The Book Meme

agedbooks6-copyright-of-debbie-scalise-2008

This  meme was doing the rounds on blogs a while back and I liked it so much that i thought i’d have a crack at it here.

1. What author do you own the most books by? In no order of preference….Scott Hahn, JPII, Pope Benedict XVI, C.S. Lewis, Jane Austen, Henri Nouwen, Anne Rice, G.K. Chesterton and Thomas Merton.

2. What book do you own the most copies of? I have quite a few Bibles and i have a couple of copies of G.K Chesterton’s Orthodoxy – one copy fell apart within a matter of days and a copy was sent to me by Amazon as a good will gesture. I also have a couple of old copies of Wuthering heights. I will gladly give away one copy of the latter. Let me know in the combox if you want it. Why you would want it beats me. But you are more than welcome to it.

3. Did it bother you that both those questions ended with prepositions? I’d have to know what a preposition is, and since i don’t, this question bothers me more.

4. What fictional character(s) are you secretly in love with? Oh gosh, i hate being a so predictably and ‘hopelessly romantic’ about this, but there are three charaters that i am besotted with and they are… Mr Knightley (Emma), MrRochester (Jane Eyre) and Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy (Pride and Prejudice). Like i said, i’m predictable.

5. What book have you read the most times in your life? The Enchanted Wood by Enid Blighton and The Holy Bible, particularly the New Testament.

6. Favorite book as a ten year old? The Enchanted Wood and the Bunty Annual.

7. What is the worst book you’ve read in the past year? There are two. Wuthering Heights and Mansfield Park.

8. What is the best book you’ve read in the past year? To Kill a Mockingbird/Of Mice and Men/ Rebecca.

9. If you could force everyone you know to read one book, what would it be? I would strenously recommend everyone read the Holy Bible at least once in their lives, more specifically perhaps, The New Testament.

10. What book would you most like to see made into a movie? The Enchanted Wood, but it would have to be directed by someone like Chris Columbus or Tim Burton.

11. What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read? Mansfield Park.

12. What is your favorite book? There isn’t only one. Jane Austen’s books ‘Emma’, ‘Jane Eyre’ and ‘Pride and Prejudice’, Louisa May Alcott’s ‘Little Women’, The Catechism of the Catholic Church and Sacred Scripture.

13. What is your favorite play? That would have to be the school Christmas play that my son featured in when he was about 8 or 9 years old. I have it on dvd and watch it every Christmas. He isn’t seen for much of it, but i love it when he says his couple of lines. So sweet. The days before his voice broke and he developed a face full of fuzz.

14. Favourite poem? When I Am Dead My Dearest by Christina Rossetti…

When I am dead, my dearest,
Sing no sad songs for me;
Plant thou no roses at my head,
Nor shady cypress tree:
Be the green grass above me
With showers and dewdrops wet;
And if thou wilt, remember,
And if thou wilt, forget.


I shall not see the shadows,
I shall not feel the rain;
I shall not hear the nightingale
Sing on, as if in pain:
And dreaming through the twilight
That doth not rise nor set,
Haply I may remember,
And haply may forget.

15. Favourite essay? Something by Hillaire Belloc or G.K. Chesterton. Probably Chesterton’s letter to Frances Blogg before they were married.

16. Who is the most overrated writer alive today? Stephen Dawkins

17. What is your desert island book? Something like the ‘How to survive on a desert island’ book, if one should exist.

18. And . . . what are you reading right now? I’m currently reading a few different books. 1) a book about the life of St. Katharine Drexel 2) A book called ‘Reduce, Reuse, Recycle’ by Nicky Scott 3) The Jesus, Mary, Joseph Novena Manual that Alexa sent me a while back 4) The Emotional Cook  by Clare Mckeon. A sample page is this…Food for when you are feeling drained…has a quote atop the page which reads ‘Life is just one damned thing after another’ ~ Elbert Hubbard…there follows recipes for ‘Life-Saving Soup’ and ‘Creamy Dreamy Porrige’ a restorative food to fortify one to weather the ‘storms’ of life.

I don’t know if i will ever cook from this book but it is an enjoyable read.

One last quip…

‘Food for one in a jovial mood’….with the quote…’never keep up with the Joneses. Drag them down to your level – it’s cheaper’ ~ Quentin Crisp.

This entry was posted in Just for fun, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Book Meme

  1. Cathy says:

    This was very good and most enlightening!!! Thank you!! It was terrific!

  2. Sarah says:

    After teaching English Grammar to our kids the past four years, I know what a preposition is, so I laughed the most at that question! You shouldn’t end any sentences with “it” either, apparently. But, I don’t care. You shouldn’t care either. 🙂 I enjoyed reading this and my answers would be quite similar.

  3. NCSue says:

    1. What author do you own the most books by? St. Francis de Sales
    2. What book do you own the most copies of? The Bible
    3. Did it bother you that both those questions ended with prepositions? Heck no.
    4. What fictional character(s) are you secretly in love with? Peter Wimsey.
    5. What book have you read the most times in your life? The Lord of the Rings
    6. Favorite book as a ten year old? Nancy Drew mysteries
    7. What is the worst book you’ve read in the past year? I can’t remember – I quit after about 20 pages.
    8. What is the best book you’ve read in the past year? Come Be My Light
    9. If you could force everyone you know to read one book, what would it be? The Bible. Second… Introduction to the Devout Life.
    10. What book would you most like to see made into a movie? Stones for the River (Ursula Hegi)
    11. What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read? Numbers
    12. What is your favorite book? Come Be My Light
    13. What is your favorite play? My Fair Lady
    14. Favourite poem? (from e. e. cummings)

    i thank You God for most this amazing
    day:for the leaping greenly spirits of trees
    and a blue true dream of sky;and for everything
    which is natural which is infinite which is yes

    (i who have died am alive again today,
    and this is the sun’s birthday;this is the birth
    day of life and of love and wings:and of the gay
    great happening illimitably earth)

    how should tasting touching hearing seeing
    breathing any–lifted from the no
    of allnothing–human merely being
    doubt unimaginable You?

    (now the ears of my ears awake and
    now the eyes of my eyes are opened)
    15. Favourite essay? Jonathan Swift – A Modest Proposal
    16. Who is the most overrated writer alive today? Steven King
    17. What is your desert island book? If only 1 is allowed, how about the Bible – it contains history, poetry, wisdom, allegory… something for every mood.
    18. And . . . what are you reading right now? – Patricia Cornwell’s “Book of the Dead” – a murder mystery.

  4. Mimi says:

    Ooooh, I like this one! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

