It’s because she loves me of course, but…

Ah…chocolate hob nobs!….I saw some in the supermarket the other day and was just about to put a pack in the trolley when my daughter discouraged me from buying them. I tell you what, supermarket shopping with my daughter is like shopping with the grocery police! And do i ever feel like a naughty little girl when she says;

‘No MUM!…let’s put them back on the shelf shall we? ‘

It’s because i’m vastly overweight of course, but hells bells a ruddy chocolate hob nob isn’t going to make that much difference to my size, is it?

So thanks to dear daughter I shall have to have the non chocolate variety with my cuppa tea. Bless her.

This entry was posted in Home & Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to It’s because she loves me of course, but…

  1. Janet says:

    Chocolate hob nobs are one of the great gifts of the UK to the world. I buy two packs at a time and hide one from my teenage sons.

    Peace, with or without chocolate!

    Janet (in the colonies).

  2. Gabrielle says:

    I saw the sweetest little fellow in the cookie aisle the other day. He was with his dad, and was motioning to a certain type of package and whispering, then the dad gave him a sort of “no” look, and the little one raised his hands in the air and said, very adult-like, “I’m just asking. I’m just asking.” It was so cute.

  3. Tom says:

    Deb-

    First and foremost, you are NOT “vastly overweight.” That’s absurd.

    Secondly, “chocolate hob nobs”??? LOL! In the U.S. we would have simply referred to them as “cookies” or “chocolate cookies.” You are definitely Brit:0)

    Thirdly, if I had never watched the first Harry Potter film, I would never know what on earth you meant by “trolley.” Thankfully, I did see it, and what you wrote makes perfect sense. Say, do you have train station with a platform nine and three quarters anywhere you live? LOL! (you have to have seen the movie to get that one).

    I’ve been practicing my English accent and I am now beginning to say “Google”, “Oh dear”, “blast”, and “literature” with a true English cadence, like a true Englishman. Perhaps one day I can try my accent out on you to see what you think:0)

    BTW, my brother has been to the U.K. at least half a dozen times and it continues to be his favorite country in all of Europe. I know…what am I waiting for?

  4. Adrienne says:

    I’m doing low carb…………………………however, after seeing that picture I think I’ll go have a chocolate cookie:(

  5. thehermitage says:

    Vastly overweight – I don’t think so!! But you will thank your wee lass…. one chocolate Hob Nob won’t make much difference – but who can stop at one! Have to say tho… they don’t taste great without the chocolate….

    Tom – that’s one of the main reasons I wouldn’t survive long in the USA – you just don’t “do” biscuits like we do!!

    Scotty

  6. AutumnRose says:

    Putting them back was your “heroic minute” for this week!
    🙂

  7. I just tasted these Weight Watcher’s grande latte popcycles. De-lish. I eat about two a day.

    Total abnegation doesn’t work. Aww, go ahead and have a stash and enjoy!

  8. Mimi says:

    What on earth are these of which you speak? They sound lovely!

    And, she loves you yeah, yeah, yeah. Berries are nice with your cuppa

  9. Rosemary says:

    I don’t see how one (or two) would hurt.

  10. Sarah says:

    I just bought imported Cadburys (an armload) at an import store nearby. I love my U.K. choccy’s with my cuppa!! There’s a picture of them on my blog: Twirls, Time Outs, Curly Wurly. Yeah!

    Have at the Hob’s. We get them in our commissary. I also enjoy the plain biscuits. And, I buy the Wheetabix cereal. Quite nice, actually.

  11. Jean says:

    Speaking of food, Deb, you are tagged for “The How Could I Resist” Culinary Meme at my new blog — The Good Health Blog. Go here
    http://heimannhealth.blogspot.com/2008/06/how-could-i-resist-culinary-meme.html for details.

    Have fun!

  12. I started a stricter regime yesterday – boy the day goes so slowly without snacks.

    I’m pulling out an old recipe book too to find some tastier things to eat – but I want to lose weight this time round. I am fed up of wobbling.

Leave a Reply

