The measure of a family

This is a photo of the back of my internal kitchen door.

It’s a height chart.

of sorts.

It’s a measure of my family.

It’s a mess of ink and chalk and pen and crayon and 9 years worth of grime.

It was never intended to be a permanent feature.

When we started it soon after we moved here in 1999, you’ll notice i didn’t even write names on it. I just made little marks.

I imagined that I would soon paint over it.

But I’m lazy and have a largely sentimental streak… so that never happened.

If I ever move house I just might have to take this door with me.

I want to be able to write many more entries on it of mine and my childrens growth or in my case, of my diminishing height.

I wonder if i might one day have grandchildrens height measurements to record?

Please God, let that be.

This entry was posted in Home & Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The measure of a family

  1. Antonia says:

    we have something like that in our home in Italy; when I look at it I can hardly believe my brother & I used to be so small!!

    xxx

  2. Suzanne says:

    UKOK…Danny did this too! It is inside of our closet door..he had one at the house before too, but we didn’t take it! Anyhooo,
    it looks very similar to yours and I am glad he is sentimental about it..the kids love it and comment about it every once in awhile.
    He has actually put the 3 grandboys on there now, so if you do move, I would take my door with me, if I were you! 😉 😉

  3. good that doors are movable.

    Ours is on an internal wall 😦

  4. Mimi says:

    Ours is in the garage on a post, but there was a door like that in the house my mom grew up in, and she took so many photos when the house was sold.

  5. Tom says:

    Gosh-

    You – like me – let those sentiments get the best of you. I don’t blame you for wanting to take the door with you if you ever move to another house. You might actually make a family heirloom out of it!

    Oh, and THANK YOU for the B-day wishes:0)

  6. Barbara says:

    We couldn’t bring ours with us when we moved..it was the post that supported the staircase… there is one in my parents’ house where the three grandchildren’s heights are carefully marked… it is a tad old now and both grandsons are well over six foot… wonderful memories!

  7. ukok says:

    I’ve really enjoyed reading more about your ‘family measures’ too!

Leave a Reply

