Henri Nouwen Quote

When God makes a covenant with us, God says: “I will love you with an everlasting love. I will be faithful to you, even when you run away from me, reject me, or betray me.” In our society we don’t speak much about covenants; we speak about contracts. When we make a contract with a person, we say: “I will fulfill my part as long as you fulfill yours. When you don’t live up to your promises, I no longer have to live up to mine.” Contracts are often broken because the partners are unwilling or unable to be faithful to their terms.

But God didn’t make a contract with us; God made a covenant with us, and God wants our relationships with one another to reflect that covenant. That’s why marriage, friendship, life in community are all ways to give visibility to God’s faithfulness in our lives together.”

This entry was posted in Faith Matters, Inspiration, Just for fun, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Henri Nouwen Quote

  1. Sarah says:

    I’m enjoying the prayers each day. The papers are very lovely. I haven’t a colour copier/printer, though. Thanks for coming by and saying Holly’s cute. She is such a funny thing. I love when she comes in from the snow. She has it all over her nose.

  2. ukok says:

    I adore yorkies, mine is 11 years old now and she has such an incredible personailty. People who say animals are dumb don;t know what they are talking about!

    Sorry about the paper printing thing, but i’m going to be working on lots of monochromes too. They come in really handy to print off to wrap small gifts as well as for crafting 🙂

  3. Cathy says:

    The God of Covenants is a God of love and generosity. He is a personal caring God. Imagine how cold and uncaring he might appear if he were a God of contracts. It even sounds impersonal. Thank you for sharing this quote.

Leave a Reply

