What’s going on baby?

Sorry I haven’t been around much lately. I’ve finally got shot of my chest infection but every one i have seems to take that little bit longer to get over than the one before.  The doctor has been trying out different pain management medications for my chronic daily headaches/eye pain and to be honest, there are some pretty disturbing things happening to me in other ways over the last 6-12 months, mostly to do with my poor memory, vagueheadedness and lack of concentration and other stuff.  I’m awaiting a hospital appointment to see a Neurologist who will hopefully be able to help, and may, the doctor tells me, decide on me having a brain scan or somesuch. I had one about 9 years ago when i first became ill, so i know they aren’t anything to be scared of, but that was just my head being scanned, i dunno if they will do an MRI or whatnot.

My recent bloods came back normal, apart from a raised white blood cell count, which the doctor attributes to my having a chest infection coming on at the time i had the blood tests.

I’m trying to muddle through, but every day seems cloudy and I am so frustrated with how I seem to be sliding into incompetency in some areas. I keep missing apointments and forgetting important things so i have resorted to writing down lists of whether or not i have taken the kids to school, had my tablets etc…i went upstairs a couple of weeks ago to check if i had taken the children to school….i had forgotten driving them there.

I don’t understand whats going on with me, and i hope that if there is something wrong with me that it can be dealt with. The good news is the doc says in her opinion i don’t have premature dementure, but that it could be a symptom of something else being wrong with me.  Also, she gave me these ‘gold star’ migraine pain relief tablets a few weeks ago, and said that migraine pain relief didn’t get much better than that …only they didn’t work on me, so she seems to think it might be a possibility that what we have thought are migraines all along, may in fact be something else.

I’m not thinking this is anything especially sinister though, as i’ve been on prescription meds for my pain for years and the symptoms have remained consistant on the whole, though my memory loss is certainly worse now, as is my lack of concentration and eye pain, headaches etc.

Hopefully, we can get the pain managed once and for all when i see the neurologist and if there is something wrong, please God, let them find out once and for all what it is because i hate not knowing why my body is behaving as it is!

Anyway, there’s my medical update, which i record here because, well, who knows, i might just forget it if i don’t. LOL!!!

This entry was posted in Home & Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to What’s going on baby?

  1. Owen says:

    Tough times and sorry to hear about them. I’m in the midst of frequently debilitating back pain that’s seriously slowing down getting art made. It kills normal thinking, walking down stairs…and on. And it robs me of my passion to get on the bicycle and ride. We’ll keep muddling through on this side of the Pond praying you will too on your side. Peace kiddo.

  2. Phil says:

    Lots of prayers coming your way, Deb

    God bless x

  3. John Bowden says:

    It’s difficult not to let things like this worry you. Just remember you’ve got lotsa folks sending prayers your way.

  4. Aphra says:

    Praying for you too.

  5. i hope you feel better soon…we’ll think of you in our prayers…..

  6. Wonderful to see your blog, Ukok! I will certainly be a frequent visitor. I just moved my own blog from vox to blogspot due to some technical annoyances. It was a hassle, but worth it.
    I really hope you get better soon! I agree with you that the worst thing is the ‘not knowing’. It took me 10 years to find what the root of my medical problem was. Once it was found it wasn’t over immediately, but could be dealt with and was behind me as a ‘big problem’ in two years.

  7. Rosemary says:

    You’re in my prayers, Deb. The body is so complex. May your doctors have wisdom.

  8. Mimi says:

    Sigh. I’m so sorry to hear this. Lord have Mercy, and my prayers with you.

  9. Alexa says:

    HOpeing you feel better soon, Deb. I hope it’s nothing serious and will be praying for that!

    God bless,
    Alexa

  10. Suzanne says:

    You’ll be okay…too much going on most likely…feel better..I’ve been very fuzzy headed lately. At least can write about it and that makes sense and you feel better for getting it out. Right?

  11. Father, I abandon myself into Your hands,
    Do with me what You will.
    Whatever You may do I thank you,
    I am ready for all, I accept all.
    Let only Your will be done in me,
    And in all your creatures,
    I wish no more than this, O Lord,
    Into Your hands I commend my Soul.
    I offer it to You,
    With all the love of my heart,
    For I love You Lord,
    And so need to give myself.
    To surrender myself into Your hands,
    Without reserve,
    And with boundless confidence,
    For You are my Father.

    This prayer just came to me Deb.
    God Bless.

  12. mum6kids says:

    Deb, seeing as what you describe is very similar to what I go through – including the awful memory loss-if you want to talk email me
    Sctshell@aol.com

    I hope the docs can offer some good help-especially with the pain.
    I’m still hoping for amytriptyline. Has anyone suggested that to you?
    It’s an old fashioned drug but has an excellent record with migraine and ‘neuro-type pain.

    God bless

  13. ukok says:

    Thanks all for your kind and thoughtful responses.

    Mum6kids, I am taking amitryptiline currently, it is often used as an anti-depressant but studies have shown that indeed it is effective in diminishing migraine /eye pain/neuro pain.

    I started off on 10mg each night and the eye pain was still searing each morning when i awoke, now i’m on 20mg each night and though the eye pain is still present, it certainly is less than it used to be. I used to wake up each morning in agony, now i wake up with a more tolerable eye pain/headache and i don’t use my codipar before 11.30am some days.

    Do you ‘twitch’? I have a lot of involunatary twitching and shaking. I will email you actually, it probably isn’t the best place to discuss our health problems.LOL!

    Will email you over the weekend if that’s okay. Thanks for sharing with me that you also have similar problems.

    God Bless you!

  14. Adrienne says:

    Have the doctors explored the possibility of fibromyalgia??

  15. Hope you’ll be better soon. Between the nasty cold I had and the election cycle with Nobama, I’m wound up tighter than a drum from the tension. Half the time I don’t know whether I’m coming or going. I just know I’m pissed off most of the time!!!!

  16. sounds like you are simply frazzled. Sorry to hear it.

  17. Valerie says:

    Hey, my friend – I’m sorry I haven’t visited you in about a gazillion years! Please let me know what they find out when all of your tests are run. In the meantime, I shall keep you in my prayers. A favor, please – could you come over to my blog and post a response to my question about in what direction I should take my blog? I’d really value your input/opinion. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

