Make Your Own Fat Balls…

It probably would have been handy if I had posted this before winter, but well, better late than never eh?

I’ve never been greatly interested in birds, but in Autumn 2009 I errected a metal bird feeder to encourage wildlife into the garden. Being a frugalista I was concerned that bird food might prove to be an expense I was not willing or even able to afford so i had a think about how i could feed the birds without being out of pocket.

Then I opened my kitchen cupboards and my fridge and hit upon the idea of making my own bird food for the autumn/winter/spring months particularly.

In the UK there are such things known as ‘fat balls’.

Yes, ha-ha, i could think up at least 10 lewd openings to this post, but gosh darn it, I’m trying to behave, really i am…so i didn’t post any of them.

Basically, fat balls are simply balls of fat.

With stuff mixed in.

Like nuts and oats etc.

But why buy them, thought i, when i could make them myself?

So I bought me two packs of Lard.

and i raided my kitchen cupboards/pantry for some sultanas….

and some oats….

a scrag end of cheese….

then i added some wild bird seed…

and some birdnuts…

I melted the lard and then added all the above and then made fat balls with the mixture when it had cooled.

I was so pleased, I made quite a few… I freeze most of them and just take a couple out at a time, they keep for ages that way….

They look almost good enough to eat don’t they?

…and the birds fight like crazy over them…

Why not have a go yourself?

This entry was posted in Frugality, Home & Family, Simple Living. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Make Your Own Fat Balls…

  1. Rita says:

    Gosh, I’ve been doing this too. I seem to remember something like this on Blue Peter many years ago, when it was still watchable.

    I’d not thought of adding cheese, but I’ve been adding the powdery dregs from the bottom of cereal packets and any cake/broken biscuits I find in the remainder bin at the Co-Op.

    I then mash it into plastic cups and hang them from some trees. I think I use a lot less lard than you, they seem to hang together without much of it and as I like to roast potatoes in lard, my needs come first…;-)

    ps. I’ve got the ingredients for the Staffordshire Oatcakes, and all being well, I’ll give them a go this weekend. If they’re rubbish they’ll end up in a fat ball too.

  2. Cathy says:

    The birds certainly seem to be enjoying it!! Good for you!

  3. What a great idea. I bet they’re better than the ones you buy in the store too. Love the term “frugalista.” LOL And the picture of the birds fighting is great. Says it all. Nice post.

  4. lorna says:

    great idea. You could use up old fat from roasts etc too (unless you use that for soups or gravy which I only seldom do)

    liked the idea of using up old crumbs etc (stale bread) as well

    • Monica says:

      Please – never use fat from cooking to make fat birds.

      According to the RSPB, re-used fat, is very dangerous to the birds.

      You can check it out on the RSPB website.

Leave a Reply

