These are the things that make me happy…note to prospective future husband

It doesn’t happen very often, but every once in a while all my meandering around charity shops really pays off. Recently I managed to purchase this staggering (and oh weren’t we just…poor daughter carried most of it!) collection from  Churchill’s discontinued Mille Fleur range.

Click to enlarge

Since the cheapest price i can find is £2.50 for 1 teacup and saucer on ebay….i think i did rather well getting the whole lot…including a generously sized teapot….for £19.50.

I haven’t had a matching dinner service for over a decade.

I’m chuffed to bits with it! And doubly happy that i got something nice out of contributing towards the Help the Aged Charity.

These are the things that make me happy.

Note to prospective future husband : I am a cheap date (but not a cheap date, if you get what i mean)…take me around Oxfam and Help the Aged for a few hours and i’m a happy happy happy bunny.

This entry was posted in Frugality, Home & Family, Simply Living, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to These are the things that make me happy…note to prospective future husband

  1. Sarah says:

    Lovely! I’m chuffed to bits for you!!!

  2. Cathy says:

    What beautiful set of china!!! What luck!!!

  3. I love the beautiful china, Deb.

    I’ll be right over for tea. Well, not hardly (across the ocean), but maybe in spirit. 🙂

    MM

    • ukok says:

      wouldn’t it be wonderful if we could share a pot of tea Margaret? I shall think of you the next time i make a pot and send you a virtual cuppa!

  4. Alexa says:

    I always feel left out when you people across the pond state how much you spend on things – I don’t know how much L19.50 translates to! So, I did a very pro-active thing, I did. I googled it and found out it is $32 US.
    AN EXCELLENT BUY!
    Congrats!
    Now. Save yer pennies or pences or whatever you call ’em over there and come here and we’ll go Thrift Shopping together!

    LOL
    Alexa

    • ukok says:

      I know what you mean about feeling left out cos everytime i see your wonderful posts about all your clothing bargains….i am a large size so there is a ‘slim’ chance of me ever finding clothing in my size in charity shops. In fact i think i found a top a couple of years ago when i was on holiday, and i haven’t seen anything since unfortunately.

      If i ever am in a position to i will most definately come and meet you!

  5. Mimi says:

    Good shopping!

  6. Barbara says:

    Great buy Deb – it is a beautiful range – I didn’t realise it was discontinued… do you remember the “Eternal Beau” pattern?

    I too am at my happiest when doing the rounds of the local Charity Shops – and now dear daughter is doing a volunteer shift at the local one on a Saturday she has the bug too!!

    • ukok says:

      Barbara, I only knew it was discontinued myself by going on the tableware website! The first glimpse i saw of this crockery i actually thought it was eternal beau. I had a friend who used to collect it and at the time (early 90’s) i thought it was a bit naff. Everyone had it on their Wedding present wish lists it seemed. But this looked so pretty in the shop, and such a comprehensive dinner set. Mum worked out that each piece, form the tea pot to a saucer, cost only 50 pence.

      What a great thing your daughter is doing, volunteering. It’s a fabulous community spirited thing to do 🙂

  7. antonia says:

    looks like a good deal!

  8. stf says:

    I love secondhand /charity shops too – mostly buy books though and read and release them via bookcrossing

    • ukok says:

      Lorna, i’m going to be doing a book crossing post soon. You really peaked my interest in it. I’ve pretty much done with Bookmooch as it was costing too much to send books, so i am going to be doing bookcrossing. Funnily enough, the last book i mooched on Bookmooch was a book crossing book, it has the label inside. I went on the bookcrossing site to log in that i now have it 🙂

  9. Therese says:

    that is so great. I would love to find a bargain like that.

Leave a Reply

