Me an my First Baby Meme

Found this over on Esther’s blog.

1. Were you married at the time?
No. We were engaged to be married and ‘living in sin’.

2. What were your reactions when you found out you were pregnant/approved?
Anticipation and delight, and a little anxiety too. I had not been around babies and didn’t know how to care for one. Also I was anxious as i had a terrible fear of the baby having to come out. Probably because of all those horribly, gory, childbirth videos they showed in school. Yuck!

3. How old were you?
22 when i got pregant, 23 when i gave birth.

4. How did you find out you were pregnant?
I knew because of the changes that were taking place in my body, but essentially because the doctor told me.

5. Who did you tell first?
My dear Fiancé

6. Did you want to find out the sex?
No. I think they asked us if we wanted to know, but we declined. Besides, Dad and my fiancé both firmly believed I was going to give birth to a girl.

7. Due date/Expected arrival date:
the 2nd November 1991

8. Did you deliver/meet your child early or late?
I delivered/met her on the exact date that she was due to be delivered, much to my surprise.

9. Did you have morning sickness/anxiety?
I suffered with morning sickness and my first excruciating migraine (the first of many) when i became pregnant. I didn’t really do the whole ‘blooming’ thing. I was  also very anxious…i was terrified of giving birth.

10. What did you crave?
My baby. Not to eat her! Just to hold her in my arms!

11. Who irritated you the most?
I hated the word ‘pregnant’ when i was pregnant. Anyone who said the word ‘pregnant’ annoyed me. I loved being pregnant, just hated the word, don’t know why.

12. What was your first child’s sex?
Female. My Dad and Steve were right.

13. How many pounds did you gain throughout the pregnancy?

I think i gained about 3 stone in weight.
14. Did you have any complications during your pregnancy.
Baby took 18 and 1/2 hours of hospital recorded labour time and at least 24 hours prior to that of my recorded labour time, to come out. I was induced in the afternoon of the 1st November as baby was in distress, but i didn’t give birth until 1.03am the next morning. I recall near the end they were worried baby was not breathing normally and a midwife took a moderately sized pair of scissors from her top pocket and cut me  to allow baby out quickly. I was scared out of my brains and i will never forget the sound of her cutting me. I was in so much pain it couldn’t really hurt very much worse, but it seemed barbaric. All for the greater good of my baby’s health of course, and therefore essential. But Ouch! though!

15. Where did you give birth?
Hospital

16. How many hours were you in labour?

See answer 14.

17. Who drove you to the hospital?
My fiancé

18. Who watched/went with you?
My fiancé

19. Was it vaginal or c-section?

Ugh, do i have to answer this? I suppose I do. Okay. The former (‘Vagina’ is another word i have a problem with, i know i have one but i don’t really want to talk about it. Thank you.)

20. Did you take medicine to ease the pain/self medicate to calm your nerves?
I was given an epidural, but was still writhing in agony after having it…i was told by the midwife that i had a ‘blind spot’  whatever the hell that was, and that I was one of the few people that epidural did not work on to relieve the pain i was in…so i made do with gas and air, which made me sick…i was as high as a kite and still in agony. Oh what fun. I felt like i was on on a fast spinning carousel and it made me throw up periodically.

Gripping Steve’s hand, I dug my nails into his flesh so hard at each contraction that he bore the indentations from my fingernails for days afterwards. He told me  that whilst in the agonising throws of labour i’d shouted, ‘no more babies! I am not doing this again! Don’t you think you are coming anywhere near me when we get home!’…but as soon as Steve placed baby in my arms, even while I was being stitched up, I was forgetting the pain and embracing the gift of the new life i had helped create.

21. How much did your child weigh?

7 lbs.

22. What did you name him/her?

I was nominally Christian at the time and my fiancé hadn’t quite made his mind up about God and so we didn’t have a preference for our baby to be named after any religious figure or Saint. Steve liked the name Hannah, but i rather liked Jessica, and then because Steve had a wickedly funny streak he suggested that we should name our daughter something that wasn’t difficult to spell, just in case she wasn’t very clever….this might sound mean, but Steve was so hilariously witty and quickthinking (he used to write comedy sketches, got one shown on Spitting Image once). So then I said Maisie, and he came up with Francesca and Gertrude (the latter of which he wasn’t being entirely serious!)…and in the end we had about 8-10 names and we couldn’t decided on any of them. The day of baby’s arrival, Steve went to get me some clean nightclothes and some of the new baby wear from home and he came back wth a cloth recepticle and some pieces of paper. He wrote the names we had liked on pieces of paper and then put them into the hat…we put our hand on one anothers and drew out a name.

Amy.

Her middle name being Elizabeth, after my wonderful Gran who I’d loved so dearly.

23. How old is your first child today?
She’ll be 17 in about 5 weeks or so.

A few months after our daughter was born, Steve died and i was never more grateful to receive into my life, the wonderful enduring love he had gifted to me in our daughter.

This entry was posted in Home & Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Me an my First Baby Meme

  1. Suzanne says:

    My first daughter weighed 7 lbs. 3 oz., so they were about the same size. I had a good birth with her..after about 12 hrs., but I was 3 weeks overdue!!! I am glad in a way, because with my sister’s help and Padre Pio and of course, the Lord, I wasn’t wimpy acting. I think after waiting 9 years of trying and almost 10 mos. of PREGNANCY, I could handle the pain pretty well. 😉
    Anyway, my third daughter has Elizabeth as her middle name too. I like that name alot. Amy is a pretty name.
    The Amy I know reminds me of your Amy in that they are both so lovely and feminine.

  2. mum6kids says:

    Beautiful story Deb and I am so glad you have that special gift to remind you always of Steve.
    God bless her

  3. Owen says:

    God bless you Deb and your children and Steve, may he rest in peace.

  4. Rosemary says:

    Awwww, happy memories. God bless this first baby of yours!

  5. Sarah says:

    Lovely and heart-wrenching, both. God love you for sharing this. Maybe I’ll nick it and do it up and post it in a day or two. Maybe not. Just depends upon my time as I am ready to head out to TEXAS for a conference – my soul sorely needs this gathering of other Catholic women, Holy HOurs, and Masses. Yeee-haw!

  6. Mimi says:

    What a beautiful story, and parallels mine in many ways (also not married but engaged, and living in sin, and born in 1991)

    Many years to your daughter on her birthday, and Memory Eternal to Steve.

  7. my first son Fadi(which means ‘saviour’ in arabic) was born after 8 hours of HORRENDOUS labour…when i first laid eyes on him he honestly looked like an angel with a light shining around him…..my heart beat so fast I loved him so much…. How did steve die???

  8. Esther says:

    Thanks for sharing your responses Deb. BTW, I LOL when I read about your aversion to the word pregnant and I also do not care for the V word 🙂

  9. ukok says:

    Melissa, i’m sorry you had such a horrendous labour! What a lovley name you gave to you son 🙂

    Hope you don’t mind if i don’t comment on the crcumstances of Steve’s death, it’s not something i find easy to talk about, even now.

  10. Kit says:

    Hi Deb – I will give this one a go later on today!

    Left you a crockpot recipe at “TNTL” as well.

    🙂
    Kit

  11. Barbara says:

    This is a lovely post Deb…

    Siân arrived on her due date too……

  12. Barbara says:

    PS – I did the one word answer thingy btw!

  13. Melanie says:

    I did this one over at my blog! Thanks for posting it – very interesting!

Leave a Reply

