Help! Anyone Got Advice for this man?

During the course of an email converation i was having with an  internet *friend*  I recently made, i was asked the following question which you will read in the email.

Now the guy is a fellow Catholic who is enduring etensive hardship but as much as i’d like to help him  i feel utterly unable to assist him as i have no knowledge of these matters, of which he writes. Does anyone reading this have information that i could send to this poor man?

Here’s the email:

Deborah,

Here in India, we are facing very terrible situations..we need someone to help us. We need to move other place for safety. but without any money , without Job Its difficult to go other place. .I’m not asking for money …I never asked anyone for money..I need your help..I need a Job in your country..I’m asking you because you are God’s child…I’m sorry I don’t have any other way except asking to you .. Dear Deborah in Christ we need money to save our family and to help other people like us…we need to move other place for safety..but its very difficult to ask money from others…here the salary which we are getting is not enough for anything..Dear Deborah can you help me to get job in your country.please help me to come there. I can work in any company , any job. If I come there and If I get job,then I can help my family , I can help my people..we can move to other place . withought money we cannot go any ware, we need money to move other place.. now I’m working as a computer hardware and network service boy in a resort…I know computer hardware and networking.. I heard about the job vacancies in your country..I applied for job in many websites but they are asking visa for this..I have my passport ready but I need a visa to come there.. .If u help me to come there, I’ll never forget your help in my life..God will bless you for this…

Jesus said
” Mat 25:37-40 ” Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungered, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink ?
When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee?
Or when saw we thee sick, or in prison,and came unto thee?
And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.”

Please don’t do it for me..do it for Jesus..If u help me to come there, I’ll try to arrange money for visa…I don’t have a single penny for this..God know about my situation ..but I believe God will provide money for visa…I’ll search for a sponsor who can help me… I heard, in other Indian state many people gone to other country as a house maid , house keeper.. Please help me.

Jesus said in Luke 10:36 – 37 which now of these three, thinkest thou, was neighbor unto him that fell among the thieves?
And he said, He that showed mercy on him. Then said Jesus unto him, Go, and do thou likewise.

Dear Deborah….U can imagine the situation which we are facing…think me like u r own brother…In Christ we are one.. I ‘ll never forget your help…I need your help..

I hope, definitely u will help me..I’ll wait for u r message..take care ..in Christ
XXXX

Mat 5:16 Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven.

Pro 3:27 – 28 withhold not good from them to whom it is due, when it is in the power of thine hand to do it.
Say not unto thy neighbor, Go, and come again, and tomorrow I will give; when thou hast it by thee.

Cripes, i feel so powerless to offer this man anything more than my prayers. Please, even if you can’t offer any advice, please remember him in your prayers too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Help! Anyone Got Advice for this man?

  1. Aphra says:

    Well, he seems like a smart young man, why doesn’t he apply for a visa?
    I think things are very tough in India and we are blessed to be in a nation that things are relatively safe and we have many luxuries that they could only dream of.
    I can see a few things wrong with his thinking- if he does get a job in a “better” nation, will things really be “better”? Does money make things “better”. He seems to think so, but I would disagree.
    I need to get a new job myself, but I don’t think I could work in “any job”- I wouldn’t be qualified, for one! But would “any job” be where God wants me?
    I have been praying and will continue to pray that I will be in the place that God wants me. I will also have to put out resumes and go to job interviews (which I hate and suck at!) and do my part.
    I would suggest that he pray about where God wants him, not where he wants to be, and apply for a visa!
    Sending you hugs! Hope everything is ok with you and your kids, I don’t know if you sorted your own job situation out? I’m praying for you too 🙂

  2. Nigerians have moved to India? Who knew!

  3. mum6kids says:

    There are a lot of little missions in India run by various orders. The Sisters of Charity are the biggies of course but last year I was raising money for nuns in the Chenai slums.

    He needs to approach one of the missions. They can advise him and put him in touch with work and people who might be able to help him there.

    Why is he moving around so much? Is this for work or to get away from Hindu persecution?

    Being Christian in India is a horribly difficult thing to be as it makes you Untouchable-but there are a lot of good Catholic parishes there. (There are also some pretty kooky ones-so he might need to tread with care).

    I am sure a lot of the missions have links abroad and he would more likely get exactly the help he needs that way.

    I am glad he has a job. Indian law demands a minium wage of 2rupees an hr for an adult and 1rupee an hour for children. In Chenai the adults are all unemployed and the kids are the bread winners.

    Prayers as well.

  4. ukok says:

    Aphra, great observations about him being clever enough to figure out the ‘vias thing’. His email reminded me of those nigerian (i think Karen picked up on that) emails that seek financial help from their recipient. I don’t know this guy personally, i only became facebook *friends* with him recently but so far, it seems that our email interaction has been about money or helping him to avoid seeking a visa!

    I will be praying for you and for your CV’s and interviews, hoping that something good comes of your willingness to work to help support your family.

    I am seeing the neurologist on Wednesday about my ‘health concerns’, at the moment i am unable to work and feel unsure what comes next. But i appreciate your kind thoughts and prayers. God Bless you!

    Karen, exactly!

    Mum6kids,

    great idea for him to apprach one of the missions, i hadn’t thought of that! I have no idea why he is moving around so much, i think it is to do with the persecution going on, or maybe that he moves to find work.

    Thanks too for the info about the wages, that’s really interesting and it’s something else i dd not know.

    I will pass on that you are praying for him 🙂

  5. Moni says:

    It is a good thing to want to help people, but I have had people contact me from countries with a different standard of living and regretfully they mainly seemed to want to find out if I would sponsor them.
    So advise to you, do try to point him in the right direction, and don’t feel too guilty or anything for what you cannot do. There is only so much we can do after all plus, you have responsabilities to yourself and your own family.

  6. Mac McLernon says:

    Maybe I’m overly cynical… but it sounds like a typical scam to me…

  7. Aphra says:

    Thank you! My contract goes until March so I haven’t started looking for a new job yet, but I expect to soon!

    In Church today we watched “Where the Red Fern grows” a movie about meeting God halfway and I thought of your post here 🙂
    If you haven’t seen it: The boy wanted a dog and had been praying for it for a long time, and then his grandfather tells him he has to do his bit and meet God halfway. So he works all kinds of odd jobs and saves up the money and buys his dogs! The rest of the movie is really good too…

  8. Re your opening comment : Never ever underestimate the power of prayer Deb!

  9. Easter A. says:

    So sad, really. Thank you for posting this Deb! I am praying too…

  10. marie says:

    his situation is sad, but there are many british nationals, in situations that are not alot better. people who can never save to move to a better area, because they dont earn enough and young people living with parents at the age of 30, because they cant afford to buy or even rent a house. people in dead end jobs, living hand to mouth, if he wants to see, misery and poverty, he should come to one of britains big cities and from what i can see, visas seem to be given out to all. think we have to get the problems here in the uk., sorted and stop worrying about everyone else, as they do in other countries. this is all very unfair for people like this guy, but we live in a very mean world, where sadly we can never take care of everyone!x

  11. Aphra says:

    what did you end up telling him? did he reply?

Leave a Reply

