Pdf-ing mad!

Oh my goodness!

I never knew how to do this whole pdf thing before and here i am just messing around and i discovered how to do it! I am so unbelievably excited about this… because yes….i do get excited very easily, admittedly…. I am going to be PDF’ing (no that’s not a swear word!) everything from now on.

I have a lot of things in mind to use PDF for so i hope that you, my dear friends, will find at least some of what I PDF, useful or interesting.

Preferably both.

(possibly none!)

To test out the usability of my pdf’ing skills I am uploading a copy of my last issue of the parish magazine that I edited.

Since this is the last parish magazine I will edit (i’ll not have as much free time come September – more about that in a future post) and since so many of you have contributed articles for our parish magazine over the last couple of years, i thought it would be nice if you actually got to see what it was that you had contributed so many interesting articles, poems, anecdotes,etc… to.

This is actually a pretty ‘thin’ issue since there was a lot of stuff going on at the time. Often the magazine has had twice as many pages in it, but anyway this should give you an idea of what you’ve been helping to create for the last two years or more. I don’t know how we would have managed without your help, particulary as parishioners haven’t always been very forthcoming with contributions…you know how it is…none of us thinks anyone wants to hear/read what we have to say, right?

So yes, thanks for all your help with it 🙂

Click here to view it.

This entry was posted in Blogging & Internet, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pdf-ing mad!

  1. Owen says:

    I had no problem viewing. Now, what’s the news? 😉

  2. Great job on the magazine!! 🙂
    I too want to hear the news.

    I also want a tutorial on how to make a PDF. Do you need certain software to do that?

  3. Esther says:

    Deb, can you please explain why people prefer pdf format to let’s say using Word documents? Thanks!

  4. ukok says:

    Owen, it’s nothing terribly exciting, but a new change in direction for me, i’ll be writing about it soon 🙂

    Barb, i downloaded some pdf software to my laptop and discovered that WordPress allowed me to link pdf software here (have a look if Blogger lets you do it) and then uploaded the pdf as an image and voila!

    Esther,

    Good question! Usually PDF’s can be annoingly laboured in the opening of them but as long as your file isn’t enormous, it doesn;t have to take long. What is brill about PDF’s is that for you to see the magazine i would usually either have to send you an email with an attachment, or send an actual copy to you. This way, i can share it with anyon who has access to he internet, in just a matter of moments. So in other words, it is incredibly accessible 🙂

  5. Esther says:

    Thanks Deb. That’s right! I usually get large documents in this format.

Leave a Reply

