Why Silicone Bakeware is the new sliced bread

It’s the new ‘sliced bread’ because it is effortless!

And i’m all for effortless in the culinary department.

Here is the bakeware set my mum bought for me and here’s a similar bakeware set that’s available for a lesser price, for my American friends. Each piece of my bakeware set cost only around £2. In the shops an individual piece of silicone bakeware can cost £6-£10.

There is the p & p to be considered when ordering from QVC, and i generally don’t order from them anymore since i had a bit of a barny with them about their shoddy delivery service on a couple of occasions, but this was a gift so i wasn’t about to complain!

Just remember never to use knives on silicone bakeware and there’s pretty much nothing you can’t do with it!

I made Mincemeat Tart this morning and it took me less than 45 minutes to prepare it, cook it and eat some of it.

Here’s what i did.

First off i rolled some (ready made!) pastry dough out on the bakeware sheet that came with my set. This can be used for almost anything, for baking biscuits on, for catching gunk at the bottom of your oven, as a rolling sheet, to make roule, Yule Logs etc.

Then i placed the rolled pastry dough into the bottom of an ungreased silicone dish. I’m not used to rolling pastry in a square, but i’m sure i’ll get better at it with practice.

I spread out the filling, in this case, mincmeat

I rolled out some more dough and placed it on top.

Filling in the gaps to avoid seepage at hot oven temperature (who can roll a square to perfection? I don’t know!).

Whacked it in the oven for about 35 minutes and when i bought it out it was already coming away form the sides.

Removing it was efortless once i figured out what to do!

I sliced the tart into section’s using the handy spatula that came with the set and then I easily removed each piece.

After doing so there was very little remaining in in the bakeware.

A quick swish in some hot soapy water was all it took to bring the baking dish back to it’s former pristine condition. If i had cooked this in a baking tin i would still be there now chiselling bts of burnt on micemeat off it…

And then i let the fruits of my (not so enormous) labours cool for a little while…okay….a very little while…

And then i decided to cut the slabs into smaller squares because it would look like there is more than there is…

And Voila! That is how i got on with my first baking session using Silicone.

My daughter said something really sweet when she bit into one of the Mincemeat squares..

“Mum!”, she exclaimed, “they taste like Christmas….”

Which gave me the idea that i just might make these at Christmas and forget about making traditional mince pies. I don’t think there will be any complaints in this household and hopefully any guests will like them just as much as we do!

This entry was posted in Home & Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Why Silicone Bakeware is the new sliced bread

  1. Aphra says:

    I have never had a mincemeat pie before. Yours look nice though 🙂

  2. Janet says:

    You know, I’ve had my eye on silicon bakeware. I can often get it at my local discount department store. Looks like it cooks and washes like a dream!

  3. Tim J. says:

    You know, it’s hardly fair posting all these pictures of yummy-looking food!

    My Mom used to make mincemeat pie every Christmas. Haven’t tasted it in a long time.

    I have to say, the silicone bakeware looks pretty handy.

  4. Mimi says:

    That looks fabulous! I laughed at your comment about the pie crust, my Dh calls mine “Frankenstein Pie Crusts” but they are yummy.

  5. Rosemary says:

    Looks very yummy and the cookware is intriguing. Love anything that makes my life simpler.

  6. “they taste like Christmas….”

    but just reading your blog nowadays is calorie laden 😦

  7. Hello, just back from Lisieux, where I prayed especially for you and your family, only to come back and find my prayers worked for once! So glad to hear all the good news about your boy’s health – and well done to your daughter, what a bright spark!
    Now for some serious advice, if you want to roll pastry into a certain shape, then you have to make the initial lump into that shape first, so for a circle, you start with a ball, for a square, you start with a cube, roll evenly, applying the same pressure in all directions, et voila! (it should, in theory, flatten down into the shape you want).

  8. Barbara says:

    I think I feel a Christmas present coming on!!!

  9. Gabrielle says:

    I have just one piece of silicone bakeware; it’s for making madeleines, and I just love it!

Leave a Reply

