A prayer for forgiveness


my-beautiful-flowers

A prayer for forgiveness


I ask all whom I have hurt

to forgive my sins

and offences against them

and I beg pardon

…for the words that i have said

and for the words that I have failed to say

…for the things that I have done

and for the things that I have failed to do

…for the times when I have lacked charity

thinking ill of others of God’s children

while pridefully overlooking

those many failings of my own

…henceforth I pledge to pray

for all whom I have offended

and to make a concerted effort

…to look not upon the faults of others

but to look only upon my own

…and  I hereby humbly beg

the forgiveness of all

and prayers for my soul.

~ ukok




This entry was posted in Faith Matters, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A prayer for forgiveness

  1. Mimi says:

    As the Orthodox enter into Lent, we look at each of our fellow parishoners and say “Forgive me, my sister (or brother” and the response is “I forgive, as God forgives”

    I forgive, my sister. Forgive me.

  2. Becky says:

    What a beautiful poem. Forgiveness is something that I am striving to be better at also thanks to Kent Whitaker’s latest book “Murder by Family.” The book is about his journey to forgiving the man who killed his wife and youngest son (the murderer happened to be his eldest son). His forgiveness is a powerful example of the perfect love and forgiveness that God has for everybody.

  3. Owen says:

    Deb, I meant to ask you, did you write this prayer?

  4. ukok says:

    I did indeed my friend 🙂

    Hope you are well!

  5. ukok says:

    Mimi, my beloved friend, God forgives, so i forgive.

    Becky,

    Glad you like it. must have been the Holys Spirit working through me, i don;t let him very often LOL!

    Thanks for sharing with me the story about the family that suffered such horrific loss, i don’t think i have a big enough heart to forgive so much…please God i never have to be in that position!

  6. owenswain says:

    I wanted to be sure because with your permission I will post it on my blog with proper credit.

  7. ukok says:

    Course you can, chuck, i’d be honoured if you would 🙂

  8. owenswain says:

    I’m not sure who this chuck is but other than that consider it done in the next day or so. And thank’s so much. I prayed that prayer today by the way.

  9. Gabrielle says:

    I came over from the link at Chuck’s, ukok. 🙂 It is really a very beautiful, heartfelt prayer. Lovely that you shared it with us.

  10. Owen says:

    Look suszyQ my name is not chuck. I worked with chuck. He was the lead pastor at the last protestant gig I had. Like the guy in the song says, “I’m not you buddy, buddy…” and my name’s not chuck. Must be a UK thing.

  11. ukok says:

    LOL!!!!

    Owen my friend, ‘chuck’ is like saying ‘mate’ over here…and when locals say ‘mate’ over here it doesn’t involve sex, it’s just a friendly term of expression..

    “# (slang) Friend or close acquaintance.

    Are you alright, chuck?”

    http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/chuck

    …having said that,to ‘chuck up’ does mean ‘to vomit’, so you have my sincere apologies for reffering to you as chuck, chuck.

  12. ukok says:

    Still friends?

  13. Owen says:

    Deb, we are always friends. Always. As I say, I figured “chuck” was some kind of UK slang. I’d prefer my name or other non actual name term of endearment like mate (Australian) or kiddo (North American) or even deary. 🙂

  14. Pingback: For forgiveness « luminousmiseries

Leave a Reply

