Simple Living – The Sealed Jar Challenge

I know it’s probably something that most people don’t want to think about when it was only 1 month ago that we were all singing carols around the tree, indulging in delicious food and drink and perhaps opening up a gift or two from the special people in our lives….but I really want to post this post because it might help others.

Like a lot of people, I am becoming increasingly aware of how dire my financial situation is and most of the time i feel like i am treading water and trying furiously to not get dragged under the moneyless mire. Being in a precarious position though, means that is more imperitive than ever to stare my financial state in the face and to not ignore what is happening.

So while it seems a long way of, I can’t wait until December 09 to start thinking about Christmas… i am going to have to start thinking about it NOW!

One method of preparing for Christmas 09 that really appeals to me  is to use a recepticle of some sort to save money in…but the problem with me is that if times get lean i will just lift the lid and remove any cash i had managed to save up.

So i thought about it for a while and decided that I would invest in a sealed jar. Now i know that no recepticle is really ukok-proof, but i think knowing the recepticle is sealed and also knowing i would have to go to an enormous amount of trouble to open a sealed jar, would, i think, prevent me dipping into it.

So I did a search and I  found this one online.

It looks good and it could work well…but when I thought about it, it didn’t seem to make any sense to purchase something especially to do the job, when with a bit of thought, i could probably make something myself, albeit without a counter.

So here is what i came up with.

If you are interested in making one yourself just follow the steps below :

The step by step guide to making a Sealed Money Jar

Step 1

Take one lidded jar, tub or alternative recepticle.

dsc_1630

I used an empty Quality Street container, dual purpose you see…enjoy the choccies first and then  hide the evidence! put the container to good use afterwards.

dsc_1631

Step 2

Take one craft knife (always get adult supervision if you are a minor)

dsc_1632

and use it to make a slot in the lid of the recepticle.

dsc_1636

Don’t worry if you botch it up, like i did in the picture above –  it’s going to be smoothed over with glue and paper shortly.

Step 3

Take one piece of newspaper or a brown paper bag or whatever you have to hand. I found this in my daughters room and decided to recycle it.

dsc_1637

Step 4

Get hold of a tube of PVA glue.

dsc_1638

Step 5

Dig out a brush you don’t mind gunking up with glue.

dsc_1639

Step 6

Tear your paper into small maneagable strips and begin to glue them on. Think papier mache, the more glue applied, the better.

dsc_1641

Step 7

Continue cutting, gluing and pasting until the lid is completely covered.

dsc_1647

Step 8

Now it’s time to get really messy. Place your lid back on the recepticle and start gluing the whole thing. Glue over the edge where the lid meets the lower part of the recepticle as you will be pasting and papering over this part so you won’t be able to access it!

dsc_1649

Step 9

Continue pasting paper all over the recepticle until you end up with something like this :

thing

Admittedly, it all looks rather mucky at this penultimate stage, but you’re almost done now and the glue will dry overnight and like all things, will look better in the morning.

Step 10

All that’s needed the following day is a quick tidy up of any looses edges or overhanging paper and then voila, you have created your Sealed Money Jar!

money-saving-jar


This is my finished sealed money jar  and i intend not to open it until December 09. I’m doing mine for Christmas, but the same principle could be applied to save for holidays, meals out, anything really. If you make one i’d love to know about it, so let me know in the combox!

This entry was posted in Frugality, Simply Living, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Simple Living – The Sealed Jar Challenge

  1. antonia says:

    sweet idea!

  2. mum6kids says:

    Ah Deb! I have a jar in a kitchen cupboard for “kitchen equipment” and another one for “homeschool emergency”.
    I’m trying to scrape the money together at the moment for seeds to grow veg this year.
    I was determined to start the Christmas shopping now-one thing per month. Haven’t done it though. I really want those seeds.
    My biggest fear at the moment is I have nothing left for the next chiropractor set of appts.
    Trusting God-we’ll see.

  3. Adrienne says:

    OK – that is seriously cute. I’m impressed. Believe it or not (alerting all robbers) we use a sugar jar. It’s a pretty little antique one …. Not too original, huh?

  4. Thanks for the inspiration! I’m going to find a container and make myself a “sealed jar.” I like mum6kids’ idea of having jars for a few special items.

  5. ukok says:

    Shell, i’ve been thinking about growing veggies too, but i would have to do it in raised beds or in tubs or something, the small garden i have is riddled with ants and when i tried to grow things in the soil they just get covered with the little blighters. Makes me shudder just thinking about it. I do hope you manage to get your seeds 🙂

  6. Gabrielle says:

    This is a great idea for saving, and fun to do, too! You know what it made me think of, ukok? I don’t know if you ever saw A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, or read the book, but the mom had a sealed money jar which they kept under a floor board in the closet… It’s a good idea to seal it, really; I put all my change in an old mug, but as you say, it’s too easily available when you need something you didn’t plan for properly.

  7. Melanie says:

    What a wonderful idea. We use mason jars. but they’re easily opened. I like the idea of sealing it – kinda like the old fashioned piggy banks that had to be broken before the money would come out. I loved seeing your jar – thanks so much for including the step by step!

  8. Rosemary says:

    This looks like a serious saving effort. Good for you and thanks for sharing.

  9. Scotty says:

    Excellent idea lass! Think I may have a similar jar in a cupboard…….

  10. ukok says:

    I’m so pleased you all enjoyed this post. You know, in these difficult days we have to be good stewards of our finances…even doing something as seemingly insignificant as this can really help to buy the Christmas food/pressies by the end of the year. I will post the grand sealed jar opening ceremony in December!

Leave a Reply

