G.K Chesterton. What’s not to love?

My friend wrote a great blog post about Chesterton today. (Go read it!)

G.K. Chesterton is my kind of man.

For a start, he loved his food.

Second, he loved his woman.

3rd any man who knows and loves the Catholic Church is alright in my book. In fact, the more ardent his passion for God, the more appealing the man..in my humble opinion.

This evening i was reading Chesterton’s letter to Frances, before they were man and wife.  As i read it i just knew that i would have got on with him had we met.

… it doesn’t escape my notice that his wifes maiden name was ‘Blogg’.

Gosh darn it.

Blogg.

Blog.

Get it?

Got it?

Good.

In his letter to his Frances, Chesterton  wrote of a place where i myself spent many of my summers as a child, (in Ipswich and) Felixstowe, in Suffolk. I had no idea that I had quite literally walked in the great G.K Chesterton’s footsteps during so many of my summer holidays!

The great man wrote…

“When we set up a house, darling (honeysuckle porch, yew clipt hedge, bees, poetry and eight shillings a week), I think you will have to do the shopping. Particularly at Felixstowe.”

…and what woman wouldn’t fall for a man who wrote of his love for her in such a way as this…

… By all means let us have bad things in our dwelling and make them good things. I shall offer no objection to your having an occasional dragon to dinner, or a penitent Griffin to sleep in the spare bed. The image of you taking a sunday school of little Devils is pleasing. They will look up, first in savage wonder, then in vague respect; they will see the most glorious and noble lady that ever lived since their prince tempted Eve, with a halo of hair and great heavenly eyes that seem to make the good at the heart of things almost too terribly simple and naked for the sons of flesh: and as they gaze, their tails will drop off, and their wings will sprout: and they will become Angels in six lessons….

and oh, just excuse me while i swoon….y’see he wrote this of first seeing Frances…

“If I had anything to do with this girl I should go on my knees to her…”

A man who knows what he wants and who he wants.

G.K. Chesterton.

What’s not to love?

This entry was posted in Faith Matters, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to G.K Chesterton. What’s not to love?

  1. Sarah says:

    Loved this. You know, a friend of mine had a friend visiting Suffolk and she brought back a white glazed butter dish from Suffolk pottery. Nice! We have it here in our hotel room . . . I can’t wait to use it!

    G.K. was a tender soul, full of love and truth. It’s nice he shared so much of it with us as well as his wife.

  2. mum6kids says:

    what’s not to love indeed.
    I love the story of how he was somewhat late for his wedding because he had stopped off to buy a gun and ammo in order to protect his wife as a husband should.

    • ukok says:

      Crikey Shell, i never heard that story. I’m not pro gun but wow, that is actually romantic! In a non sentimental very practical kind of way!

  3. Ponte Sisto says:

    I like the new layout design as much as I like G.K.C.!

  4. stf says:

    Glad you are writing again!

  5. Pingback: RIP GKC « All Things Considered: The Best of GKC on the Web

Leave a Reply

