Learning to play Chess

I thought i would share that i am learning how to play chess.

I have always been totally baffled by  who checks whom and the stalemates and checkmates and the passe something or other‘s and even just reaching a playable level of understanding as to  how the chess pieces move ….let alone in relation to my opponents pieces, gives me a secondary headache.

dsc_1494

Then a little while back, though i can’t even remember there being a reason for thinking about it,  i suddenly decided that  I would like to learn to play chess.

dsc_1496

I found a great site to practice on, but after a fair few weeks of practice i am still unable to beat the chess computers baby level. Gah!

What my head can’t grasp is that though women are generally incredibly good at multitasking, this woman can not keep her eyes on every one of her opponants pieces and decide where she is going to move her own piece …..and all the while endeavouring to protect my Queen and keep my King out of check.

I appreciate that skills such as these are those that increase with playing Chess more often, but it is extremely flipping frustrating that i am so easily defeated.

dsc_14752

Having said that, it hasn’t all been bad.

Wonderboy got very excited when he spotted me attempting to play online chess and he quickly scurried off to find his Lord of the Rings Chess Set which hadn’t seen the light of day since at least three Christmas’ ago.

Of course, I had just come to grips with how virtual chess pieces move and was feeling rather cocky confident….but then Wonderboy lifted the lid off the chess box and placed the pieces on the board… and ….well…how on earth am I supposed to remember that Gandalf is a Bishop and  that Smeagol is a Knight and that the Queen of my arch rival is disguised as a Ringwraith?  Oh i know they have tenny weeny icons on their bases but i can hardly see them, and i certainly can’t make them out on the dark chess pieces.

dsc_14621

Fortunately, Wonderboy hadn’t played in such a long time that he had forgotten a few moves himself and was almost as unsure as i was about *check*, *check mate*, *stale mate* and such red tapery stuff as that…but the best bit of all ?

I beat him!

Being that species known as ‘teenager’,  Wonderboy grunted an incomprehensible  string of words, then gave me  his most hormone laden ‘teenboy glower‘.

He is such a sore loser!

Sweet!

This entry was posted in Home & Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Learning to play Chess

  1. Mac McLernon says:

    Ukok, I’ve given you a Lovey Award

  2. Adrienne says:

    Chess is fun. I was never very good and it really threw off my better player friends. They were always trying to figure out my “strategy” until they realized I didn’t have one.

  3. antonia says:

    lol!

    during my 7 weeks in hospital Chris brought in his chess set…i think we played it once…I lost!

    xx

  4. Barbara says:

    Good for you..

    I could never get the hang of it myself – I stuck to draughts…..

    Siân used to play for the school and did a few competitions and Owen isn’t bad but…………………….

  5. Rosemary says:

    I find chess very challenging too. Trying to imagine where each piece might move next I find really tedious. I think the only person I have ever beaten is Liz (and she’s only 12). Still, if the teens want to play it’s a great way to keep engaged with them. You know?

  6. ukok says:

    Thanks Mac!

    Adrienne, i have no strategies whatsoever, and if i did, i would never remember it. LOL!

    Antonia, what a game to play in hospital….it could take me 7 weeks to finish a game!

    Barbara, i really enjoy playing draughts much more than i enjoy playing chess.

    Rosemary, it is a great game to play with the kids….only trouble is, Wonderboy won’t play it with me anymore because i am getting too good!

  7. Karen says:

    As to strategy, you get better by playing people. I learned at about 9 or so, and we played in the library at school quite a bit.

    You have to get whupped by people better than you, and after a few thousand games, you start to get the hang of it. ;-D [It’s not that bad really, you just need to learn opening combos, end games, and WHY you don’t do certain things.

    I.e. do a few conventional opening moves, then do something off thewall…then you find out “oh, that’s why you don’t do that….”

    I can remember learning a lot about using the knight to great advantage by a girl my own age who was a master of forking pieces. Just slayed me to ribbons. I can beat the computer on an intermediate setting, usually, but onlly sometimes on the more advanced settings.

    When I was 15 or so, I’d gotten a book of some of Bobby Fischer’s more famous chess matches. (At the time anyway, I think this was before he had those Spasky matches, or right around that time.) I learned a lot from duplicating the moves they made.

  8. ukok says:

    I shall have to look into extending my opening moves, Karen, as at present they are pretty much the same mves over and over!

    Problem for me is remembering to do it different the next time i play. Oh if only you lived closer, you could show me some great chess moves 🙂

  9. Suzanne says:

    Danny is extremely good at chess, but he hasn’t played for awhile. I sure wish Shane would play with him. I would have to sit around years ago when he and his brother would sometimes sit at the end of a two hour game staring at one another and the board to see who would “give in” first so that SOMEONE would win! They were both very good, in fact.
    I admire you…I get totally lost in it. It is a good game for people to play.

Leave a Reply

