Losing my mojo

You may have noticed that i haven’t been posting with so great a frequency during the past couple of weeks, one reason for that is that i’ve been getting back into the online Catholic forums instead of blogging. Another reason is that i’ve been trying to come to grips with some fairly oppressive health symptoms.  I’ve been losing my balance and some days i have twitched the whole day long (it is hardly noticeable to anyone else, thanks be to God), but It’s as if my nerves are wired up the wrong way or something. I’ve even awoken during the night to my body doing this psychotic nerve-dance and it’s pretty disconcerting that this is happening everyday/night.

I have an appointment with the neurologist on Wednesday but just to be on the safe side about the eye pain, i decided to get an eye test as i thought this would be one of the suggestions that would be made to me by the neurologist, well it turns out that thanks be to God, even though my vision is sometimes blurred, i have really good eyesight. The optician mentioned i have dry eyes but apart from that they look really healthy.

I was hoping some problem might be highlighted which would explain my eye pain, even the optician said  he was sorry that he couldn’t find an explanitary cause, but wished me all the best for Wednesday.

A couple of days ago i went out shopping with my daughter and found myself losing my balance quite severely in a shop we were in. I felt drunk and i don’t drink alcohol. I’ve been having some internet dialogue with a blog buddy who has some similar symptoms but who has been under the care of neurologist for years, and i get the impression that my hope for a quick diagnosis and hence, a swift medication action plan (if necessary), is as unlikely as Obama changing his policy on pro-life issues.

Still, yet another reason i’ve been around less is that my mojo for blogging has darn gun and got itself lost.

But something cool happened today that i want to share with you.

Today i found myself in the company of  a UK proponant for the cause of the canonisation of Archbishop Fulton Sheen and when I placed my offering in the retirement collection after Mass – directly into Archbishop Fulton Sheen’s crimson Biretta – my hand brushed the side of it as i withdrew it and i got this odd sensation and remember thinking, ‘something just happened!’

I don’t know what, yet.

Cool though huh?

This entry was posted in Home & Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Losing my mojo

  1. Phil says:

    Please take it easy until they know what’s wrong. Mind you, it would be soooo “cool” if your were the necessary miracle for Fulton Sheen’s cause; I just hope that they get to the bottom of the dizziness and blurred vision soon. God bless.

  2. I too hope you will be OK and have a quick diagnosis and relief of symptoms! With prayers!!

  3. mum6kids says:

    Hang in there Deb and may dear ol’ Fulton be your friend in this.
    God bless

  4. Tim J says:

    How I love Fulton Sheen. I wasn’t aware of him as I grew up. He died in 1979, the year I graduated High School, and his popularity in the U.S. had already faded by then, but I have benefited many times from the re-airing of his shows and radio addresses.

    Now we have Father Corapi. It seems that God raises up some prophetic voice in every generation.

    We actually have a number of amazing priests and bishops right now, not to mention our wonderful Pope, but Father Corapi seems specially gifted to preach to the spirit of this age.

  5. Tim J says:

    Sorry, also, for your health issues. I’ll be praying for you.

    Of course, we always knew you were unbalanced!

  6. Pia says:

    Take care! Hope everything turns out ok. I’ll check in on you again in a couple of days.

  7. Renee says:

    Praying for you, Deb. Rest up, and take care!

  8. Mimi says:

    Lord have Mercy, Lord have Mercy, Lord have Mercy, and a big hug too!

  9. Rosemary says:

    May Archbishop Fulton Sheen be interceding for you! Oh Deb, wish you were nearby. This does not sound like fun. Would love to bring you dinner or cookies or something. You are in my prayers especially today during my adoration hour!!!!

  10. Sending up my prayers for you for a good diagnosis and feeling better.

    I know that ‘something just happened’ feeling. I had one when I was during WYD in Koln. I ended up marrying Bill because of it. *W*

    Be loved and blessed,
    Eva

  11. Suzanne says:

    I feel sure that the soul of Fulton Sheen is going to be praying for your needs…that’s just what I believe, for what it is worth. Relax, pray, hope, and love. May the peace of Christ that is beyond all understanding be with you and yours. Amen.

  12. John Bowden says:

    Very cool, very cool! But then that’s exactly how I’d describe the good Archbishop – very cool.

    Prayers for you and your family continue unabated!

  13. Sarah says:

    Prayers being said for you. God bless you, hang on, and keep up the good fight. Bishop Sheen may just be blessing you . . . and asking you to name him in intercession. Still, quite cool, yeah?

  14. Easter A. says:

    giggle on my part… thanks for that, Deb! 🙂

  15. Therese says:

    praying for you Deb. I hope you find out soon what is wrong.

  16. Adam D says:

    please know you’ve got my prayers as well

  17. ukok says:

    Thanks all! The meeting with the neurologist did not go well. He didn’t want to send me for any tests or mri’s or anyhting and told me to adjust my life around noise, stress etc and in his words ‘wrap yourself in cotton wool and treat your body as a temple’ nd told me to ‘lie down in a dark room whenever i have head pain. He also said that my wide range of symptoms from twitching, sometimes all day long, to falling over and feeling drunk (as a teetotaller that’s worrying!) …he dismissed these things as being ‘normal’.

    I am going to see the doctor in about 10 days when she returns from her holidays and we’ll see what she sayd about it all.

    Thanks for your prayers, i would appreciate it if you could continue to pray for this situation please. Thanks so much!

    God Bless you all

    Debs X

  18. Maryellen says:

    Hi Deb
    Sorry to hear about your Neurological symptoms. I will keep you in my prayers..

    Sounds to me like you need to find another Dr. Does your Insurance allow for a 2nd opinion? You and I both know your symptoms are not normal. It sounds like the Dr. is assuming it’s stress, and it could be, but you need another opinion and certainly an MRI and blood tests.

    Be pushy. Take one of your gutsy friends with you to act as your advocate. I never go to a Dr. alone anymore. My daughter takes me and asks questions and takes notes.

    I hope you get the help you need, and will be praying for you.

  19. pia says:

    Any updates on your condition? You mention head problems in your last post, and I don’t know if I’ve missed something or if you were referring to your hair…. 🙂
    Anyway, hope you’re ok.

Leave a Reply

