Squashed Tomatoes and Stew and all that jazz….

pink paper girl at pontins!

As i get older, time seems to pass more quickly than ever it had previously. It really doesn’t seem like a whole year has passed since i last celebrated my birthday, but indeed it is.

There’s nothing quite like a birthday to make you face up to your own mortality….I wonder if anyone else wonders how many more birthdays they will have, or am i just perculiarly pessimistic?

Anyway, we won’t go the way of doom and gloom in this post because it’s my birthday today on this Monday the 1st of June and it is a day of thanksgiving  and celebration.

The above pic is a copy of a photo of me at Pontins aged ….hmmm i dunno…the reason i look so unhappy is that i had entered a Pontins competion to do a hula-hula dance on stage and poor Dad spent all day making this outfit out of pink crepe paper….i don’t think the fluffy slippers go to well with the outfit but i’ve never had much fashion sense….anyway, I was so nervous that by the time Dad had finished my outfit, that i had developed a serious case of stage fright.

I did manage to walk on stage i think, but then i rushed off into the ladies toilets….i had a stupid tweenie crush on another boy who was at Pontins, he was the older brother of my school friend who was also there. When i saw him in the audience i was so embarrassed i couldn’t go through with my hula hula dance!

There Mum, Dad….now you know the real reason why i chickened out!!! LOL!

It really was a lovely outfit, Dad, i think i definately get my creative streak from you  (and my culinary skills from you Mum 🙂

My commeiseration prize was a bar of chocolate covered honeycomb.

Whoopee.

Now, i also must mention that this is a double whammy birthday post because tomorrow (Tuesday the 2nd June) is my Dad’s birthday too 🙂

mum-and-dad-in-hong-kong-in-the-mid-1960s

Mum, Phil, Dad, aboard ship in Hong Kong in the mid 60's

I really have been blessed with a wonderfully loving and supportive family. Dad is as his birth name ‘Peter’ suggests…strong and dependable, supportive and unchanging, reliable and hard working…he is also a wonderful husband to my Mum, and by his example, living out in the Sacrament of Matrimony with my Mum, he shows me my own worth…that i am deserving, if God so wills it, of a husband who will be respectful, faithful, loving, understanding, dependable and all those other qualities aforementioned.

When i was playing fast and loose with my life, searching for love in all the wrong places, it never crossed my mind to look to the example set by my parents.

I thought they were outdated and incapable of understanding me…they were just parents…surely they had never been young and if they had been it was when dinosaurs had walked the earth… i on the other hand, was unique, and they couldn’t possibly get that we were whole solar systems apart from one another when it came to ‘getting me’ (I’m sure we all wished we were that far apart sometimes) … but as so oft we find, our wiser loved ones have indeed a wealth of experience behind them and would gladly offer their support and wisdom, if only we ‘children’ were interested in listening to them.

Still, better to learn late, than to learn never!

Happy Birthday Dad!

Love you lots X

p.s. Please also go and send your birthday wishes to Elena too – i couldn;t share my birthday with a nicer bloglady 🙂

p.p.s And Marilyn Monroe’s birthday is today, may she rest in peace.

This entry was posted in Faith Matters, Home & Family, Inspiration, Just to say..., Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Squashed Tomatoes and Stew and all that jazz….

  1. antonia says:

    aww! happy birthday to you both!!!!!!

    I totally agree; all too often in our youth we dont think our parents know anything, and we think we know better….alas, we realise with time how wrong we are!

    xxx

  2. Cathy says:

    Happiest of birthdays and God bless you both abundantly!

  3. mum says:

    happy birthday dearest deb, love the photo we remember it so well you were very sweet in your hula dress!!!!yes indeed your dad spent hours making it, all in a good cause. have a lovely day, looking forward to a birthday meal out tonight thank you for your kind words about your dad ,he is simply the best!!!! love you always God Bless mum dad xxxx

  4. Wish you and your dad a very happy birthday! May God bless you with many more.

    Enjoy that meal out.

  5. T.O. says:

    Happy birthday, Deb!

  6. Owen says:

    A blessed birthday to you dear one and may Christ rule and reign in your heart again this year.

  7. Mimi says:

    Happy Birthday, my lovely Blog friend! Many Years!

  8. Elena says:

    Happy birthday to my blogging twin across the sea!

  9. Therese says:

    I hope you have a great birthday Deb.

  10. Esther says:

    A very happy and blessed birthday to you and your dad, Deb!

  11. Alexa says:

    A Very Happy Birth Day to you dear Deb. You are adorable!

Leave a Reply

