Seasons Shopping…

I thought i had Christmas all planned out, but apparantly 6 rolls of mega metre gift wrap just weren’t enough, and neither were the three rolls of sellotape. A quick dash to the shops became a 3 hour marathon as i wheezed my way to make what i thought at the time, were last minute purchases (ha ha ha).

oh, those single last nerves….last weekend we went to the supermarket, parked the car and did our shopping no problem but when we got back to the car we discovered a minivan had parked so close to our car that it left  (me = the driver) precisely four inches of space between it and my car in which to manoevre myself into the driving seat….the owner of the vanhad also kindly left his rabid, ferocious mongrel in his van, which slobbered all over the van windows as it snarled and bared its gnashers to me as i tried to breath in enough to  squadge my ample flesh between both vehicles….i narrowly missed getting wedged between his van and my car and i recall having a scene involving the firebrigade, a chainsaw and the local newspaper photographer flash through my mind before at last I managed to retreat to safety.

In something of a rage i collared a supermarket trolly worker who had the following sign eblazoned on his tabard ‘Assistant – ask for help’….i informed him of my predicament and he shook his head gravely and told me i would have to go back into the packed store, queue up for possibly an hour in the customer service queue and then ask for the vehicles owner to come and move his van, over the supermarket microphone….the unhelpful assistant then sauntered off. Mega helpful, not.

Irate and befuddled i scribbled a hasty note of ingratitude on a notepad i had in my bag and stuck said note beneath the  wiper of offending vehicle and proceeded to enter my own car from the passenger side…which is no mean feat for someone of my generous proportions.

Forunately when i found myself hovering precariously over the handbrake with one leg up on the dashboard, one butt cheek on the drivers seat and wheezing like i smoke 50 fags a day, i eventually saw the funny side…well it was either that or dissolving in a puddle of tears…

Oh the joys of supermarket shopping at Christmas time!

Well today i arrived home after another frenzied trip to the supermarket, only to find on my doormat, amongst Christmas Cards from around the world (thankyou my friends, you know who you are) a lovely surprise indeed…3 copies of Magnificat magazine. One for December, one for Christmas and also a January issue. I am thrilled and delighted to have received them, but i don’t have a clue to whom thanks is owed as i don’t know who gifted them to me!

dsc_1506

Whoever you are, if you are my kind and generous (anonymous) benefactor, please know that  you have my heartfelt thanks….and please don’t hesitate to let me know who you are. God Bless you and keep you and make his face to shine upon you all the days of your life.

This entry was posted in Home & Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Seasons Shopping…

  1. Owen says:

    I avoid it all as much as possible. I become even more interior at this time of year. Peace be with you, in you and through you toward others and may it also be so with me.

  2. Pia says:

    Me, too, Owen. My husband and I had to brave it tonight but we managed ok. The only problem is that we only did food shopping, no gift shopping.. So I still have to do that..

    As far as parking is concerned, Deb, I remember a couple of years ago I was about to enter a parking space, when a guy in a little sports car whizzed into it. I was furious, especially because he laughed at me! I’d parked there because I wanted to go to confession in the church near that piazza. So…I ended up having to confess my fury over what had happened, lol!

  3. Rita says:

    I’ve got it all to do tomorrow. I’m hopeless at planning anything and have to leave it to the last minute….

    Love to you all, I’ll be thinking of you as we drive past your part of the world up the M6 to Bolton on Christmas day.

    God Bless

  4. Adrienne says:

    That was a hysterically funny story. Thanks for turning your misfortune into joy for others!

    How come you’re not updating Facebook?

  5. Suzanne says:

    Maybe Alexa sent the books. Hmmm.. 🙂

  6. ukok says:

    Bless you all!

    Adrienne, i am not happy that Facebook won’t allow me to access the old facebook format and i don;t find the new version very user friendly 😦

    Suz, maybe…but i did just receive a lovely card from Alexa and also a novena booklet so i don’t think so.

    Love to all!

  7. Suzanne says:

    Don’t you just love the novena book? I love mine!
    Well, I don’t know then…I s’pose someone will eventually let you know. 🙂

  8. Sarah says:

    Thanks for the belly-laugh! I would have completely lost it and then laughed me arse off at my being so mad. There are worse things, yeah? And, then I’d be ashamed ‘cos Jesus did not respond at all to that kind of thing. We must look quite mad to Him, yeah? :_)

    Geesh, if you’d like another card from Yankland, I’d love to send you one. 🙂 You can email me your address at oldhamdj@comcast.net . I’ll make one special for you.

    I love the Magnificat issues. I make daily prayer with them. The covers are always gorgeous and then there is the commentaries/essays, and, finally, I like the art lesson in the back. I did not send them, obviously, but I do pray you get the most out of them.

    MERRY CHRISTMAS & Peaceful New Year.

    Hugs,
    Sarah

Leave a Reply

