Ex-Stat-ic (Edited Post)

Edit:  This post has been edited to answer a question in the combox about individual hits v page views (hence there is now a ‘Statcounter’ pic at the bottom of this post).

I have said many times over these almost 5 years of blogging, that it really isn’t about how many people visit, only that people do visit and that they enjoy it when they do so.

I still believe that is true, but having people visit encourages most bloggers to continue blogging, as does comment interaction and the friendship which so often ensues from it.

I’ve made some great friendo’s (which movie?) through blogging over the years and i am totally thrilled when you all stop by and leave comments or send emails or letters, or when you speak to me face to face about blog posts you enjoyed reading etc.

Well, not to beat around the bush, some of you may have been wondering why my statcounter has gone into overdrive in recent months, well believe me, i’m as surprised as the next person. But i guess it’s true what they say, that when you use your ‘gifts’ for good, good will come out of it.

It gives me such a buzz to know that so many people are visiting the blog and enjoying their time here. Last year i was just an itch away from pressing the ‘delete blog’ button. But i prayed and pondered about it for a while, encouraged to do so by real time friends/family and many blog friends, in the end i chose not to delete the blog afterall. But then, you know that, because you are reading this!

(It wouldn’t have been anything more than a knee jerk reaction anyway and so i am glad that i didn’t.)

Just like any blogger, there are periods of time when i either can’t think what to post about or just plain get fed up with blogging (it can be something of a love/hate thing)…. but i had a good hard think about what i could do to make my blogging experience more ‘fruitful’ and I came up with the idea of becoming ‘digitally creative’.

I didn’t really think anyone would be all that interested in my creations, but to my surprise the blog is now regularly read and is getting well over 1,000 page views each day, as you can see from the stats further down this post. Strangely my Bloglines and Google Reader subscriptions have not increased, so i am glad to have a means of knowing about the ‘popularity’ of my blog, through stats at least.

Now this whole post may sound like one big brag (whichever way i write this it’s going to sound like a bragfest, right?) but actually, it’s more a case of my being completely gobsmacked that so many people are interested in anything i do, say, write, create etc…and I just so wanted to share this good news with you all. Especially as yesterday my previous daily blog stats record was broken.

On the 26th March this year I had my highest stat count up to that point:

March Stats

And yesterday my stat count broke that record…

stats may

Wow!

So there is a reason for me to continue blogging? People do enjoy the blog afterall?

Affirmation.

I love it!

I always hope that even if people just pop in for a free blog banner or a scrapbook paper or something, that they might just get a little inquisitive about Christianity, if they are not already people of faith…and well, who knows?

It could happen, couldn’t it?

Anyway, I just wanted to say thanks so much for visiting and for all the positive feedback you give me (via the contact page on the blog, via email and via comments and also in person) and especially for the encouragement about my little blog endeavour to share the small gifts God has given me.

Thanks go out to all of you who make this thing called blogging, so very worthwhile.

God Bless you all!

p.s. i promise that the next time i post on stats will be when the blog stats reach 500,000, and not before!

p.p.s In response to Mac’s question in the combox, here is a pic of my stats for the last few days  – just to show the difference between individual hits and pageviews – using Statcounter.  WordPress only records pageviews (to my knowledge). Though it doesn’t record ones own visits to ones blog.

Statcounter (the long number you can see on the left hand side of the blog – by the search button) usually records quite a few less hits/pageviews. I don’t know why that is. I’ve checked my time settings and stuff but maybe i need to tweak the controls more?

stats

This entry was posted in Blogging & Internet, Faith Matters, Inspiration, Just to say..., Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ex-Stat-ic (Edited Post)

  1. so glad you didn’t hit that delete! I wouldn’t have had a chance to get to know you if you had.

  2. Sarah says:

    I’m glad you’re still blogging. I have recently begun to ponder whether I should continue or not and frankly, the one thing that keeps me from hitting delete is that I had done it with my first blog and I lost some really good posts and a nice diary for my kids/family. And, other than that, I have a move to make which will separate me from blogging for a time (month or more?) . . . Unless I get to a PC in between times, I will not blog from 20 May until end of July. Perhaps longer as we settle into a routine etc. So, I’ll not shut down.

    LOVE YOU and love your blog!

    • ukok says:

      Sarah, what will i do without your posts to read for a whole month? You’re like my American twin! How will i cope? You can’t go, that’s all there is to it. Tell your hubs that i’m sorry and everything but blogging is much more important….

      LOL!

  3. Mac McLernon says:

    Congratulations, Ukok. BTW, what is your daily hit count? (That’s not the same as page views!)

    • ukok says:

      Mac, that’s a great question. Unfortunately the WordPress statometer doesn’t show anything but page views so i have to use Statcounter.com.

      I was using WordPress readings for the stats in this post, but i will nip over to Statcounter now and take a screen view; the readings there are usually less, but it will give you an idea.

      I’ll edit this post so you can see more clearly the individual hits and page views.

      Thanks for commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

