Ayd’s in a box

I was reading Rosemary’s post this morning and thinking to myself how wonderful it would be if some real life Willy Wonka invented a ‘weight loss’ fudge.

Then i remembered.

In the 1970′ and 80’s weight loss fudge really did exist.

With the benefit of hindsight however, the company may have done better to have called it something other than ‘Ayds’ in a box.

At a time when tombestone AIDS and safe sex avertisements were scaring us all out of our wits (especially those of us who were more than a little promiscuous at the time…pre conversion and all that) I’m sure the product could have been more apealingly presented and more profitably sold if only the company had changed the darned name of it!

(my mind is now running rampant with quips about the ‘benefits of having AYD’s’, but I do not want to be seen to be making fun of such a serious illness, so I will sit on my hands instead).

I was a sad, sick, neurotic tenager and I had zero weight to lose back then, but I was secretly bulimic with a dangerous habit of starving myself for days on end so let’s just say I had some food issues!

(I still do. Only now I am double the weight I was then. Really.)

Back then I would buy a box of Ayds or a pack of ‘diet biscuits’ on days when I would eat, thinking at the time that it was better to eat ‘diet products’ than proper food.

I would eat the recommended meal replacement/tummy filler of one or two pieces or one or two biscuits…but not having recognised at that time that I have an addictive personality (it’s not a copout, it’s true)…..I couldn’t stop myself from having another…..and then another…and before the hour was out i’d have eaten the whole box, the whole pack…because i don’t do anything by halves, me.

Oh what delightful memories!

Who wants those kind of ‘good ole days back?’

Not me for sure!

On my forthoming holiday in Wales I will buy me some fudge and sit my lardy butt on a beach somewhere and think of how much nicer my fudge tastes than those teensy cubes of Ayds I used to munch on in an attempt to stay impossibly thin.

I can hardly wait.

This entry was posted in Home & Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ayd’s in a box

  1. Suzanne says:

    I remember that name somehow! Wow, yes! I didn’t eat them, but I think my friend and her mom did and thought they were going to be some kind of miracle! LOL! Anyway, going to Wales again, are ya? 🙂 How’s things coming along in your home there or are you just trying to forget about it. We are revamping the den downstairs and I don’t have to look at it, so taking our time…otherwise, it would drive me bonkers!

  2. ukok says:

    Yup. I’m really fortunate to be able to go to Wales with the kids because mum and dad have their lovely, luxury static caravan down near Llanberris, so we go at Easter and in Summer when the kids are on their school break.

    If mum and dad don’t mind i might post a few pics of their luxury static caravan, on my return 🙂

    We would never be able to afford to go on holiday if not for mum and dad’s generosity.

    The kitchen and bathroom are nearly done HOORAH, or is that HORROR!

    The company are dumb dumb dumb.

    Bob the Builder would have been better.

    I waited in the house for two whole days last week and no one turned up when they should have, and today when no one should turn up, 2 workmen turn up to work on the house!

    One of whom is painitng the bathroom as I type this.

    I have finally got my washer plumbed in, but there are still small jobs to be done in the kitchen, like i can’t use my dryer as no one thought to put a vent in the brick wall so i can use my dryer…so i have to wash the laundry only on days when it looks like it isn’t going to rain…and frankly, there’s so many showery days that it isn’t really happening. I don’t know how i’m going to pack clothes for the holidays if they are all dirty!

    Show us some pics when your den is done yeah?

  3. Aphra says:

    I hope you enjoy every single day of your vacation!

    I can’t believe how much of your house you are doing at once! That is brave 🙂 I hope you enjoy it all when it finally is DONE!

  4. ukok says:

    D’ya know what, I like this new set up of responding to comments on YOUR bogs because then i get to read all th interesting stuff that’s going on in your lives!

    Cool!

  5. Jennifer says:

    Niagara Falls has the BEST fudge…I am going to drive 2.5 hours one way just to buy fudge in a few weeks! Fly over and get some 🙂

  6. Rosemary says:

    Deb, thank you for the link! I was laughing out loud (literally) about the hindsight on the name. I still am. My husband used to work for a company called GAY Toys. It was in fact a children’s toy manufacturer but the jokes were endless. They eventually changed the name of the company.
    You go eat that good fudge and enjoy it, my friend.

  7. angelmeg says:

    My mom had a box of them. This was way before the AIDS scare. I snuck one once, being a fan of chocolate, these things tasted like the bottom of an old shoe (or what I imagine it would taste like to eat the bottom of an old shoe). In fact I think that is how they worked, once you ate one of these it took a while to want to eat anything else.

  8. Scotty says:

    Oh my goodness – talk about memories!! My mum (who was tiny) used to use those toffee things. She hid them in her underwear drawer like they were something to be ashamed of and was horrified when I saw them…..
    Hope you have a lovely holiday – oh, and how is the natural hair colour growing out getting on???

  9. ukok says:

    Angelmeg and Scotty, my mother had a box and hid them frm me too! It was like some luxury product that I wasn’t ld enough or ‘worthy’ enough to sample LOL!

    So when i got a bot older i bought some and tried them myself, they were nothing to rave about for sure!

    Scotty, my hair colour is the same, i haven’t coloured it again, thanks for remembering about that and for asking. My hair is in terrible condition with all the years of bleach i’ve had on it but i am trying my hardest to ignore the mess and let it grow out because if i go the hairdressers for a cut i might be tempted to ask for a colour too, especially under the critical eye of my hairdresser!

    How is you hair? Well I hope 🙂

    Also, i do you have a blog? If you do it doesn’t seem to show up as a link

  10. Scotty says:

    My hair is fine thank you! I’m going for the regular trims approach – only way I can cope with watching the colour grow out soooooo slowly. Have to confess to being tempted by the shelves of colourants every time I’m in Boots though…

    I do have a blog, but it is part of the Christian Mums forum – so you have to be a member of the forum to read it… not quite brave enough to step out into the real world of the internet yet!
    x

Leave a Reply

