If there’s one thing I hate

Edited to add: I chose to remove the visible stat meters on the blog. I still have the private one that automatically is installed in the wordpress template, but it gives so little info i tend not to look at it very often, so all in all i think this is a fairly healthy decision to make 🙂

t’s when bloggers blog about their Stats.

So I feel a right tool mentioning my stats now, but I’ve had a real problem with my statcounter ever since I changed my blog template.

For example, my private WordPress Stats that are not available for public viewing, tell me that so far today I’ve had the following amount of visitors

But the public Statmeters at the bottom of the page with external codes are not properly recording visits and in fact they havent been recorded accurately ever since the template change.

I took the following picture of the days stat recording at the same time as the ‘accurate’ one pictured above….

..but as you can see, there is quite a significant difference between them.

Anyone know how to rectify this problem, or have you maybe experienced similar problems after changing templates on WordPress?

I really don’t want to change back to the old template again so maybe I should bite the bullet and have no visible sign on the blog of how many visits my blog gets each day?

Maybe that wouldn’t be such a bad thing anyway.

A bit of blog humility.

I can still read the private WordPress Stats in my dashboard area afterall.

Any thoughts?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If there’s one thing I hate

  1. John Bowden says:

    I long ago decided to go the way of humility and removed any kind of stat indicator. The blog is way for me to “talk” about things I want to talk about and for anyone who wants to “listen” to be able to do so. It’s that simple. If you focus on how many readers and how many comments then you begin to lose focus on why you began to blog to begin with!

    Just keep bloggin’ Deb – your writing is usually informative and certainly entertaining! 🙂

  2. ukok says:

    I abolutely agree with you John. I think it’s one of the most liberating things a blogger can do. Especially at a time when i’m noticing that even priestly bloggers are becoming obsessed with stats too, let alone us…it’s all very disappointing to me.

    There’s too many bloggers losing their focus and getting tied up in knots about who visits them and who doesn’t, doing all that number crunching.

    It’s been coming for a while, i know i’ve talked about it on the blog quite a bit over the years. But i think i’ve finally decided to say good ridance to statcounters. Hoorah!

  3. e. barrett says:

    My guess is one measures page “visits” and the other measures unique visitors. So you may have 100 unique visitors to your site, that click on 4 links. This would show up as 400 page views.

    Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

