Where two or three gather…

Many bloggers give up blogging for their Lenten penance but it has been my way for a few years now, to continue to blog throughout Lent though  beginning each blogging day  by posting from the Morning Office.  I do hope that some of you, my dear friends, will participate in praying the morning prayer  with me, which i shall post here daily, throughout Lent. I pray that you will be very much blessed by doing so.

I generally pray the Morning Office on my return home from the school run at about 9am as i regret that i am not of the keenest disposition to pray on waking, sinner that i am…and it is good for me to have some quiet time and give my day over to God, without resenting the time i spend doing so.

So very often i neglect to begin my day by entrusting  to the care of the Lord, all that i am and all that i do. Sometimes the intent is there, more often it is not. But it is myself and consequently my family that suffer when starting each day on such an ill footing. I therefore embrace  Lent as an opportunity to draw nearer to God, to acknowledge my failings, to seek his forgiveness in the Sacrament of Confession, to participate in praying the Stations of the Cross both in my parish and at home, to make the effort to attend more weekday Masses and to generally give my spiritual life the kick up the butt that it needs.

Also, for a while now i have neglected to share creatively with you in ways that i know I could have, so i will try to include in my Lenten blogging, my photographs (though they have mostly been seen before) along with reflections and quotes, and if i am feeling especially brave maybe even a poem or two of mine, maybe even a song. In doing so my only hope and motivation is to Glorify the Lord. (so if it ain’t your cup of tea, i apologise, but hopefully God will enjoy it!).  Anyway, i’ll leave it here for now, hoping that you will find something in my Lenten postings which will be of some small benefit to you.

Have a much Blessed Lent!

This entry was posted in Faith Matters, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Where two or three gather…

  1. ukok says:

    p.s. i know that technically speaking 9am is the mid morning prayer of the D.O, known as Terce but i am putting the Morning Prayers up here for the benefit of my ‘morning’ blog readers who are early risers.

  2. Cathy says:

    My thanks for you dedication to bringing us together in prayer. God bless you!

  3. Sarah says:

    I will enjoy your posted prayers immensely. Blessed Lent for you.

    • ukok says:

      A much blessed Lent to you too, Sarah! I was just reading your post about your move to Hawaii in June (i think i got that right). How exciting!

  4. Suzanne says:

    Thank you, Deb. I plan to write some daily reflections too about either what I am praying and reading with or something in that way.
    God be with you and your family..I know exactly what you mean by not starting our day with the Lord and somehow expecting it to flow well with ourselves or our children! It doesn’t work, does it?
    🙂

    • ukok says:

      I look forward to reading your posts too – i’m so glad you started blogging again, you always write such pleasant posts that are enjoyable to read 🙂

  5. Mimi says:

    I love what you do during Lent, and appreciate it very much!

    • ukok says:

      Mimi, i am so glad! I look forward to reading your posts too, it is very interesting to me and i love that though we practice our faith differently, we can still really enjoy ‘sharing’ in this way.

      May you have a much blessed Lent, my friend!

  6. mum6kids says:

    I do Morning prayer with Universalis. Is that what you use?
    God bless for Lent

  7. ukok says:

    Hi Shell, universalis is just one of the resources i use. I have a hard copy of The Liturgy of the Hours on a CD Rom too.

    Have a much blessed Lent my friend!

  8. Thank you for sharing this beautiful prayer of the Church with your blog readers during Lent! I will join my prayers with yours.

    • ukok says:

      Barb,

      it is my pleasure to do so, and it is a discipline for myself too, because i am all too undisciplined and complacent. I need this, really need this, to start each day of Lent the right way. God Bless you and yours Barb!

Leave a Reply

