Indelectables in the kitchen

Because i have no pride, I thought I would share  with you the baking disaster that took place in my kitchen today.

It would seem that I just went one (or three) deviation(s) too far with this banana and walnut cake. I’m so aggrieved at the waste of  ingredients.

dsc_1815

After eons in the oven, the inside of the cake is still a gooey batter….while the outside is burnt to a crisp (though i did cover it with tin foil after the first half hour of cooking).

I did think the birds might appreciate it since there is so much snow on the ground and they have so little available food…but then i thought… ‘what if their beaks get stuck in the goo and i end up with hundreds of birds carking it in my back garden….i could be prosecuted by the RSPCA or the RSPB …and end up being written about in a national newspaper…’

No. Can’t have that. There is only one place for it.

dsc_1814

I hate it when a plan doesn’t come together.

This entry was posted in Home & Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Indelectables in the kitchen

  1. Cathy says:

    My “delicacies” seldom look like the picture…most of the time they taste okay. But I know how you feel!

  2. barbszy says:

    That’s a shame.
    In my house, I call kitchen disasters “visits from the Bad Dinner Fairy” (or in this case, Bad Dessert Fairy.) Makes it a little something to laugh about, anyway.
    Better luck next time on the banana bread. Are you going to tell us what you did, so we aren’t doomed to repeat that mistake?

  3. Rita says:

    Hmm, There are three culinary delicacies that will not work for me; making bread, making rice pudding from scratch and any cake that involves banana. I therefore sympathise with you, though am still a little envious of your bread making prowess ;-))

    I think bananas are just too soggy to go into a cake and prevent it cooking properly. Can anybody make banana bread that is not burnt on the outside and raw in the middle?

  4. Karen says:

    You show me a person who’s never made a mistake, and I’ll show you someone who’s never made anything!

  5. Melanie says:

    I love how you “keep it real!” I’ve had my share of kitchen disasters, so I understand your disappointment of having to throw it in the bin ;(

  6. Scotty says:

    Rita…. errr yes!! One of my family favourites. I can give you the recipe if you like. Mine only tends to burn if I use the fan oven option. If I switch off the fan it cooks just fine.

    xxx

  7. Rosemary says:

    I’m sorry. I know how you feel but I’m still laughing. There would never be any creative successes if we didn’t take some risks, right? Such is creativity. Next time will be better.

  8. Suzanne says:

    Huh? Wow! THAT looks like my boiled potato pan after I forgot I was boilin potatoes WHILST I was bloggin at times! LOL! It also looks like the bottom of my spaghetti sauce pan if I put that tid bit of sugar in and forget to turn it down to simmer…once again because I was probably bloggin!
    Anyways…do tell what happened! We are all sittin on the edge of our bloggin chairs while something in the kitchen is burning! ROFL!
    ;0!!!

  9. Rita says:

    Scotty,

    Yup I’ll have that recipe, I love the taste of banana bread! However, I’m not sure I can turn the fan off on our oven. Who invented the fan oven? Sure wasn’t anyone who cooks a Sunday dinner.

    My e-mail address is

    kuaimei[at]yahoo.com

  10. ukok says:

    I did a step by step photo post and was going to put it up as a post but when it turned out like this, well, i didn’t see the point. LOL! The ‘where’ of it going wrong is that i added far too many bananas and too much runny honey 😦

    I definately want to try this again, so Scotty, please do share your recipe with us all here in the com box!

  11. Suzanne says:

    OH! Okay! Yeah, I can see what happened now…so the goo weighed things down in a sense and it could not cook throughout too well in the middle. Hmmm…
    otherwise, the combo sounds yummy.

  12. Maggieclitheroe says:

    I am SO pleased, (that I’m not the only one who owns up to culinary disasters) LOL.

    Perfect nutty banana bread (2 lb loaf)

    3 oz butter
    6 oz caster sugar
    2 standard eggs
    10 oz mashed bananas
    2 oz roughly chopped walnuts
    8 oz plain flour
    3 level teaspoons baking powder
    1/2 teaspoon salt.

    Well-greased loaf tin.
    Bake @180 C,( gas 4, 350 F,) for 1 – 1 1/4 hrs.

    We used to have “cake-eating parties” when I was in 6th form, and this one was a never-fail recipe amongst my friends and me.. got it off the back of a Ffyfes banana bag!

    If you replace the sugar with honey, here’s a tip –
    As honey tastes ‘sweeter’ than sugar does, the general advice is to use one quantity of honey to replace one-and-one-quarter quantities of sugar… I’ll let you do the maths!!

    (You’ll also have to translate into those dreadful cup thingies if any American buddies want it!)

  13. scotty says:

    At work just now – but will put the recipe in when I get home.
    xxx

  14. ukok says:

    MC, that is a great recipe. I have some bananas ripening at the moment so i will definately have a go at your recipe. Thanks for posting it here!

    Scotty, i’d love to read your recipe too!

  15. ukok says:

    MC, i tried your recipe yesterday, i substituted choc chunks for walnuts as i had run out of the latter, and i also added one tbsp honey…it was delish, but neither of my children will eat bananas so i shared it with Mum and Dad and they really enjoyed it. Thanks again for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

