The ’10 honest things about me’ meme

Sweet Therese gave me the ‘honest scrap’ award.

Honest_Scrap[1]

To keep this award, I must do the following:

1) Say thanks and give a link to the presenter of the award.
2) Share “ten honest things” about myself.
3) Present this award to 7 others whose blogs I find brilliant in content and/or design, or those who have encouraged me.
4) Tell those 7 people that they’ve been awarded HONEST SCRAP and inform them of these guidelines in receiving it.

Here are the 10 honest things about me:

1) If i ever came into some money, i would somehow stare down my fear of flying and go on the journey of a lifetime travelling to various destinations around the world.

2) It is hard for someone to get on the wrong side of me. I put up with a lot of crud before finally pulling the cord on friendships/relationships. But once it’s done, there is no going back for me. I don’t hold grudges and i do forgive…I just don’t forget.

3)I feel guilty about buying things for me. Maybe it’s because somewhere deep down inside me, i don’t think i am worth it.

4) My online interaction with folk might belie this truth, but the fact is i’m pretty underconfident and introverted…in fact, the chances are that around other people in real time i will almost always open my mouth and blurt our something wierd and spend the rest of the time i am around them, wishing i had kept my mouth shut.

5) For some reason I seem to attract wierd/strange/mentally challengedorunstablepsychopeople  into my life. I can’t say why that is.

6) I am as neurotic in my ‘blogging life’ as i am in real life. It bothers me, somewhat.

7) These are some of the things that make me happy: Clean sheets on the bed. The smell of a new book or magazine. Honesty. The smell of line dried laundry. My children. My dog.  Mountains. Horses. God. The smell of fresh cut grass. Holidays. Feeling inspired. Inspiring others. Expressing affecion. Art.  Being understood. Understanding others. Memories. My DSLR. A new pack of post-its. Pink nail polish. My new fineline 80% recycled pen. Sleeping in. Priests and Religious. Music. Food. Internet access. Mass. Blogging. Technology. Friendships. Beaches. Forests. Driving my car. God’s Creation. Confession. Movies.  Heart warming stories. Small children. Series. Pain medication. Sunshine. Icons. Pink things. Red things. Rome. My pantry. My laptop. Being creative. Trees. Being alone. Not being alone. A nice cup of tea. Kindness. overcoming sin. Holding babies. Being near the sea. Books. Being around like-minded people. Adoration….

8) I laugh a lot ….and i laugh at inapropriate times. I dread attending funerals for fear of hysteria getting  a hold of me. Seriously.

9) I’m my worst critic. No one can make me feel worse than i do about myself.

10) If i could raise my kids all over again there are a lot of things i would have done differently.

Now for 7 blogs to pass this onto: Well here’s where i break the rules. Just pick up this meme if you want to do it, and let me know in the combox 🙂

This entry was posted in Just for fun, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The ’10 honest things about me’ meme

  1. Cathy says:

    Enjoyed your 10…You’re right, it’s hard to see you as an introvert! God bless!!!

    • ukok says:

      I know Cathy! People have said that tome before, even when they meet me. I think its because i act very bravely even when i am intimidated by other people. I just make an ass of myself too often for my liking!

  2. Therese says:

    I think we would all change something about raising our children. Hind sight is a wonderful thing.

    • ukok says:

      Oh yes, Therese, i think that is true. I think one of the things i should have done was to pull m son out of school and have home educated him. There is no going back now as he has only two years of school remaining (he’s 14 in August).

  3. aphra says:

    I think I have a lot of the same 10 honest things as you. Except #10 as I’ve only started raising mine. If you have any advice about things to do differently, I would love to hear it!

    • ukok says:

      Aphra, I think every family is different, but the main thing i would have done is to take my son out of state school and educate him at home…i say this because he has been chronically bullied throughout primary and high school.

      Also, i would have been firmer with laying down guidelines and family rules. I have been quite lenient, but i think he has pushed down so many boundaries by naughty behaviour that he sometimes feels he can get away with it. Raising them on my own meant i had to be like a dual personality….mum and dad, tough cop, softie cop…i think it was very conflicting and gave the kids , mostly my son, mixed messages.

      Another biggie is that i should have just not cared about how overweight i was and just have done things with the kids like swimming etc…instead i always felt it was something i couldn;t do with my kids because i was so intimidated by others and i found it all pretty humiliating….but as a consequence my kids have never really embraced physical activity. Thats changing now, thankfully….not that i am going swimming, but my teens are now quite health conscious.

      I’m sure you are doing a grand job 🙂

  4. Sarah says:

    You’ve done splendid with this. I was given this award, too, but I haven’t put it up yet. I guess today is the day. I love your list. I hope that you do come into heaps of money – put me on your holiday list, yeah???

    • ukok says:

      Tell you something, if i ever had enough financial stability to do it, i would definately come visit you! I’d love to meet you in real life/real time, as i would love to meet other special friends i have made through blogging 🙂

  5. Mimi says:

    I love you and this list just proves why! You rock.

    • ukok says:

      You rock too Mimi! You’re one of my fave people i have ever had the good fortune to get to know since i started blogging! Seriously!

  6. antonia says:

    It’s never too late re: raising the kids. You can still do things now which will have a positive impact.

    (i know this to be true from my own family & my brother)

    xx

    • ukok says:

      I agree Antonia! I’d love to know more about your family’s experience with your brother, but i am thinking he probably reads your blog. LOL!

  7. Sarah says:

    I’m so lazy (one more honest thing about me) that I gave you this award whilst posting mine . . . so you’re already off the hook from my blog; but you know, I think highly of you and you deserve this award more than once!

  8. Fear of flying. See the articles on beating it at http://www.fearofflying.com/wordpress/

  9. Esther says:

    Wonderful list Deb. I really enjoyed your openness and sincerity as always.

  10. The Mazster says:

    lol’d at number 8…I’m exactly the same!

    • ukok says:

      Mazster, It’s crazy isn’t it! The last time it happened was during the Mass. I just wanted to shut myself up…. but it isn’t easy!

Leave a Reply

