Oh Happy Days!

Little did i know of the gastranomic delights I would be exposed to since the work on the house meant that almost the entirity of our meals would be heated in the microwave that has now become a as much a fixture in our living room a my nice Masons Ironstone oranamentals previously were.

On our menu this week has been the delectible ‘foam burger’ which are these spongey, microwave in a minute, meat (haha) burgers that you heat in the bun for about 60 seconds and then spend the next 60 minutes trying to chew enough to allow swallowing…followed by a further 60 hours of tasting it (can you say reflux?)…there were also a variety of microwave meals to delight the palate….almost all of which looked inedible once the cardboard sleeve was removed….and oddly, all of which required the same instructions to be followed to cook them to ‘microwave perfection’, whether meat or veggie based.

Pierce film lid a few times, bung in microwave for 3.5 minutes, agitate slightly, bung back in microwave for a further 3.5 minutes and then allow 1 minute for the gloopy concoction to ‘settle’.

I swear there was a veritable oil slick floating on the creamy chicken tagliatelle i ate a couple of nights ago….and the spinach and ricotta cannelloni?…..the tubes of pasta both looked and tasted of the plastic dish they arrived in. I have to continue to remind myself that I am fortunate to have food to eat at all, but i suspect that even God is mirthful when he hears me say ‘ Bless us O Lord and these thy gifts…’ come feeding time.

Of course, the washer is out of action too…..so today i loaded the car up with washing and took it to my parents…sadly they couldn’t do it for me as they are on holiday …..but i managed to figure out how to operate their washing machine…the only problem was that the door didn’t want to open after the cycle had finished….i tried for the best part of 45 minutes, before eventually resigning myself to phoning my mother to ask how to get the darn thing open.

So what should have been a 2 hour chore (there, back, washing and drying time) turned into a 4 hour chore (there, back, washing, fiddling with the door, getting hungry and having to go the shop for sandwiches, then drying time) which sadly, hasn’t allowed me any time to catch up with comments and emails or to blog visit today.

And oh yeah, you guys were right about the work affecting the asthma…the dust, the dust, the dust…i can taste it.

It’s certainly making my asthma play up…though Wonderboy’s asthma seems okay at moment as he’s been at school for a big chunk of each day and at his Dad’s a bit too… my chest is much tighter and my breathing more difficult…the plasterer should be in on Monday so hopefully the kitchen installation won’t be too far behind that, (though I have been warned it could be 2 weeks from now)….the house is to be rewired during the next week or two as well…we’re just waiting on the results of the asbestos check that was done on Thursday as the electricians won’t start on the rewire until the house is given the all clear.

Oh and the house is horrid. The novelty of living temporarily in wild domestic abandon, is wearing searingly thin already. How will i get through another 3 weeks of this?

Every room is piled up to almost ceiling height with things that have been moved away from all the socket and light switch points. It’s impossible to have a bath as they are working on the bathroom too.

I know this will all come together eventually, i just know it will, but it’s really slow going.

This is what the kitchen ceiling now looks like….

Anyone want to adopt a nice little Catholic family?

This entry was posted in Home & Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Oh Happy Days!

  1. Aphra says:

    Wow. That makes all my renovation work today look small 🙂 I painted a room! I have new carpeting coming on Monday.

    I sympathize with you on the microwave stuff 😦

  2. barbszy says:

    Wish I had known about all this well ahead of time. I would have shared how we survived a kitchen renovation with a 2-year-old and 6-year-old….we had a microwave, toaster oven, camp stove and slow cooker. It all worked pretty well, all told. Oh yeah, and I was known to heat water for pasta in the coffeepot 😉

  3. Suzanne says:

    Oh, my! Yes, do you know how to swim across the big pond? We’re here! It isn’t the prettiest place, but you’re welcome! Aw…well, yes…slow cookers…they are great for things going on like this for a decent meal.
    Your post is funny, but I’m sure you are not feeling so funny, but then again, funny is the only way to keep your sanity at this point! Right? How’s primadonna doing with all this? Ah! Prayers for you all, but it’ll be so pretty when all is said and done, most likely and then…. 😉

  4. mum6kids says:

    Ye gods Deb.
    I think I might live reasonably close to you.
    email me and I’ll see what we can do to help you out a bit!!!
    sctshell@aol.com

  5. Gabrielle says:

    Oh, the horrors of renovations. Hope all is back to normal (but better) very soon!

  6. Adrienne says:

    Ok -how do you get the door to the washer open?? Inquiring minds want to know.

    ……..and – that brick is gorgeous. Couldn’t you leave it exposed?

  7. Suzanne says:

    Deb,
    Well, I felt like if you could do it..I could do it.
    I started on the den or family room downstairs.
    Its the dark room that I’ve been trying to tell everyone about. Well, anyway, I THOUGHT there was paneling on only half the wall…come to find out, the wallpaper on the top began to peel and I thought that as Danny said, I may need to just take that down too, so I decided to and low and behold, there is paneling all the way behind the wallpaper…so I’m having to peel and peel and the top comes down lovely and the bottom has alot more glue on it. Its looking like your walls down there now.
    I’m not good at this sort of thing either, but I do not have to be right up under the construction as you do.
    Hope things go more smoothly and the workers get back to business soon! Whew!

  8. ukok says:

    oh Barb, how i could have used some culinary tips!

    Adrienne, alas, it is only rented accomodation, i have no say in the plastering over the brick…but it does look nice doesn’t it?

    Mum6kids, what a generous heart you have! I think we’ll be okay, but thank you very much for thinking of us 🙂

    Suz, hope your work on your home goes much more smoothly than the work thats going on (or SHOULD be going on) here!

Leave a Reply

