Pray for those who offend you…

It’s all well and good trying to be good during Lent and we might even be rather good at it just so long as we don’t have to interact with or think about those people who we find it difficult to get along with, or frankly just don’t like…but if Lent is a season of self examination then not only are we to examine our relationship with God, but we also need to examine our relationships with our fellow man (and woman).

I found this prayer on Esther’s blog and thought I would share it here. I’m going to make an effort to pray this prayer throughout Lent, for all whom I have had any estrangement or difficulty with during the last 12 months.  I think it’s a endeavour that many of us could benefit from incorporating into our prayer lives,  and not just for Lent, but for always. What a challenge it is to wish good for those who hurt us, to pray for blessings upon those who misjudge us or slight us, and yet too, what a test of our Christian character.

Lord Jesus Christ,
you told us to love our neighbor.
I know that this does not mean that I must like everyone,
but simply that I must wish everyone well
and extend my help to all who need it.
I dislike N.
No mater what I try,
I cannot seem to get along with that person.
The only thing I can do is to ask
that you shower your blessings on him/her.

Let me recall that for our sake
you put up with the infinite weaknesses and imperfections
of the whole world.
Help me then not to be so antagonistic to that person,
but to try to bear with him/her
for your sake.
Amen.

– New Saint Joseph People’s Prayer Book,
Catholic Book Publishing Company

This entry was posted in Faith Matters, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pray for those who offend you…

  1. Cathy says:

    Thank you to you and Esther! Have a grand day!

Leave a Reply

