Sifting the wheat from the chaff

During the last year or so I have made a considerable amount of changes in my life.

When I first became aware that I needed to make these changes, it came as something of a shock because as a creature of habit, change has never been something I have welcomed. At least, not the big changes anyway.

I had to cry a lot of tears and pray a lot of prayers in the process of discerning whether the impetus for making these particular changes was merely a ‘knee jerk’ reaction to what was happening in my life as this year unfolded, or whether it was actually fundamental to my health and wellbeing and therefore, entirely necessary.

Well the prayers and the tears worked just fine because before too long I became very much aware that it was time to let go of false hopes and aspirations, of certain misplaced attachments and affiliations…even to the point of allowing floundering friendships to come to their natural demise.

Considering that letting go is hardly my forte, i have to be honest and share with you that this time of sifting the wheat from the chaff of my life has left me far from despondent…the anxiety about letting go has been far more stressful and painful than the letting go itself…and while I am uncertain of much, I have the hope of new things just beyond the horizon….. new things that I wouldn’t and couldn’t be open to if doors hadn’t first been slammed shut in my face ….and ouch how it hurt when they were!

But I do believe that it’s true that when God closes a door, he opens a window.

It’s not just a quaint saying.

I’ve been through some tough stuff, many times believing that God had turned his face from me just as I believed man had done, but God always threw me a bone….or should i say, he always threw me a life jacket just in time to save me from myself.

Often I have questioned why God has led me to a place when that place is more like a mirage than a reality….all promise…no follow through…but the Lord continues to show me that where he leads me is not the destination in itself (until my Heavenly home, please God)… but that life is a journey and that I must pass through many places, experience many things…and that these experiences, yes even the painful ones, will help me to grow and will shape me….although admittedly, it’s hard to thank the Lord for the thorns among the roses when it feels like I’m being battered with a bloody big shovel most of the time.

This entry was posted in Home & Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sifting the wheat from the chaff

  1. Those quaint old sayings have a lot of truth to them most of the time.
    I don;t know what transpired in your life, but I know it was a crisis from your post here.
    You seem to have come a long way in the healing process whatever the personal trial may have been, Ukok.
    Thanks you for sharing your encouragemnet, strength and hope which has come out of trust in Him.

  2. Rosemary says:

    Oh, Deb, and you’ve been so pleasant on your blog through it all. I hope things continue to improve. May God be with you every step of the way to provide for you and give you consolation.

    Gorgeous photo.

  3. Tom says:

    Despite the tempestuous and painful moments you’ve had to endure, I do note a sense of spiritual growth on your part, Deb. I hope I can reach your level someday.

    Many blessings.

  4. Suzanne says:

    We know you are not asking for these words, but I believe that I can honestly say that so many of us here who visit love you, Deb. What a beautiful photo of the rose..that has to be just about the MOST beautiful one that I have ever seen! Thanks for it so much. Suzanne

  5. the anxiety about letting go has been far more stressful and painful than the letting go itself…

    that resonates with me! It’s a bit like the big pile of ironing – awful thinking about it and constantly postponing doing it – but then it’s not that bad really

  6. ukok says:

    You know….i really am not as charitable as some of you may think, my dear friends.

    i held this post back for the past two days because it started off pretty snappy and snarky….i had to edit it about 8 times and really i had to pray about it too….i originally thought ‘it’s my blog i can say what i want’….I wanted to just speak from my mind and not from my heart…so y’see, i haven’t reached any kind of level of spiritual maturity to which anyone should want to aspire!

    Thanks for your thoughts though 🙂

  7. Suzanne says:

    Deb,
    None of us are as charitable as we may “seem” on our posts…I really am aware of that, but I said what I wanted to say to you anyway, so there! 😉
    Love ya, Suz!
    PS I still love that rose too!

  8. Esther says:

    Deb, our honesty and openness about your life is appreciated. You are an inspiration.

  9. Valerie says:

    Deb – Your post touched my heart and soul so much, dear friend. It was as if you took the words out of my mouth, as what you describe is very similar to what I have been going through this past year of my life as well. Oh, my dear, let us keep in other in thought and prayer. If you ever need me, you know me email address. I’m sorry I’ve neglected you the past few weeks (crises have a way of doing that to people), but I’m gettng back in the loop again. God bless!

  10. Renee says:

    It seems as if life is like that beautiful rose picture, unfurling one petal at a time, slowly, until the beautiful flower has reached its beautiful potential.

  11. Rosemary says:

    Deb, it is your sincerity and genuineness that reveal a humility that I think endears you to us all. Nobody’s holy here.

  12. ukok says:

    Wow! How did i ever deserve such beautiful and insightful friends?

    (((hugs)))

Leave a Reply

