You could not make this stuff up….

I know some of you guys and gals have found ‘love online’ and hey, being a hopeless romantic, i believe it can happen. But man oh man, there are a lot of crazy things going on in the world of cyberspace relationships if this is anything to go by…

A woman who found ‘love’ in a chatroom 5 years ago recently filed for divorce from the man she *met* there and subsequently married.

Now the strange bit…..

She is now filing for divorce from him because she caught her husbands character in online game, ‘Second Life’ …having sex with a female cyber character that belonged to another member of the online game.

Now the really really strange bit…

She has now found ‘love’ once more….with some guy who she met in World of Warcraft.

Truth is definately stranger than fiction.

Source

This entry was posted in Just to say..., Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to You could not make this stuff up….

  1. Phil says:

    Haha! Ah well, I guess it had to happen: “Avatars in Love” the next great blockbuster from Jilly Cooper.

  2. ukok says:

    Avatars in love…..oh that is a cool name for a cyber dating site maybe? If i ever start a dating site i might just call it that 🙂

  3. mum6kids says:

    LOL Phil I like it!
    Deb- a friend of mine appears to have found true love online. They’ve been dating awhile now and all seems well.

    I have a friend I talk to a lot on MSN. She lives in West Virginia so we have never physically met-although my oldest has met her!

    And I have other online friends like you 🙂

  4. ukok says:

    Mum6kids,

    I do believe it could possibly work, but i think you would have to meet oe another fairly soon after you realised you really liked someone you knew online. Otherwise i think one would start building the person up in their head, maybe having an inaccurate idea of what the person looks like (photos can be deceptive – i know, i used to be a portrait photographer!), how they nehave, whether they have annoying habits or problems that you might feel unable to overcome when the romance becomes a reality.

    Others have commented here, like Melanie and Alexa, saying that they met their love online, and i’m not sure how long Melanie has been with her hubbie but they have 3 children together and are doing fine and i think Alexa and Rob have been together about 10 years…and both ladies seem not to have attracted wierdos, so yes, i agree with you.

    And you are certainly right that friendships can develop via the internet, and meaningful ones at that 🙂

    Good points.

  5. ukok says:

    mum6kids, that friend of yours, was she a member of an online dating site? I’m just wondering if that is how they met 🙂

  6. Melanie says:

    Yep, Bo & I met online! We’ve been married 11 years, together for 13. 3 kids, 2 dogs and 2 states later he still makes my heart go pitty pat.

    We did meet IRL very quickly after meeting online. He actually responded to a “romance” ad I placed on AOL. He was probably the 10th or 11th guy I went on a date from that ad and I *knew* when I met him that I was done. I actually went on 2 dates with other guys after we met, but there was no doubt in my mind that I had already fallen for Bo. I had placed ads either in the paper or online for years b4 meeting him – I used to love blind dates.

  7. Melanie says:

    OH and I forgot to add! I read recently that people who met through online dating sites actually marry more often than meeting elsewhere. It’s thought that people who go that route are more ready to settle into a relationship. Interesting!

  8. Jean says:

    LOL! I met my dh at a charismatic conference many years ago. Church activities are the best place to meet a mate, although I have heard many good things about Catholic online groups like Ave Maria.

    Jackie,

    I have something special for you here http://catholicfire.blogspot.com/2008/11/butterfly-award.html

  9. berenike says:

    You wanna see a couple who met online?

    benedictambrose.wordpress.com

    stillseraphic.blogspot.com

    🙂

  10. Argent says:

    So did she file divorce on the grounds of cyber–infidelity?

  11. mum6kids says:

    Deb-my friend was part of an online chat thing that was for dating. Not sure of the details. They met up with the usual caution of public place and with friends and took it from there.
    So far it is going well.

  12. ukok says:

    berenike, now that is Gooooooooood!

    Argent, i guess that would be what she is filing for because as far as the news story goes it doesn’t say her hubbie actually ever met with the woman whos character her hubbies character had ‘avatar sex’ with….what a mouth full that was! LOL!

    Mum6kids,

    I’m glad they are doing ok. I was a member of Ave Maria a few years ago. It wasn;t a great experience. Most of the guys are in America and the only ones that took an interest in me seemed to be pervy or dependant on drugs of some kind LOL!!!! i am not kidding. I got proposed to by one guy in his first email to me…another guy and me emailed for one another for about 3 months solid and then i found out he was addicted to prescription drugs and used to grow drugs in his kitchen. Another guy, who frankly, if his picture was anything to go by , was overtly cowboy-gay, told me he liked the picture of me wearing suede boots and that he thought they were kinky.

    I really did feel at the time that God was calling me to open myself uo to meeting someone but what i have since realised is that was all he was calling me to…to be open to the possibility. I’ve spent so long single that i really quite enjoy my own company and i think he was asking me to not be so darned selfish!

  13. epiclesis says:

    Crazier one for you. I have a co-worker… whose sister got married to a guy she had met online, they were together for a year. He accused her of an online affair. Two days later he shot and killed her.

    yeah… now that’s scary.

    On the other hand, I have a co-worker who is from Argentina, and met her husband online, they got married almost 6 years ago and have a one year old daughter together and are a great couple.

    I met my boyfriend online 7 years ago…. Been together almost a year. =)

  14. ukok says:

    epiclesis,

    oh my, what a terrible thing to happen to your co-worker’s sister. congrats on your relationship. Hope everything works out for you both.

    I think there is more chance of meetings strange people in everyday life than online. I met and married nightmare marriage material and i can’t blame the internet for hooking us up! Nice to see you here 😉

  15. marie says:

    i so agree with the person above, i have met and married nightmare material and cant blame the internet…so many things are down to luck…i laugh when people say, but people lie on the net, but you can meet many liars in every situation and i think face to face, liars are even more common, nowadays!x

  16. ukok says:

    marie, thanks for the comment, that was me who made the comment above yours, i am the author of this blog, so i am especially pleased that you agree with me!

Leave a Reply

