The Prodigal Daughter

This evening i was watching a short film and saw the following image. I have seen it before and it chokes me up every time. So often we read or hear about ‘the prodigal son’, but we don’t hear about or read about ‘the prodigal daughter’.

As a woman i know that the parable of  ‘the prodigal son’ represents man and woman,  but it never quite hit home until i first saw this image a few years ago, that the parable relates to me in a very clear, yet profoundly dramatic way…it is me who strays from God (by rejecting him, by my sin etc)…and it is He who watches for my return. All forgiving Father of mine.

I especially love the text at the bottom of the image…‘when he saw her from a long way off…he ran to her…

Just beautiful.

This entry was posted in Faith Matters, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Prodigal Daughter

  1. Rosemary says:

    Very nice. Touching.

  2. Mimi says:

    We read the parable of the Prodigal son at one of the four Pre-Lenten Sundays. It is such a parable of forgiveness and love.

  3. properlyscared says:

    very beautiful!

  4. thanks for sharing this. It has huge impact … may you begin to see yourself more and more as His beloved daughter … loved unconditionally … yet changed by His love

  5. Valerie says:

    This is especially poignant for me, given my set of circumstances. Thanks, Deb.

  6. Valerie says:

    P.S. – I just captured this image from Google and sent it on to my daughter with the note which said that it reminded me of her dad and her Heavenly Father, both of whom are waiting patiently for that day to come. I hope it blesses her. Love, Val

  7. ukok says:

    Lorna, you are vey kind, my friend. I am very thankful for your encouragement. I don;t know why, but it is always something i struggle with, thinking of myself as his beloved daughter. It actually feels quite challenging to think of myself in that way because I tend to think of myself as ‘a Christian’, without an identity i suppose…oh gosh, this is powerful indeed. God Bless you this Lent.

    Valerie, it certainly is poignant for you. I continue to pray for your daughter and you, her family. With the firm foundation of faith and family that you have given her, i sincerely believe that one day she will realise where she belongs and that the hurts will be healed by her return to you.

    Much love to you!

Leave a Reply

