Autumnal Eating

Forget summer.

I think it’s time to simmer.

Besides, our English summer has been virtually non- existant and the leaves on the trees in my part of the world at least, are already changing to their autumnal colours and falling from the trees.

It’s time to get the crock pot out.

Some people have them out all year around of course, but i’m fairly new to crockpotting (ie, my crockpot has been in the cupboard for about 3 years, virtually unused) and it’s even new to me to have enough kitchen worktop space to use one, until now!

A stove top recipe that i thought i’d transfer to the crockpot is a family favourite in our house which we simply call ‘chicken and chick pea soup’.  This is a varient on another recipe I picked up many years ago when cooking with my (then) mother in law….what a shame ex husbands often make perfectly good mothers in laws, ex’s too. sigh.

I never weigh anything when making something like this, i just bung in the ingredients and let my taste buds be my guide. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. But usually it works….though my kids will never let me forget the grey mashed potato I once served up at dinnertime and made us all eat. (i hate waste).

For this recipe I used a pack of chicken breasts, 1/3rd of a packet of spaghetti, chicken stock, a can of chick peas, herbs, salt, black pepper, garlic, olive oil, cubed potatoes, (i would have used carrots too but didn’t have any)… and of course, some good parmesan to add at table, along with some yummy crusty bread.

The taste of Autumn.

Wonderful!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Autumnal Eating

  1. Alexa says:

    I love this template! Now you’ve got me thinkin’ wordpress again! Naw. I can tweak at blogspot easier than wordpress…

  2. Owen says:

    Time to simmer – this cracked me up. Listen, today MyLove made peach pie with peaches from the county – or as she and her girl friend call it, “bounty from the county.” 🙂

  3. aphra has a great recipe for lasagne you can make in the crock pot – ask her for it!

    I’ve never seen a crock pot for sale here in Finland but I’d love one.

  4. mum6kids says:

    Aha! I think I am getting the hang of the new blog layout. It’s pretty good.
    I have started using the slow cooker too-but then it just died. I’ll replace it quite quickly. It’s wonderful to throw a load of stuff in when I am actually with-it (relatively) in the morning and then as I grind into the kitchen in the later afternoon, see I have NO cooking to do. WhooHoo!

  5. Suzanne says:

    Thank you for the recipe. I will try it! Yeah, simmerins a good idea! 😉

Leave a Reply

