Password Protected Posts

Wonderful WordPress have fathomed a way of allowing me to post on the blog so that posts of my choosing, can be made readable only to those whom i give a password to.

(each post would have a different password that i would email you each time i put a private post up on the blog)

Having this option in 2008 would have been a really good thing, but hey, we live and learn and we all find out who are friends are or aren’t eventually, don’t we?

Still.

I thought i would mention it here on the blog to give readers the opportunity to ‘opt in’ to this idea, or just to share your thoughts about it.

Obviously the not so great thing is that it kind of sets up a ‘they who have access’ and ‘they who do not have access’ way of blogging that might not make me very popular with some readers.

I don’t see any way around that.

I have learned from bitter experience that not everyone who reads my blog, is disposed to feel kindly toward me.

But i’m done with tiptoeing through egg shells all the time.

This isn’t to say that there is anything i especially want to bleurgh about, only that i have refrained from posting ‘personal’ posts for a long time now because i was aware that not everyone who reads my blog, gives a damn about me…and well, it’s like this…I don’t want to be sharing with people who ain’t caring.

Simples.

Let me know what you think.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Password Protected Posts

  1. i think they did have it last year. I’ve used it several times, though mostly on pages rather than posts.

    I think there is nothing at all wrong with limiting access to some things. They are your things and you have every right to set limits.

    I would not be offended if there were posts you excluded me from. I figure you’d have your reasons and that would be enough for me (you know, like maybe y’all would go on a Texas bashing binge… LOL, just kidding, I’m sure you would NEVER do that!) Likewise, I’d be pleased to get to know you even more if you were comfortable with that on any of the more personal posts.

    All these words to say, It’s your dang blog. Do what you will!

    • ukok says:

      Becomewhatyouare,

      wow! How come i only saw this in 09 ->

      Now i feel like a chump!

      Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts, i would NEVER diss Texans, wouldn’t enter my head to do so ๐Ÿ™‚

      FWIW i would be comfortable giving you the password, i have really appreciated your comments her and i look forward to getting to know you much better.

      I wonder if it would be easier for me to have a blog page that was pivate instead of individual posts? I would update the private page whenever i wanted to bleurgh!

      Thanks!

  2. Owen says:

    It’s a feature that’s been around for a while with WP. It was available in 2008 both for individual post and for an entire blog. I was using it then as you may recall ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s your blog and therefore your prerogative what you do and how ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m happy to continue to read whatever you feel you would like me to read. After four years…I’m still here.

    • ukok says:

      Owen, were you on WordPress.org then, because i never knew that facility was available with WordPress.com?

      In fact it only showed up for me, as a ‘new feature’ a couple of months ago.

      I knew i could make the whole blog password protecte but i never knew that about individual posts.

      I really am one major chump if it was there all along :-O

  3. Suzanne says:

    Its your blog and you blog anyway you want to,
    blog anyway you want to, blog anyway you want to…sounds like a song…nevermind..I’m in a silly mood. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Owen says:

    Deb, no WordPress.com the same as you are now. You’re not a chump. You’re a champ.

  5. Easter A. says:

    Sounds good, though a bit sad that others who don’t leave a message here will not be able to read your inspirations… will pray for your discernment. Hugs to you, Deb.

    • ukok says:

      Easter, don’t be concerned about missing any, as you so kindly cal them, ‘inspirations’. I’m just referring to very occassional posts – probably about my frustrations with mothering and stuff i don’t want the kids to see, and stuff like that…everything else will stay as it is.

      (((hugs to you for being so kind)))

  6. antonia says:

    Hi.

    I can definitly understand the desire to password protect posts; sometimes you want to say something, but you want to know who’s reading it(….that’s why my blog is password protected)

    I’d like the password to any posts, if I may.

    God Bless
    xxxx

    • ukok says:

      Antonia, i should get you to proof read my posts because you have just said in a few words what i was trying to convey in my many words – i want to know who is reading my posts, that is exactly right! And yes, most definately you would have access to such posts!

  7. Sarah says:

    Count me among the interested, if you should like me to be included. I am very much interested in basically, being a friend to you over the web – to encircle you with prayer.

  8. Aphra says:

    ah, I sent you something in Facebook because I couldn’t figure out how to comment here but now i realize if i chick on the individual post i can comment on that post! I spend too much time on blogger evidently.
    I have one blog that is my ‘main’ blog and is linked off our church website, etc. and one deeper one that I’ve only told a few friends about. My family doesn’t know. It’s not password protected but it only gets about 10 hits a week. People could find it through my facebook, but I’m sure most people aren’t interested ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope you figure out the set up that works best for you!

  9. It’s your blog, and your readers should respect your decisions regarding it!

    Hugs!

Leave a Reply

