Brilliant Bargains – Say Cheese and Die…or maybe not.

It has been quite a while since I have posted one of my ‘bargain finds’ posts.

I was fortunate enough to be in the right place at the right time last week when I happened to be doing some grocery shopping with my daughter, just before the store closed. My daughter rolled her eyes with derision when she saw my gleeful expression at chancing upon an absolutely brilliant foodie bargain.

As it happened, I managed to pick up some heavily discounted Edam cheese.

8 wedges in fact.

The really great thing about it was that the cheese was reduced from about £1.45 per wedge down to 00.30p per wedge, so i got the whole lot for….hmmm hang on….8 x 30 = £2.40p.

Is that right?

You may wonder what a person might want with 8 wedges of edam cheese.Believe me, I can find a use for almost anything, especially cheese. I am one of those rare individuals who prefer cheese to chocolate. I’d rather have a whole stilton than an expensive box of chocolates.

Anyway, what I did with it was this….I cut it up…and froze it in usable (for us) size chunks…

I’ve already used some as pizza topping, on bagels, on Staffordshire oatcakes (mixed with a little cheddar)…there was one day to go on the best before date…but at the stroke of midnight the next day the cheese was hardly going to  suddenly develop a hairy green beard now was it?

We need to take best before dates with a pinch of salt if you ask me, too often we are lulled into ditching food just because a manufacturers label tells us we ought to do so. I’m not suggesting being silly, I’d certainly be rather more fussy about meat and poultry for example, but I think it wise to use ones own discretion when observing, or not observing, best before dates.

I ain’t dead yet anyway.

This entry was posted in Brilliant Bargains, Frugality, Randomness, Simple Living. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Brilliant Bargains – Say Cheese and Die…or maybe not.

  1. Mary Lou says:

    Oh, how I love to find an unexpected bargain! And you hit the motherload! I agree with you on those ‘use by’ dates (government rules, as least in this country). Enjoy every last morsel of it!

  2. John says:

    🙂 This is too funny. When I read “stilton” do you know what flashed into my head?

    Wallace & Grommet!

    Do you know them?

  3. I love cheese too. Great find. My sister once lived for a year in the Marshall Islands where the food they were able to get was rarely fresh, by our standards. Since then she has said those dates are way earlier than the point at which you really need to worry about it. And with cheese I always figure you can SEE when cheese is too old. Enjoy!

  4. antonia says:

    we almost never pay attention to the expiry date. If it looks okay and smells okay, we eat it, regardless of when it ‘expired’.

    Good find! I bought 10 naan breads the other day at 12p eat!

    xxx

    • ukok says:

      Well done Antonia, on your brillian naan bread buys! I managed to pick up anothe bargain, 5 pkts of couscous (flavoured ones you add hot water to) for 10p per pkt. I made it all up and froze it in portions. We are a right couple of savvy shoppers aren’t we? LOL!

  5. antonia says:

    that should be ’12p each’ !

    xxx

  6. Cathy says:

    Good for you!! My husband doesn’t believe in expiration dates!! So he wastes nothing! Have a grand day!

  7. Suzanne says:

    Do you know I have never tried Edam?! I’ll have to now. 🙂
    I like cheese too. My uncle used to say to be sure to eat it
    at least at room temperature for the best flavor.
    I left you a note in my com box after the one you just left..part of
    it is for you as I responded to two of you on one comment.
    Hugs!

    • ukok says:

      I think edam is like marmite to some people (do you have marmite in the states?)…the saying goes ‘you either love it or hate it’…it’s a bot rubbery in consistancy and fairly mild so you might want to eat itwith some nice chutney and crusty bread and grapes. YUM! I will check your com box Suz, thanks for letting me know!

  8. Rita says:

    I’m with you, cheese over chocolate any day.

    BTW. Please can you put up your recipie(sp) for Staffordshire Oatcakes, I’ve heard so much about them, but I’ve never tasted them.

    • ukok says:

      Rita, to be honest I haven’t ever made my own, but it’s something i shall definately have a go at when i remember to by some oatmeal. I did however find a recipe on a forum and there are some very favourable comments on the com box if you fancy a read. I am a ‘potter’ or a ‘stokie’ as we are Stoke-on-Trent natives are therwise known. I have eaten oatcakes with cheese and bacon or cheese and onion etc, since as far back as i can remember and in 41 years I’ve never made one. If you try the recipe, let me know how it works out will you?

      http://www.allotment.org.uk/recipe/77/recipe-for-north-staffordshire-oatcake/

  9. Sarah says:

    I do not want to be cornered and have to choose betwixt both: I want both! Sounds yummy! And, if I’m lucky to find a good bargain, I’m so grateful!

  10. mum6kids says:

    That’s brilliant. I still have some of that 2kg block of Parmegiano Alex brought back from his ‘inlaws’ in Jan. You can never have too much cheese.

Leave a Reply

