Baked Bean Brainteaser

DSC_2778

I have just been informed by a sauce source close to me, that  it is a little known fact that 97% of Baked Beans are consumed by the British.

What is wrong with you non-Brit people!!!

Baked beans may have the unfortunate side affect of inducing the passing of gas, but they are healthy, wholesome, versatile, filling and economical. What self respecting person wouldn’t want to partake of 4 rounds of hot buttered toast and a nice big pile of Baked Beans for their lunch?

They’re better for you than any microwave meal, ready to eat in only a few minutes, they can be eaten hot or cold (i like them both ways) and they are very tasty.

I’m mystified that only 3% of the world population, excluding the UK…and that is a LOT of world populaton….. do not eat Baked Beans.

What was that you said?

You think i’m taking this a bit seriously?

You bet!

So come on, explain yourselves you non-consumers-and-partakers-of-Baked-Beans!

This entry was posted in Just for fun, Just to say..., Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Baked Bean Brainteaser

  1. Rita says:

    Having spent some time living in Wigan, the spiritual home of the UK baked bean, I can reveal on good authority that the main reason for this is that US baked beans are dreadful. A redoutable Wigan lass of my acquaintance did missionary work in the States, bringing a whole suitcase of the UK bean over to the USA. She created many converts. She nearly gave my husband a hernia, when we gave her and her suitcase a lift to Manchester Airport.

    p.s I have no idea whether the Heinz baked bean is carefully and lovingly prepared at their enormous Wigan factory or not, but Wiganers have always claimed Heinz as their own.

    • ukok says:

      Rita, i never knew they originated in Wigan. I never knew they ate different canned baked beans over in the U.S. Thanks for sharing about how your hubby nearly developed a hernia, funny story!

  2. Gabriella says:

    Ahahahahahah!

    Are you being paid for this super advertisement for baked beans?

    No, I’m sorry – here in Italy we have pasta and beans (pasta fagioli) or sausages and beans (fagioli all’uccelletto) but all with fresh borlotti beans 😉

    • ukok says:

      I wish i was being paid, Gabriella !

      I used to love the way my Italian (now ex) mother in law made pasta and borlotti beans, i have never been able to make it the same, sometime she would put ham in ot too. Any chance of you sharing the recipe with me that you use?

  3. Karen says:

    Girlfriend! Baked beans? I can’t stand any kind of bean!!! The have a vomit inducing texture to me!!! It’s the only food group besides red beets and yams I won’t eat for love or money.

  4. Therese says:

    I love baked beans. In our family of 9 though, only Tom and I like them. The rest put their nose up and say YUK!!!!!!!!!!!

    I’ll have a bowl of baked beans with you Deb when we meet irl.

  5. Beverly Sullivan says:

    Thanks for that excellent and funny story about Baked Beans. I also like them cold or hot. I learned how nutritious they were and started to eat them on a regular basis for a nice hot supper in the winter when I lived alone and had very very little money. Once can would do nicely for two meals with hot toast or cold bread and butter. I’ve made baked beans myself and since I live in New England, I make Boston Baked Beans – and love them.
    Thanks again for the chuckles and the terrific website!!
    Ave Maria,
    Bev

  6. Alexa says:

    I love baked beans actually. I have a can in the cupboard too – and I don’t know why I so seldom eat them! I guess they have so much sugar in them that I think they’re less than good for me – with toast? You are making me hungy. I am off to open that can pronto and toast some bread to go with!

    Thanks!

    P.S. My brother in law (former) works for Heinz in Pittsburgh, PA!

  7. Baked beans with Worcester Sauce (Lea & Perrins)
    Baked beans with brown sauce
    Baked beans with Tabasco
    Baked beans with a spoon or two of curry
    Baked beans with a small handful of sultanas, or mixed dried currants & raisins
    Baked beans with a fried egg on top
    Baked beans just as they come – straight from the tin

    Got the message? A recipe for every day of the week.

  8. Gabrielle says:

    I love baked beans! We have Heinz here in Canada too, but I also love the homemade ones some of my friends have served. I never knew about putting them on toast though, until a British acquaintance mentioned it to me once a few years ago. Love it. Real comfort food.

  9. Sarah says:

    I like them bunches! My husband and kids do, too. YUmmers!!

  10. Helen Parker says:

    The best filler on my sandwiches for school way back in the 1950″s ! Had them at least twice a week and loved them. Often asked by friends to trade my baked bean sandwiches for one of their jam or sticky syrup sandwiches -yuk! Mind you, a friend’s mother went one further and packed her tinned spaghetti in tomato sauce sandwiches! What mom’s found to put on our school sancwiches all those years ago ! But Baked Beans, still a hot favourite and never mind the gas – just call them “musical vegetables”.
    Helen, South Africa

    • ukok says:

      oh my goodness, tinned spaghetti in tomato sauce sandwiches! Didn’t the bread get soggyon your friends sandwhiches?

      Lol!

      Helen, i’m really enjoying reading your comments!

  11. caedmon says:

    I, too, love beans, but I don’t eat canned foods. Way too much sodium. I buy dried beans in the bulk section and cook them, myself. I don’t do traditional “baked beans” very often, but only because there are so many other good bean recipes.

    • ukok says:

      Another way i like to eat beans and pulses is in a three bean salad or something like that. I agree that there are a lot of great bean recipes out there. One of my faves is Chili Con Carne. Yum!

  12. Melanie says:

    My 7yo Nate LOVES baked beans. He’s in heaven when I buy him them from the deli section (like last night! He was so excited to celebrate his baptismal anniversary with baked beans and a store bought cake) Me? I can’t even stand the smell of them 😦

Leave a Reply

