Give us this Day our Daily Bread

Every time I have ever attempted to bake bread from scratch I have failed dismally, but spurred on by Elizabeth’s recent breadmaking post, I thought I’d give it another go.  I used Elizabeth’s recipe and method as a guideline but altered it slightly as me and mine prefer wholemeal/granary/seeded bread.

I had already purchased a tin of yeast and some wholemeal bread flour from the supermarket a few days ago, so I thought i’d give it a go earlier today.

Well, I was gobsmacked that it rose…

but I was even more gobsmacked that it tasted glorious!

The kids and me tucked in when it had cooled slightly, and with a bit of mature cheddar it was yummy. I think I need to make some chutney next though to accompany it, got any chutney recipes to share?

We ate a whole loaf between us for tea (we’d already had our main meal of chicken casserole, at lunchtime).

The recipe went something like this:

I dissolved 1 x 5ml spoonful of sugar and sprinkled on 4 x 5ml level spoons of dried active yeast.

Whisked the mixture and then left it to one side for 10 minutes for the froth to develop on top of it (to show the yeast was activated). Whisked the yeast mixture again.

In a separate bowl I placed 1 lb 7oz of wholemeal flour to which i added 1 and a 1/2 tsps of salt.

I added the yeast mxture, and 1 generous knob of butter and a further 1/2 to 3/4 of a pint of warm water and enlisted the help of my son who (begrudgingly) kneaded/punched the dough for 10 minutes.

I left it in the bowl, covered with a tea cloth for about 35 mins, then I knocked back the dough again, kneaded the air out, then placed the mixture in 2 heavily buttered tins (great tip Elizabeth!) and left the mixture to rise again for a further 40 mins, covered with tea cloth.

After that time I brushed some whisked egg on the loaves and bunged them in a preheated oven for about 40 minutes at 230C.

Left them to cool for a bit on a wire rack and ate ’em up, yum!

I can’t wait to experiment with different ingredients now that my breadmaking hasn’t been a disaster, for a change!

I might use mum’s breadmaker to make some more bread in the week but i’ve been doing a bit of research online and discovered that I need to use fast acting yeast rather than ‘active yeast’, to use in the breadmaker,so i don’t know whether to bother buying another lot yeast. It isn’t expensive but i don’t know if i want to drive to the supermarket for only one ingredient!

This entry was posted in Faith Matters, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Give us this Day our Daily Bread

  1. Tim J. says:

    Baking bread is next for me, now that I have my home brew operation back up and running. Looks like making my own cheese will have to wait until next year, but that’s okay.

    Your bread looks tremendous. I have had some fumbles with bread, too, but I’m encouraged by your results.

  2. Rosemary says:

    Looks really yummy. Bet it made the whole place smell great too. Congrats on your efforts!

  3. Kit says:

    Deb – click on over to my Bistro blog and try Pane Toscana – no kneading, hard to mess up, and VERY good!

  4. Suzanne says:

    Looks yummy and glorious!

  5. mum6kids says:

    Fresh bread is the business!
    We sit it out by the tumble dryer to prove and that works really well.

    I’m making chutney on Wednesday. I post the recipe to keep an eye out.
    God bless

  6. Mimi says:

    I love making bread, but I do it the lazy way and do the dough in the bread machine, and then rise and cook it the regular way.

    Yum, save a piece for me!

  7. looks delicious…i must try this recipe………….

  8. Cathy says:

    Success!! Yes, it is truly beautiful! Congratulations!!!!!

  9. See, told you it was a good recipe!
    Only problem with it is that it disappears too quick!
    Glad you had fun making it,
    God Bless.

  10. ukok says:

    Tim, i would LOVE to make cheese. Wow. how col would that be..being able to make your own cheese….good bread, cheese and a bunch of grapes would be just fine as my last supper.

  11. try using fresh yeast for even better results …

  12. ukok says:

    i used to love the smell of fresh yeast….mm yummy! Not sure how to adapt the recipes when using that though 😦

Leave a Reply

