The What Where When Meme

I saw this on Karen’s blog and thought i’d have a go.

So…where was I when…..

1. President Kennedy’s Assassination – 22 November 1963

This was a few years before i was knitted together in my mother’s womb so while God already knew all about me my parents didn’t have a clue at that point that they were going to have a daughter, i don’ t even know if they had met then. I don’t think they had. Hmm…Mum, Dad ?

2. England’s World Cup Semi Final v Germany – 4 July 1990

I have absolutely no idea, but i imagine my then beloved (may he rest in peace) being a football fanatic, would have been watching it on the telly and i would have been saying something like ‘what’s the big deal about a group of grown men kicking a pigs bladder around a field?’

3. Margaret Thatcher’s resignation – 22 November 1990

Jumping up and down with relief that the wicked witch had finally melted (obtuse humour removed). I was bought up in a staunchly Labour environment.  My Dad was elected as a local Labour councillor during the Thatcher days and I have nothing but admiration for how he worked damned hard  without payment to help better the lives of those on one of the largest council housing estates in Europe at the time, while she endevoured to screw over the needy while lining the pockets of the wealthy. (poll tax anybody?) Which is basically what it’s always been about in this country. The rich get richer, the poor stay poor.

4. Princess Diana’s death – 31 August 1997

This is one of those few distinct occassions that will be imprinted in my memory for ever.  And not because i was a big fan of Princess Di (though i did prefer her to any of the other members of the royal family).

The day prior to Diana’s death I had got married. By the evening of our wedding night my husband made it clear that he regretted marrying me and fell back into his aggressive, violent ways.  I spent my wedding night being terrorised by him and the following morning, after getting little sleep I went downstairs and turned on the news to hear that Di had died. I cried and cried and told the kids it was because Diana had died, but though i felt a lot of sadness about what had happened to her, really i was crying for being stupid enough to marry that man.

5. Attack on the twin towers – 11 September 2001

I switched on the TV shortly after the first plane hit and disregarded  what I was seeing initially, I actually thought I had just turned on some over dramatised Channel 5 movie…but after a few seconds i realised that it was actually a  newsflash I and I paced around in panic and horror and shock as i watched the second plane hit. I cried and prayed for those poor souls and for their families and I seriously did believe that England would be next (I thought maybe even that day we could be attacked – it all just seemed so surreal, as if anything was now possible).

I collected my kids from school, and all the parents on the playground waiting for their kids were just walking around in shock and disbelief, some of us crying after what we had just witnessed on the tv. Me and the kids had a special prayer time that evening for all who lost their lives in the tragedy and for the survivors  and for the families of both.

6. The election of Joseph Cardinal Ratzinger to the papacy – 19 April 2005

I watched it on the telly. I was hugely emotional, a blubbering wreck actually. I was overjoyed about his election to the papacy.

This entry was posted in Just for fun, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The What Where When Meme

  1. Scotty says:

    Ermmm – Margaret Thatcher is still alive…..even if a bit melted!

  2. ukok says:

    Scotty, i meant to include the tongue in cheek link, before I posted. I’ve rectified that now. I didn’t mean to be offensive…. there really is a play entitled ‘The Death of Margaret Thatcher’.

  3. Debs Mum and Dad says:

    i certainly remember where i was when President Kennedy,s assasination was announced at the cinema with a friend i worked with. a gir!! I can,t recall what the film title was. your Dad was sailing the Seven seas, he haS been near enough around the world, so can,t recall where he was at that time. we met 6 months later and married 6 months after that.Itwas a joyous day when we new we were going to have another baby to join your big brother love you loads mum dad God Bless xxx

  4. Debs Mum and Dad says:

    oops!!missed the K off new x

  5. Jay3GSM says:

    Pigs bladder?? It’s been many years since that was relevant. And to diss the greatest sport in the world so easily, I’m shocked, I really am. I remember that semi final, the whole world cup of that year was immortalised by the Pavarotti theme used by the BBC.

    I remember where I was when Arsenal beat Liverpool 2-0 to win the title in the last game of the season, I remember where I was when Italy won the world Cup in ’82 (Forza Italia!), when Italy lost the final in ’94 (dark days), and when we reclaimed our crown in 2006! I remember Milan thrashing Barcelona 4-0 in the European cup final, and so on. Memories, memories 🙂

  6. ukok says:

    Jay, how many ways are there of saying this…ummm…one…I thought i owned all the mental memories, but you just proved me wrong.

    LOL!!!

  7. Sarah says:

    I’ve finally answered the quirks meme. SOrry it took me FOREVER to notice it!! Big hugs, Sarah

  8. Scotty says:

    Hey – I had to go look it up!! I honestly wasn’t sure if she is still alive….. wasn’t offended!
    xx

Leave a Reply

