Spare me from the fiery flames of hell…

I’m having a little break from th’internet so this will be my last post for a few days or so. Before i sign off may i just ask you to please consider leaving a response to the post below this one if you have not already done so (….a post in which a reader asks for advice on a Catholic/Anglican boyfriend/girlfriend relationship).

I’ll leave you with another poem i wrote and i pray you get something out of reading it. I wrote it in verses but for some reason the html does its own thing when it comes to posting it, which is rather annoying, but maybe this is the way it was meant to be written. Who knows?

Spare me from the fiery flames of Hell


Spare me from the fiery flames of hell

That lapping at my feet, dance with delight

Spare me the agonies my sins foretell

Should I not run this race with all my might.

Save me when in danger I do stray

And when in finding myself there I sin with ease

Save me Lord, save me from myself

And in your mercy bring me to my knees.

Heal me, heal this blemished soul you tend

As guilelessly I place it in your care

Heal me as my Master and my friend

And let not my failings bring me to despair.

Love me when there is naught to love

And my sin has forged its fetters to my soul

Love me when it seems all hope is gone

For your boundless love I know it to console.

by ukok

p.s. I will check my blog for comments and check out my emails for um, emails….for the last time tomorrow morning (Wednesday)  and after that i won’t be able to do so for a little while.  Have a much blessed week. God Bless you!

This entry was posted in My Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Spare me from the fiery flames of hell…

  1. owen says:

    May the Lord continue to bless your poetry writing. May your days away from the Internet be full.

  2. Cathy says:

    Wishing you a grand time and a restful one, too!

  3. Sarah says:

    Hope your days away are restful and some more peaceful, beautiful poetry flows from your pen. God bless you and yours.

  4. Edel says:

    Have a lovely break!

  5. Carol says:

    Lovely poem.

  6. Rosemary says:

    What a beautiful poem. I truly love it. Maybe you should write more poetry?

Leave a Reply

