Simple Living – A New beginning

I want to take this opportunity to wish you all a happy and holy 2009.

Though i may be challenged by life in 2009, i have to say that i’m more than happy in some ways, to see the back of 2008 and to embrace new beginnings.

This year i won’t be making any new years resolutions, but i am going to be making some ‘new life’ resolutions.

One way i hope to change my life is in the way that i utilise my time.

Time  is an important factor to be aware of. We’re so often looking at our watches or clocks aren’t we? Rushing around from one place or appointment to another place or appointment… or doing the school run and then going off to college, working in the home, working outside the home or working in a voluntary capacity.And that’s before we get started on the cooking, the cleaning, the grocery shopping, the washing and ironing etc.  So much to do, so little time…or so it seems.

And yet ironically,  time seems to catch up with me all of a sudden and  it  dawns on me that i am not being a good steward of my time and whole weeks and months can pass me by and leave me feeling regret that i never truly embraced what or whom, was important to me, but just trundled along filling my time or wasting my time but often  never appreciating that there isn’t an infinate amount of it.

Another way in which i hope to make a new life resolution is in living a less cluttered life. I don’t know about you but there is all sorts of clutter in my life, in my home, in my car, in my relationships, in my head etc.

Small baby steps are all i’m taking, but i believe  it is better to take small steps in the right direction than leaps and bounds in the wrong direction.

I want to live a more simplified life and the new direction i want to take the blog isn’t in any way intending to diminish family posts or faith based posts, but it’s something i want to incorporate into the blog because its important to me to have somewhere to share my ideas and other information. I did think about starting up another blog but every time i’ve done that in the past i’ve found i’d bitten off far more than i could chew. Regular blogging on one blog for years and years is a demanding and difficult enough thing to do, let alone someone as undisciplined as me trying to spread my ample self too thinly.

Anyway, who knows, you might find such posts on caring for the home, economising, recipes etc helpful or interesting and you might want to contribute a comment here and there and share your thoughts or your own ideas and ways of doing things and it’s easier for me to post here than elsewhere. Alternatively you might find the whole thing thoroughly boring in which case you always have the option of discontinuing reading, of course. But either way, I have a whole catalogue of short draft posts i have already begun writing, to share with you over the coming weeks and months so i sure hope you’ll stick around.

I have a long way to go before my life is as simplified a life as i would like it to be, but I want to live a life of caring about what really matters, not caring about what truly doesn’t or shouldn’t matter to me…so here is where i say enough is enough. So stop the clutter/worry bus, because i want to get off …

This entry was posted in Faith Matters, Frugality, Home & Family, Inspiration, Just for fun, Simply Living, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Simple Living – A New beginning

  1. Owen says:

    Hello Deb. God bless you. Do what you need to do and post what you like. I and others will be here 🙂

    One of the gifts I gave myself is the gift of blogging without obligation. And, while my faith/religious/Catholic blog lives on my main focus will be my art and my art blog.

  2. Sarah says:

    I’m looking forward to whatever you offer here. You have a gift – share it. Cheers to the new year!!

  3. Adrienne says:

    Your life resolutions could be mine. Those are my goals, too. Right down to and including the idea of starting another blog (which I quickly dismissed)

    Happy New Year. You are a blessing to the world!

  4. God bless you in the New Year. I look forward to reading your writings on “whatever” subject!

  5. Rita says:

    Very best wishes for 2009, I too am glad to see the back of 2008, though I do feel this year will be a toughie for me.

    I love your blog, whatever you’re writing about it is always gently inspirational because you have a lovely way of cutting through the cr*p.

    God Bless.

  6. mimima says:

    This sounds fabulous! Yay!

  7. SabrinaT says:

    What great goals! I enjoy reading your blog, can’t wait to see what else you post..

  8. Cathy says:

    Seems to me that you have taken some serious time to reflect and you have a wonderful betinnine! Holy New Year to You!!!

  9. Karen says:

    Hi Deb, Happy New year to you and yours. Yes, by all means I think we can all use some sharing of tips on how to simplify and uncomplicate life. As far as the housework chores go Fly Lady has an excellent site for how keep the household running smoothly. Also in the last two years Imade a lot of progress getting rid of excessive paper. You know, bank statements and the like. Do I really NEED stuff from 1995? I think not. As for closets, if you haven’t worn something in the last year, consider throwing out or donating, depending on condition. If you have use of a scanner, that’s great, because then you can scan in bits of paper you do need and then ditch, depending what it is.

  10. Luisa from Peru says:

    A Holy and Happy Feast of the Epiphany!
    I invite you to listen a special episode dedicated to the Feast of the Epiphany of the Lord.
    32 minutes of Christmas carols in many languages, something about Russian Christmas also celebrated during this week, a meditation by Father Roberto Mena, some traditions about this feast and much more…
    Jesus loves you and Mary too.
    Luisa from Lima – Peru
    You can listen to it in: http://levantateysalacaminar.podomatic.com
    “God is shining forth in the most unwanted and unsuspected places…” St. Anthony Messenger

  11. John says:

    Happy New Year to you also … I’ll retain your intentions (in particular for the uncluttering of your life!) on my prayer list. Please pray for me as I am in great need of prayerful assistance at this time.

    John

  12. ukok says:

    Glad you are all okay with the change in direction folks!

    Owen, hope you are recovering well after your operation,

    John, your intentions will be remebered in my prayers,

    Karen, brill ideas, especially about the clothes!

    Thanks all, i’m off to put up post 2 now!

  13. Adrienne says:

    I love it! That is the direction I am heading in right now so we can share tips. My bible is Peter Walsh’s “It’s All Too Much”.

  14. Gabrielle says:

    Happy New Year, ukok! I’m with you on the time-thing. One of the ways I’ve been trying to change/simplify things is to have a more consistent routine at home and get things accomplished more methodically. I’m coming to understand over the last few months that this really reduces stress, creates more calm in me, and makes me feel like I’m flowing more with how the Lord would like my day to go. All the best to you in your simplifying!

  15. ukok says:

    It is so encouraging to me that so many of my dearest readers will not be put off visiting because of the new direction the blog will be taking! I just feel that this is something i have to do for financial and wellbeing reasons. Thank you all so so much for your support.

  16. Hi – have just stumbled across your site and am looking forward to reading all your tips about living a ‘simple life’. This is also one of my ‘new life resolutions’! I can’t wait to check out your recipes!
    God bless,
    Rochelle

    • ukok says:

      Buzzy, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a comment, i’m really pleased you are enjoying this blog, and i hope to write lots more frugal posts so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

