You got Mail!

After near floating away on a cloud of happiness over Wonderboy’s diagnosis and Wondergirl’s exam results this week, i thought it was time for a ‘back down to earth’ post.

I received a gift today, it is a ‘kitchen christening gift’ from my mum who thought i was in need of some bakeware for my newly fitted kitchen. Well i’ve never used silicone before (neither for baking nor of the implant variety) so i’m looking forward to using it this weekend.

Have any of you used this kind of bakeware in your baking/cooking? If so, how did you get on with it?

When i use metal bakeware, sometimes hahahahahahaha! i have to leave it in soak for days hours to get those burnt well cooked bits off the bottom of the cake tin etc..so i love that this bakeware is bendy and easily cleanable.

I also like the colour of it.

I can’t lose it for long.

🙂

In other good news.

I received 2 books in the mail today, one which i had mooched…‘The Five People You Meet in Heaven’ by Mitch Albom (I just finished reading ‘Tuesdays with Morrie’, by the same author, two nights ago) …and the other book I received, which i wasn’t allowed to mooch…. because my dear friend wouldn’t let me give her any points for it even though she is a fellow Bookmoocher….she just sent it to me instead.

Just like her, bless her kind heart.

..yes…oh yes….I’ve been wanting to read Daphne DuMaurier’s ‘Rebecca’ for the longest time…ever since i saw the DVD years ago (i might watch it tonight actually) so i was chuffed to find it waiting for me on my return home today too.

Thanks for sending it to me Mimi!

I’m going to make a start on it as soon as i’ve finished laurie Lee’s Cider with Rosie, which i began reading last night.

All in all, it’s been a pretty good day.

Not least because today i faced something head on that had been troubling me for a long time. I put ‘it’ to bed and now feel i can move on with my life.

So yes. A very good day indeed.

God Bless!

p.s. Thanks for all your wonderful comments about Wondergirl’s GCSE results. She has been reading them and is thrilled about them all, but she’s a bit shy about leaving a comment. But yes, she has been reading them and enjoying them 🙂

This entry was posted in Book & Film, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to You got Mail!

  1. Aphra says:

    I love, love, love my silicon bakeware! I could never make muffins before but with it, I bake muffins once a week and they are never burnt! And they are so much easier to CLEAN than the metal kind. I would never go back. The silicon stuff is very pricey here! Hope you love it too 🙂

  2. I loved Tuesdays with Morrie 🙂

    I’ve used silicon bakeware for muffins but dont’ try it for Yorkshire Puds. ’nuff said.

    I think you can put the silicon stuff in the dishwasher too. REad the instructions before using.

    I love the colour 🙂

  3. Sarah says:

    Silicon is pretty cool. I think you’ll love it!

    BTW, I am wondering how one would make that cross over/out line over words when one is typing? I’d love to be able to do that on my blog, but am so daft I can’t figure it out! Thanks!!

  4. Mimi says:

    You enjoy it my friend. Mwah.

  5. Barbara says:

    I have used silicone paper to line tins but not actual tins before – in fact, I did not even know that they existed!!

    I must have missed something but what is book mooching?

  6. Argent says:

    Ha ha! As someone who also soaks carbon-colored debris at the bottom of my pans, please keep us informed how you get on with the silicone.

    I love “Rebecca”…great for reading out loud when the power goes out and you’ve got candles burning. Especially the parts with Mrs. Danvers.

  7. Cathy says:

    Oh! and I do love mincemeat…especially mincemeat pie…YUM!!

    And “Rebecca” had been a favorite of mine for a long time…The movie was grand but the book so much better!

Leave a Reply

