The Bono Speech

This youtube of  Bono’s speech is extremely rousing. Fast forward to 3.51 minutes and …just wow…what he  says and the passion with which he speaks is just …so right.

H/T to Wilsonian

Actually, only last night i was listening to the following U2 song while i was painting, so i thought i would include that here too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Bono Speech

  1. Melanie says:

    Oh, I’ve loved U2 for so long, but I am loving Bono even more these days. Have you heard “Magnificent”? He was inspired by the Magnificat prayer and had a great interview about it.

    • ukok says:

      Melanie, you and me both. I was into them from when my first serious boyfriend (thank the Lord it didn’t work out. LOL!) bought me a copy of The Joshua Tree. I think i was about 18 or so. Loooooooooooooooooooong time ago!

      I was listening to Magnificent only last week. An interview i watched last year featured Bono talking about his ‘faith’. I think he said that though he wasn’t a practising Catholic, he does have faith and believe in God. I think that is pretty evident in U2’s music.

      • Mimi says:

        I agree, while so many of U2’s songs are very religious (and I love them, especially 40) Magnificent is amazing. Like spine tingling amazing.

  2. Cathy in Chicago says:

    Ooooh, ooooh, I was at the concert the very next night, also at United Center. (The DVD they released was from the night before’s show.)
    It was AWE.SOME.

    During “City of Blinding Lights”, he sang “Oh, you look so beautiful tonight, in the city of CHICAGOOOOO.” Crowd went wild.
    It was the best concert I’ve ever been to. I was high for days.

    A lot of people think the opening of “Vertigo” (“Uno! Dos! Tres! Catorce!”) was a goof, but it actually means 1) The first half of the Bible – Old Testament) 2) Second Book – Exodus. 3.) Third chapter. 14.) 14th verse.

    “I am who am.”

    It is in this verse that God identifies Himself by name. It is one of the most important verses in the entire Bible.

    Bono never went on record with this, but a guy who was on the floor in the front of one of the Vertigo shows holding a sign that read, simply “Exodus 3:14” swears that he got a wink and a nod and a knowing smile from Bono.

    I would have died right there…

    😉

Leave a Reply

