I heart art.

I had forgotten how much i enjoyed painting with watercolours. I’m no artist, i’m strictly amateur, but that doesn’t matter. My love affair with watercolours began when i was about 19 or 20 years of age. I was going through a pretty rough period and was living away from home. I managed to scrape up enough money together to by a small set of watercolours and some watercolour papers. The most intriguing thing to me about painting then and now, is that i completely forget any worries or cares i may have, for the entire time i spend ‘playing’ with paper and paints.

I painted for the briefest period back then. I dare say, if i had continued to paint i may have found respite in many a turbulent time since… and what’s more, I may possibly have even developed some skill for painting.  However, I dabbled for only a short while. The reason being  that i have always been my toughest critic and tend to get disheartened very quickly when my inexperience and lack of talent and patience get the better of me. With painting it has the effect that all too often i  bin whatever i am ‘working on’,  reminding myself that i am no artist and that painting is something i simply don’t have a talent for. I tend to be of the opinion that one was either born with the gift or not, and that if not, then the chances of acquiring said skill are almost certainly minimal….but we aren’t all born knowing how to drive a car are we? We have to learn! Why should art be any different?

Anyway, about a month ago i noticed some watercolour books for sale at a ludicrously low price. The set of books should have been £38.00 and they were on sale for £6. I know. It’s amazing! I love a bargain.

My daughter had been asking me for ideas of what to buy me for my birthday and i asked her if she would purchase the books for my present. She said that was fine. So i now have the books  and i was flipping through them a couple of days ago and discovered that they awakened within me that old fond affection i had for painting.

I do have a lot to learn and i have to constantly resist the urge to bin everything i paint, but i think i just might continue with it. At least for a time.

As i said, i’m no artisit and i am very conscious of the fact that i know at least 4 or 5  ‘proper’ artists who read my blog from time to time, so i am cautious about posting this, my first watercolour painting (in years!), but i have really enjoyed creating it and wanted to share it with you.

I know there are things that could be tweaked or redone even, but i have this terrible tendency to mess up big time when i start fiddling with things, so while it looks okay i’m leaving it well alone!

DSC_2365

DSC_2366

This entry was posted in Art & Craft, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I heart art.

  1. Barbara says:

    Well to me – you are an artist – you have created a beatiful paining – a wonderful bit of art – that qualifies you in my eyes………………..x

  2. Owen says:

    1. YES!
    2. About this “As i said, i’m no artist” please read this http://onionboy.ca/blogofo/?p=1447 and consider leaving a comment – read what others have said there and
    3. Be ye encouraged and keep making art.
    4. Consider joining the Everyday Matters group on FB or Yahoo Groups.

    love you with a brotherly love

  3. Lesley says:

    Debbie

    I think that is a lovely painting. I would be proud to put that on my wall.

    Lesley

  4. Suzanne says:

    Debbie!!!! I love it! Yes, you ARE an artist!
    Remember, do not put down in any way any good gift the Lord God has blessed you with. I could in no way paint like that..no way. I should have known! 🙂

    • ukok says:

      Thank you so much Suz. You have helped me to see that no matter how i view the things i do, God has blessed me and i shouldn’t try to diminish this. Jolly well said!

  5. Alexa says:

    You have GOT to be kidding me! YOU ARE TOO an artist! And not only THAT, you are a GOOD artist! That is beautiful!!!!

    Damn good.

  6. Paul says:

    That is wonderful. Keep going. Keep painting.

Leave a Reply

