These are a few of my favourite things

Autumnrose recently posted on some of her favourite things around the house and i thought i’d take up her idea. I’d like to invite you all to share your favourite things just as I am going to do now with you. Please let me know in the combox if you are going to be posting your favourite things as i’d be interested in visiting your blog and seeing them 🙂

These are a few of my favourite things in the living room.

This is a box that my daughter handpainted for me about 3 years ago. It’s typical of her thoughtful, gentle and generous ways for her to make something handcrafted for me, it is one of my most prized treasures.

This statue of the Pieta was purchased on Caldy Island a few years ago, shortly after my conversion to Catholicism. You can read here about the incredible ‘vision’/play of light that took place there that me and my Dad (a non Christian at the time) witnessed on our  day trip to Caldy, while holidaying in Tenby. This statue is especially important to me because I consider that day to have been one of the defining moments in my parents journey to Catholicism. I  also happen to believe that it was largely instrumental in my father’s conversion. Though none of us knew it at the time.

A parish fair find that i fell in love with…i’m sure it won’t be hard for you to see why.

The icon of Christ the Good Shepherd, pictured below,  is a constant reminder to me of how far i  strayed from God in all those years I was wondering in the wilderness, and of how i continue to stray from God still…and yet, how he brings me back each time, cares each time, for me.

This icon is also a reminder to me of the pastoral role of the priesthood, and of how  the priest endeavours to care for his ‘sheep’, his flock, to love them as much as he loves his own life. Never letting one of his sheep stray…but always going above and beyond to keep his flock safe and to let them know that they are important to him.

This icon also reminds me that I am weak and of fragile faith and that I need someone to guide my footsteps, to care for me, to love me enough to tread dangerous ground to find me, to bring me back to the fold.

Deep stuff.

I could meditate on this icon all day.

Photographs, of course have to figure largely in my favourite things.

Of Wonderboy and Wondergirl especially….the posessors of my heartspace.

Another crafty creation gifted to me by my darling daughter. It has lovely uplifting quotes in it that Wondergirl wrote out for me on each page.

Handpainted plates.

One is a decorated with pretty leaves and a gorgeous flower…one is decorated with a monster beheading a man….can you guess which was made by my son and which by my daughter?

LOL!

These are a few of my favourite things in the kitchen

This is a large picture of sunflowers that my Dad painted when we moved here nearly 9 years ago.  There is just an ugly piece of jagged wood behind it so Dad suggested making a screen of some sort to cover it. This is what he came up with. I love it 🙂

This statue of Our Lady is one that i purchased on the last day of study on my Maryvale course. It was kind of a gift to myself. Funny enough at the start of my course i consecrated all my work on the 2 year long- distance course, to Our Lady, so it seems especially fitting that on the last day it should end with my attaining this beautiful statue.

I love its simplicity.

Looking upon it, contemplating Our Lady, it helps me to remember to strive to be like Our Lady, to cherish the simple things in life like friendship, love, family.

Sometimes when I want more from life, I look at that statue and it evokes in me a sense of balance. Life isn’t about who you know, where you go, what you do or how much you have. Through this statue, Our Lady helps me to remember what’s really important and to see through the shallowness of vanity and boastfulness that is so often prevalent in society and that is not excluded (mores the pity) from Christianity, not least within myself.

Laptop.

Oh how i love thee.

I know I perhaps shouldn’t get so attached to objects but…oh….(I am also head over heels in  love with my camera but i’m using it to take pics so i can’t post a pic of it!)

My Blackboard/noticeboard.

I would be so lost without this.

You may recall that I have a very poor memory. Well if i don’t write appointments on this board it is easy for me to overlook them. So although it’s rather shabby, it really is an important point of reference for me. I also tend to write down other things like what i have to cook, or shop for etc.

I need a much bigger one really, but there wouldn’t be a lot of places to put a larger one in the kitchen.

The Kitchen Table. This is where we do most of our work, where we eat almost all of our meals. Where we talk, laugh, argue, drink tea, where the kids do their homework, where i craft, blog, respond to emails etc.

Fruit bowl. Well let me tell you straight. A fruit bowl is not a fruit bowl in our house. The longest that a fruit bowl has contained fruit alone in our house is probably about 2 days. And thats stretching it. This glorious fruit bowl (thanks mum!) was won at a parish Christmas Fair. When Mum won it she gave it to me saying, ‘you will put fruit in this one won’t you ?’.

And when I said ‘yes Mum’ I really did mean it.

But, oh dear, I’m afaid it’s gone the way of all other recepticles in this house.

(sorry mum!).


This is my favourite ‘thing’ in the garden.

I have a horribly messy garden, I dislike gardening enormously. Partly because it is exhausting to me and partly because there are so many bloody insects in the garden. So instead of showing you my awful garden, i will show you the one good thing about my garden.

and here’s another pick of her cos she is so darned adoggable (adorableness for doggies…my son invented the word!)

What do you think of the haircut i gave my pooch? This was a DIY job in the absence of the necessary cash to take her to for professional grooming. Not bad though huh?

Hope you enjoyed looking at some of my favourite things 🙂

This entry was posted in Faith Matters, Home & Family, Inspiration, Just for fun, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to These are a few of my favourite things

  1. Owen says:

    Creative Dad you have there.

  2. Alexa says:

    Yeah! Creative FAMILY you have there!

    I posted a montage at my place.

  3. Suzanne says:

    Not only did I thoroughly enjoy viewing your favorite things photos, I especially appreciate all you wrote about each one…I am so peaceful now both looking and reading this. God bless you and thanks, Deb. Suzanne

  4. ukok says:

    Owen and Alexa, yes we are a creative family. I always think that’s a really handy thing as well because it means we can make our presents for one another sometimes 🙂

    Suz,

    Oh i’m so glad you enjoyed looking at the photos and reading the little bits i wrote about each one.

    It’s so good for me to know i didn’t waste all that time snapping phootos and uploading them to a post!

    🙂

  5. Sarah says:

    Bravo! I absolutely love it! Like Suz said, it’s great to read why each thing is of importance to you. Endearing!

  6. Antonia says:

    I havent done this myself (yet) but i enjoyed your post!
    your doggie is definitly very cute!!

    xxxxx

  7. Mimi says:

    Gorgeous favorite things!

  8. Rosemary says:

    I’ve posted a few of my favorite things, Deb. Fun post. Love yours.

Leave a Reply

