What I do in the early hours of the morning…

As many of you know, due to personal circumstances I am going through something of a ‘rough’ patch at the moment. For 3 weeks I have averaged approximately 3 hours sleep each night and some nights not slept at all. There has been lots of tossing and turning and coming downstairs in the middle of the night, praying, lights on, lights off, milky drinks, attempts at reading etc, but all to no avail.

Well, a  few days ago I discovered my son’s new and practically unused Sony Walkman (MP3 player) in his room. I decided that since it was new and had been left to lay around and gather dust, I would fill it with Catholic talks and podcasts and prayers and music and that very night, though I didn’t sleep any better, I did at least do something productive with my time while i was laying there waiting for sleep to come.

Considering how beneficial and enjoyable I have found these MP3’s, I would like to share with you a few (okay- a lot of)  links that I have found useful for their  free Catholic MP3 downloads (and if you know of any others, please leave a comment in the combox of this post).

During the night, though i do listen to talks on faith and spirituality, one of the things i most like to listen to are the songs of the Choir of St. Romanos the Melodist [Roman Sladkopevec] of theByzantine Catholic Seminary in Presov.

Another thing I especially like to do is to pray the Divine Mercy Chaplet. Now it took me quite a while to find this and I was considering creating an MP3 version of this myself because this was just so hard to find, but I do like this MP3 very much indeed and think you will too. So for this download and for other Divine Mercy downloads visit this site and remember to right click and save any of the MP3’s on the site that you are interested in. Divinemercy.org also has some great downloads available and podcasts.

Here is a great site filled with MP3 talks that you might find interesting..there are lots and lots of  great audio downloads available there!

Another site with some excellent talks…and better still, many of them…can be found here!

Professor Peter Kreeft has been a firm favourite of mine for many years, I just love how humble he is and how down to earth he is in his talks, no lofty over the head stuff, what an intelligent man to write and speak in such a way that even I can understand what he is saying! He has a great many awesome talks on his website. Professor Scott Hahn also has some great audio resources on his website!

Another site with MP3’s I am really enjoying listening to at the moment is The Catholic Cafe which has some really great talks which i thoroughly recommend.

Many Catholics already enjoy the podcasts at iPadre and though I haven’t really listened to them very often, I intend to do so in the future. I will also be listening to the Audio Catechism from now on…what a find that was!  Creighton Edu also have an interesting looking audio page.

The Rosary Army is a real gem of cyberspace which has the audio Rosary and audio Stations of the Cross etc, it is a site not to be missed!

Catholic ipod is another useful site, but i have to admit that i find a little difficult to navigate and many of the links take you to other websites (and there is a lot of advertising on the site itself), still, it has some interesting links that you mght find of interest.

A fantastic selection of MP3 info can also be found HERE on Fr. Tim’s parish website.

And last but by no means least, one of the most informative, and tireless websites  for promoting the Catholic Faith and for offering talks on spiritual enrichment – they also have a staggering number of  free audio downloads – is Catholic.com. Thanks be to God for their continued good works.

So, in a nutshell, that kind of sums up what I do, or rather, what I listen to, during the early hours of the morning. As i said earlier in this post, if you have any other links to share, please do so, i’m sure there are many more websites that offer free MP3 downloads about Catholic faith and spirituality, Catholic music etc and i would like to find out about them. Hope this post helps out other of you who are interested in downloading and listening to Catholic MP3’s!

This entry was posted in Blogging & Internet, Faith Matters, Freebies and Giveaways!, Inspiration, Just to say..., Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What I do in the early hours of the morning…

  1. antonia says:

    great links, thanks for sharing

    xxxxx

  2. berenike says:

    I had a grim time over Christmas and New Year a few years ago. After a bit of no sleeping, I scrounged two or three prescription sleeping pills from a Not-So-Aged Parent. It made a huge difference to have had a couple of nights solid sleep.

  3. Owen says:

    During sleepless or less sleep nights I’ve been listening to archived editions of the Journey Home program hosted by Marcus Grodi. If you are not familiar with the program each week, for something like 11 years now, Grodi interviews converts, reverts, from every possible avenue, Lutheranism, Baptists, Evangelicals, Anglicans, Presbyterians, non denominational, fundamentalists, Mormons, Seventh Day Adventists, Athiests, Jews and on and on and with clergy converts and lay converts among them. One hears their personal story, learns some excellent doctrine, and they take calls and emails from listeners.

    The files are small mp3 format and can be downloadded But that’s just one program. There’s a host of others

    Thanks for link to the music! That may well beome studio listening for me. And, I just discovered the Hahn links myself, yesterday. 🙂

  4. Suzanne says:

    We need to keep our faith fed whilst going through these things..we must not let the evil creep even try to slip through the cracked window of our hurt hearts. God will win in the end…period..He will and that is what we rely on. Thanks for reminding us of this, Debbie. God bless you and we are all connected in these things, btw. I know of so many mommas AND daddies…you are not alone..not at all. Big hug, dear!

  5. Rita says:

    Hello Deb,

    favourite podcasters of mine are Taylor Marshall over at http://pauliscatholic.com/

    and Fr Barron’s “Word on Fire” sermons at
    http://www.wordonfire.org/WOF-Radio.aspx

    In fact, whilst my brain continues to be totally mashed up, I’m finding podcasts just about the best way of keeping my spiritual life going. Reading all but the simplest, biggest print stuff, is just not possible.

    Take care and
    God bless.
    xxxx

  6. Gabrielle says:

    Thanks for the links, ukok! Some of them I’m familiar with, but I’m definitely going to look into the Catholic Cafe and Audio Catechism, which I didn’t know about. A couple of others I like are “Pray-as-You-Go” and “Meditations from Carmel”. Also, you can google for the link to “Disciples with Microphones” to find lots more great Catholic podcasts (and of course, no one needs to have an iPod to enjoy any of them) .

Leave a Reply

