Bouquets of Love

The above snap is of some of my beautiful birthday flowers.

Fortunately for me there were so many flowers in the bouquet I received…but rather unfortunately (when will I ever learn!) …I had all to few vases to put them in (I’m NOT complaining that I was sent an abundance of flowers, mind you!).

The upshot of which is that rather stupidly, I tried to put them all in the one vase I could find….well as you may imagine, they were very top heavy (rather like me but we won’t go into that here and now) and perhaps not so unexpectedly, they toppled over when Wonderboy tried to close the curtains behind them yesterday evening.

I’m glad to say that neither my son nor the flowers were damaged and that I did manage to find another vase eventually and what’s better still is that I now have two massive bunches of fresh flowers instead…and oh my, how beautiful the house smells for a change!

I just love the blend of the colours in the pic, don’t you?

Isn’t God wonderful!

He gives us all this beauty to enjoy and I for one, so rarely stop to smell the ‘flowers’ …. to see the beauty in my world…how about you?

Today I am thankful for all the wonderful family and friends I have. I am praying hard for my daughter who has 6 hours of GCSE exams today and for my son for his impending hospital appointment about his abnormal blood results and for his headaches to subside…but amidst the stress and strain of life, there is so very much to be grateful for.

What do you thank God for today?

This entry was posted in Home & Family, Just for fun, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bouquets of Love

  1. Owen says:

    I thank God for my kids. I was looking at old photos of them and realized how much I love them then and that that love hasn’t changed though much in live has. I’m thankful I can make art and it’s time.

  2. Suzanne says:

    Lots of things…today was rather awesome!
    I am a catechist for 6th graders all week. We
    are supposed to have stormy weather all week and
    I told them…”Let’s pray that the weather isn’t terrible all week, so you all can get outside some (we are in all day classes!) and so we did…well, right before noon, we had horrible weather arrive, sirens going off and everyone had to head the inner hallways of the old St. Charles school building. I’d never been in an actual tornado warning type situation with lots and lots of children. It was frightening having to have them turn their little bodies to the wall and cover their heads…just in case. My older kids were very calm. I handed Danny the blue Pieta prayer book, which contained the same
    “storm” prayer that we prayed that morning. He went up and down the long aisles between the children and prayed aloud this prayer once again and then we all prayed a Hail Mary together. Soon the sirens stopped and we were ready to head into the big gym for lunch and pray the Angelus and Prayer Before Meals together. This whole thing didn’t stop there. Later, we were watching the movie “The Miracle of Fatima.” My 6th graders were so quiet, you could hear a pin drop. Even after a break, they could NOT WAIT to get into the classroom to start this movie back up again. None of these children had ever heard of Fatima! (It is a great true story movie by the way if you have never seen it) and so we quickly turned it back on. Once again, though, storms started to brew outdoors. The DRE came by and said we were heading to the church a bit early for dismissal because the storms were headed our way.
    I stopped the movie after the July 13th apparition scene, which had them mesmerized. We headed out
    the door and over to the church, where once again, we headed down below the sanctuary to pray and hang out until the storms had passed…surely again, they did! Well, we’ve had such terrible storms in the USA…tornados, etc. but what our children witnessed
    today, was that we prayed…the storms passed and either they believe in miracles or they don’t. Naturally, it is up to the believer as to why they believe, but it was all something to be thankful for today, Deb, so I thought that I would share that for you and your readers. 🙂
    God bless!
    Suzanne

  3. ukok says:

    Owen,
    ah…looking at old photos of my kids makes me crumple into a million teary eyed pieces…..oh, children, our gifts from God that all too often we parents fail to appreciate.

    Suz,

    I’m delighted you took the time to share about your day!

    What an incredible day you’ve had to!

    I did see some of the film (movie), but i happened to be cleaning for my uncle at the time (while he had gone out) and as i don’t have cable i put on his and clicked on EWTN so i would have something to listen to while i was cleaning his house….well I darned near spent an hour watching the film…and then i finally resigned myself to cleaning and regretfully turned it off (i had to turn it off or i would have gone on watching it).

    I was thinking about you and Danny praying with the kids today when they were afraid of the storms…and also of how you have helped to impart to them the beauty of the faith by your loving and compassionate generosity of spirit…

    That’s pretty beautiful!

  4. Rosemary says:

    Today I am thankful, like you, for the beauty all around me. I planted the rest of my petunias and then it rained, which was just what I wanted. The flowers are looking so nice.
    I am also thankful for my family and for the Eucharist!!!
    I’m thankful for my freedom and my faith.
    God has richly blessed me. I could go on and on, as we all could.

  5. Sarah says:

    I’m thankful for the trust and confidence people have in me to lead our Catholic Women of the Chapel . . . they’ve asked me to be President and I said “yes”. It’s a bit nervy for me to take on such a role, but you know what, I don’t feel alone. These ladies are awesome!

    I’m thankful for friends, family, children (and not just my own!), chocolate (why couldn’t Cadbury’s be an American company?!? Hersheys’ puts out “Cadbury” here, but it’s not the same), tea, coffee, the Mass, animals, and the rain we are getting tonight.

    It’s just a few things, but it shall suffice.

  6. Adrienne says:

    I’m thankful for you:)

  7. Gabrielle says:

    Happy belated birthday to you! This picture is stunningly beautiful.

  8. ukok says:

    Rosemary,

    oh yes, the Eucharist ! And for freedom and faith, I share in your thanksgiving for these things…but gardening, I know I ought to like it, but i hate it….i never plant anything and can’t stand to tend the small garden i have…it’s just not my thing! I’m glad you got your petunias planted though 🙂

    Sarah,

    Catholic Women of the Chapel….now that sounds interesting…maybe you could blog about it, I’d like to read more about what it is, what you will be doing, etc 🙂

    Cadburys? Oh yes, I’m thankful, particularly for Cadbury’s Creme Eggs…but darn it, they are NEVER big enough!

    Adrienne,

    Well that was a lovely surprise, to read your comment. Bless your kind heart!

    Gabrielle,

    Thank you darling! (((hugs)))

Leave a Reply

