IS A GOOD YOUNG AGE.

  7. Esther says:

    Happy birthday dear Deb and to your dear dad too!!

    BTW, thanks for sharing all those beautiful photos.

  8. Christine M says:

    Happy Birthday! And don’t worry about turning 40 – I did that two years ago tomorrow – and I survived! It sounds like you had a great day – and you look beautiful!

  9. Rosemary says:

    Happy, Happy Birthday, dear friend. Forty? You’re just a kid. Looks like it was a wonderful birthday celebration. Such nice presents. You are obviously well-loved. And Happy birthday to your dad too. He was indeed a handsome, young man. Very handsome, actually. On the subject of uniforms– my son in high school must wear them every day of the school year.
    Hope you had a wonderful day!!!

  10. Jean says:

    Happy Birthday, Deb! Praying for special blessings for both you and your dad. Thanks for sharing those fabulous photos with us.

  11. Antonia says:

    awww! What a lovely birthday! Thanks for sharing! Your children are so sweet and thoughtful!

    lotsa love
    xxxxx

  12. Rita says:

    Best wishes Deb,

    Lots and lots of love to you all. There’s not enough celebrating life on many other blogs (including my own!), thanks for putting this right.

    God Bless,

    xxxxx

  13. Phil says:

    Many happy returns! Don’t forget, life now begins…, so I’m told. I’ll find out next year.

    Love and prayers

    Phil

  14. Happy Birthday. Love the memory book and the curls 🙂

  15. Karen says:

    Deb! Happy birthday, glad you had a wonderful day.

  16. Suzanne says:

    Happy Birthday…Beautiful celebration! Beautiful children! BEEEEEUTIFUL YOU!!!!!
    HUGSSSSSS! Love you gurlfren! From your almost 55 yr. OLD buddy across the pond in Indiana!
    Suzanne 😉

  17. Adrienne says:

    Happy Birthaday (a day late) to you. You’re just getting started at 40………….

  18. Therese says:

    Happy Birthday Deb. Your post made me cry happy tears. Your children gave you such a precious present with that book of memories.

  19. John Bowden says:

    Happy birthday!! … 40 ain’t nothin’, you’ll see

  20. mum6kids says:

    Happy Birthday! 40 and moving on is great. Well-I’m enjoying it 🙂
    God bless

  21. Renee says:

    Wow! What a joy to read this! I have been away from the computer for a few days, but I was thinking of you on your day, and wish you a joyous year! I found turning 40 to be very empowering, and I hope you do to. I’ll shortly be 42, and need to reclaim some of the resolve I found on my 40th birthday. Blessings to you, dear Deb, for many years in peace, health, and happiness!

  22. Kit says:

    Happy Birthday! (And welcome to the club…my big 4-0 was on Easter!)

    I’ve enjoyed your blog without introducing myself, so what better time to say hi?

    🙂

    Kit

  23. ukok says:

    Thanks so much to everyone who commented in this thread, it really was such a delight to read your comments and to know that you cared enougt to take time out of your day to send birthday greetings!

    Kit,

    It is wonderful to *meet* you. Belated birthday greetings to you too!

    I’m so glad you said ‘hi’ and I hope to have you visit with me again sometime soon 🙂

  24. Sarah says:

    Happy Be-lated birthday!! I’m slow on catching up with the blogs due to a certain busy day of my own. But, I am not here to discuss that, but to wish you the greatest of happiness and joy! Jeremiah 29:11.

    What’s your Yorkies name? Adorable!!

    Thanks for coming by my blog. Holly sends your York some kisses!!

  25. Tim J. says:

    A belated Happy BD from me as well. I hope you enjoyed it, as it looks like you did!

    Have a blessed year!

  26. Melanie says:

    Happy Birthday, Deb!! 40 has been treating me just fine this year, and I’m sure you’ll enjoy it as well!

  27. ukok says:

    Thanks so much folks!

Leave a Reply

