New Theme, and a few pointers

It might take a bit of getting used to, but i’m trying out this new WordPress template theme.

The one thing I really begrudged leaving behind when i moved over to Wordpess, was Blogger’s immense template possibilities at nil cost to myself.  I am a highly principled person though (and i make no apologies for it) and I had my reasons for leaving which were important to me at the time so I saw it as a small sacrifice really.

Anyway, WordPress is where I am and it’s where I am happy blogging, but the template choices suck quite frankly. Hence my delight that WordPress are now introducing new template designs, little by little.

This particular template is built around a classic magazine design, hence the three columns. The uneveness of the columns bothers me a bit as I thought that perhaps all the text in the columns would be of equal length (then maybe if the post was longer than the column, you would click a link to ‘read more’).

Also i’ve noticed that if you want to leave a comment you have to scroll down to the bottom of the column and click ‘comment’ (and the bottom of the column is the bottom of all three columns, some of which may be long, long, long (you know how i like to write yeah?) and if you want to take one of the three header posts to a main page of it’s own you have to click on the title of that post.

Its not really all that complicated and I do like that the text size, in this template is easier on my eyes without my having to click ‘text view’ and ‘increase’ on each page.

Anyway, let me know how you find it.

This entry was posted in Blogging & Internet, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Theme, and a few pointers

  1. Very nice and clean. Easy to read. Elegant!

  2. Suzanne says:

    This is different..do what you wish…if someone wants to come by and read your blog, it will be quite organized for them.

  3. Adrienne says:

    After blogger it would take some getting used to — but I think it looks really nice. I’m way to lazy to make any changes ……….

  4. Owen says:

    Can’t argue that it isn’t super clean and lean.

  5. It’s cool–but different to look at. I’m not used to 3 columns of text–it’s almost like reading a newspaper or magazine. Generally the 3 columns are one for text, 2 for “sidebar” stuff. But I like this idea. It’s unique, but very simple & streamlined.

  6. Therese says:

    I like this look to Deb.

Leave a Reply

