Hola!

I should have my knuckles rapped with a wooden ruler for neglecting the blog for a month. I hadn’t intended to go AWOL, truly I hadn’t. Life got in the way. As it does for all us bloggers from time to time. For the time being, in fact, for an indefinate period, I am going to try to not blog personal posts. Not only because I am feeling some sensitivity about my personal life, but because I really don’t want to dwell on certain aspects of said personal life, any more than is necessary.

My diversionary coping strategy…in other words, how to avoid coping with pain and loss by not thinking about it (as far as one s able to)….has seen me spending much of this month researching self-sufficiency topics and how i might implement self-sufficiency ways and means in my own life. In large part this is because ofย  necessity ie; our ever diminishing financial situation, but a sizeable part of my interest is just about my enjoyment in making things myself rather than buying something made by someone else.

To that end, a couple of things of the top of my head, that i have ventured into…

  • I am teaching myself to make both cold processed soap and hot processed soap. I have made bars of each and hope to do posts on both methods. Eventually I would like to go on to making my own shampoos and conditioners etc. I will write more about my soapy adventures as i develop skills in those areas. Right now skills = a little above zero. But hopefully that will improve.
  • I received 2 rather brilliant presents for Christmas. 1) A pressure canner. 2) A dehydrator. I have been having a wonderful time using both products, the latter more so at present. I am thrilled to bits.
  • I am teaching myself to crochet and I am really enjoying it. I can’t knit a stitch but i can just about handle what to do with a single crochet hook. Goodness knows what i am making….i think it will be a blanket eventually.ย  I’m just about half way through my 3rd crochet square. I can’t do owt fancy and the tension is all wrong i’m sure, but i’m enjoying it and i think that is all that matters.
  • I’m intending to use my patio to grow veggies this year and will document the process on the blog. Hopefully i will grow enough veg so that i can ‘can’ some veggies using my pressure canner.

Just before i sign off, I just want to say a huge “!!!thanks!!!” to those of you who have emailed, commented etc. I understand my abscence may have caused some concern. To be honest, not wanting to get into things here, but things have been really tough. What’s new eh? Anyway. I’ll be back soon with another post, i hope, so until then, big hugs x

This entry was posted in Blogging & Internet, Home & Family, In my World..., Randomness, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Hola!

  1. John says:

    At last! Good to hear from you! Glad to know you’re ok. Prayers will continue though.

  2. Renee says:

    You sound like you are doing some very positive things in your life. I am so proud of you and am still praying. Blessings to you, dear Deb!

    • ukok says:

      Thank you Renee, thank you for being proud of me. I know i ain’t inventing the light bulb here, just finding creative ways of coping, but your words are kind and most welcome.

  3. Valerie says:

    Believe me, I totally understand. I’ve been thinking about you and keeping all of you in my prayers. You do what you need to do, just send an email if you need to talk!

  4. Owen says:

    Got your reply e-mail. God bless. I’ll write back. In the mean time – praying. Yours, across the Pond.

  5. Glad you are ok. Prayers will continue, and your new hobbies sound like a lot of fun!

  6. Mary Lou says:

    What a wonderful surprise! You made my day! We will all keep praying and you will pull through. Since it is always darkest before the dawn, I suspect there will be some light soon. And your projects sound amazing! I have never seen so much talent in one person. Blessings to you and yours!

    • ukok says:

      What a very kind lady you are. I’m really not especially talented, but i have a go at stuff. Sometimes it works, other times it doesn’t…on that basis if i try loads of stuf, at least some of it will be a reasonable success. LOL!!! You usually only get to see the stuff that works ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Aphra says:

    Missed you ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. antonia says:

    Hand on heart, I was JUST get sorted to write you an email only yesterday when I got distracted and never sent you one.
    But I have been thinking about you.
    With much love
    xxxxxxxx

    • ukok says:

      I truly do believe you, and i’ll tell you why, because everytime i think about you you write a comment here LOL!!! I’m so sorry i haven’t visited your blog lately, hope you and hubby and baby are well!

  9. Mimi says:

    I’m also thankful all is well, and I look forward to your adventures!

  10. Rita says:

    It is good to hear from you again.

    Big Hugs
    xxxxx

  11. Elena says:

    Thanks for checking in! We were getting concerned! Would love to see some pictures of your hand crafts when you get the time.

  12. Sarah says:

    Good to see you here (again). Our feet are small: (all sizes here are USA standard): Chief is 11.5, I’m 6.7 or 7 (depends upon type of shoe), and all three kids are 8’s. HUGS!!

  13. Cathy says:

    Good to know you are well and that It has been a productive respite. Wishing you well!

  14. Argent says:

    Hello, Deb! So nice to see you back. Happy Candlemas!

  15. Elizabeth says:

    Lovely to hear you’re back – we were in your neck of the woods the other Sunday, St Peter’s Cobridge – and I always think of you and say a prayer for you and your family. God Bless.

    • ukok says:

      What a lovely surprise it was to read your comment/see you had visited. Hope you are doing okay. Was Fr. Agnellus saying Mass at Cobridge? It would be lovely to meet you some day. Take care ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. mum6kids says:

    Hi Deb, glad last years over? Now for this one!
    I’m toying with the idea of bulk cooking. Do you ever do this?

    • ukok says:

      Aw Schell, so glad to see the back of 2009, shame 2010 started out so crap, but i hope it will improve, that hope keeps me going. Hope you and yours are well ๐Ÿ™‚

      I almost always cook in bulk these days, i find it is more economical because soups and stews etc only need reheating in the microwave and thereby use less lecky.

  17. Prayers, Deb!!! You are in my prayers. You take time whenever you need it. Life is not easy. Sounds like you have some fun undertakings planned out and that is good.

  18. Suzanne says:

    Glad to see you back, Deb. Ongoing prayers..in fact, just a little bit ago. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’ve been away quite a bit, myself. Sick computer, life, realizing that I’ve let alot of things go, and just on and on. Big hug…looks like you are doing some really fun things! You go girl across the big big pond. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

